AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2004, 03:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 84

Just did the vdimm mod, how far is to far ?

Ok i just did a scary solder job using a fat tiped soldering iron man it was hard, and it kinda tore the Trace off the board, but it works still thank god. Before idid the vdimm mod i set the vdimm voltage to 2.5v in the bios, now i have 2.84 when i booted up.

I set it to 2.6v in the bios i now have 2.94v, So how far is to far for the cpu? My memory can handle 3.3v fine prob more. But im worried about going to far for the cpu.
__________________
SYSTEM 1

Cpu : A64 3000+ Desktop Newcastle CBASC "CG Rev" Watercooled 285x9 2565mhz 1.7v 4xHTT
MotherBoard : Epox EP-8KDA3J Rev 1.0
Memory : Adata HyperRam pc4200 1x512mb 1:1 285mhz 3-4-4-8-1t
Video Card : PNY 6800GT
HDD : Maxtor Ata 133 7200 40gb
PSU : Antec TruePower 550w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2004, 03:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

Quote:
Originally Posted by CandymanCan
Ok i just did a scary solder job using a fat tiped soldering iron man it was hard, and it kinda tore the Trace off the board, but it works still thank god. Before idid the vdimm mod i set the vdimm voltage to 2.5v in the bios, now i have 2.84 when i booted up.

I set it to 2.6v in the bios i now have 2.94v, So how far is to far for the cpu? My memory can handle 3.3v fine prob more. But im worried about going to far for the cpu.
I dont have A64 system,but friend of mine was using 3.6V on memory 24/7 before he sold that puter.
You need some fan to cool memory sticks though.
edit: I think though,that it depens how mod is made. I dont believe that he had that 3.6V at mem controller.
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2004, 04:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 84

I did this mod. Scroll down a bit so u can see Smokey's pics. I used a 10k Pot. Right now im @ 250HTT 250mhz on the memory so a 1:1 ratio using 3-3-3-8-2t timmings. I want to raise the vdimm more so i can change the 2t to 1t, before ido i wnana make sure that 3.2+ v wont hurt my cpu.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...5&pagenumber=1
__________________
SYSTEM 1

Cpu : A64 3000+ Desktop Newcastle CBASC "CG Rev" Watercooled 285x9 2565mhz 1.7v 4xHTT
MotherBoard : Epox EP-8KDA3J Rev 1.0
Memory : Adata HyperRam pc4200 1x512mb 1:1 285mhz 3-4-4-8-1t
Video Card : PNY 6800GT
HDD : Maxtor Ata 133 7200 40gb
PSU : Antec TruePower 550w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2004, 05:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 51

Nice job! I wish I had the tools to do my vdimm mod.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2004, 06:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 84

It didnt help much tho, I wish thier was Vmod for the LDT, cuss the 2XLDT doesnt work for anyone and alot of people are getting stuck @ 2500mhz because of that.

I wish i had some like pc3700 or pc4000 ram cuss i used 3.78 vdimm just now and my memory isnt stable @ 230fsb or above when i use a 1T timmings, with 2t i got 260MHZ outa my memory
__________________
SYSTEM 1

Cpu : A64 3000+ Desktop Newcastle CBASC "CG Rev" Watercooled 285x9 2565mhz 1.7v 4xHTT
MotherBoard : Epox EP-8KDA3J Rev 1.0
Memory : Adata HyperRam pc4200 1x512mb 1:1 285mhz 3-4-4-8-1t
Video Card : PNY 6800GT
HDD : Maxtor Ata 133 7200 40gb
PSU : Antec TruePower 550w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2004, 06:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 81

That's why I love my bh-5
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2004, 03:11 PM
Finetobe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 525

3.1v for 24/7. max if you love your cpu.
up to 3.3v for bech
__________________
2500K-4600mhz/8gb ram /2x6970.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2004, 04:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 84

Quote:
Originally Posted by gouda
That's why I love my bh-5
Good for you.
__________________
SYSTEM 1

Cpu : A64 3000+ Desktop Newcastle CBASC "CG Rev" Watercooled 285x9 2565mhz 1.7v 4xHTT
MotherBoard : Epox EP-8KDA3J Rev 1.0
Memory : Adata HyperRam pc4200 1x512mb 1:1 285mhz 3-4-4-8-1t
Video Card : PNY 6800GT
HDD : Maxtor Ata 133 7200 40gb
PSU : Antec TruePower 550w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2004, 05:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 81

Oh yes it is

I have been seeing alot of people using high vdim on this board and none of them have had problems with cpu's breaking. I have seen about 4 people using ~3.7v 24/7 and a few more around 3.5v 24/7 and their processors are fine. Seems like the random a64 death due to high vdim might be a thing of the past...but I guess it is too soon to jump to conclusions.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11th July, 2004, 09:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 84

You are right about that itried 3.8vdimm last night and im still here.... Altho that was only for a testing it idndt help at all. LOL
__________________
SYSTEM 1

Cpu : A64 3000+ Desktop Newcastle CBASC "CG Rev" Watercooled 285x9 2565mhz 1.7v 4xHTT
MotherBoard : Epox EP-8KDA3J Rev 1.0
Memory : Adata HyperRam pc4200 1x512mb 1:1 285mhz 3-4-4-8-1t
Video Card : PNY 6800GT
HDD : Maxtor Ata 133 7200 40gb
PSU : Antec TruePower 550w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BIOS/Vdimm bug pre EPoX MotherBoards 7 2nd July, 2004 04:29 PM
NF7 vdimm problems dresuk AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 23rd October, 2003 12:35 PM
8K5A2 and Vdimm... Shaqlin EPoX MotherBoards 0 28th April, 2003 07:10 PM
8rda+ vdimm mod? maxwell EPoX MotherBoards 1 3rd January, 2003 04:27 PM
Why is VDimm so Low? Cytomax EPoX MotherBoards 2 11th March, 2002 02:31 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0