AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2004, 08:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 51

Stock 8KDA3+ w/ OCZ PC3700EB OC result

Hi guys,

Below are my OC results just to provide with some comparisons for your chip/memory/board.

Following Components were used:
================================================
A64 3400+ C0 CH w/ Thermalright 948U + Panaflo 92mm M1A
@ 1.7 Vcore max allowed
OCZ PC3700 EB 2x512MB @ 2.8 Vdimm max allowed in slot 1/2
Timing used: 2.5-2-2-8 / 3-2-2-8 / 3-3-2-8 , All 1T, 1:1 sync
EPoX 8KDA3+ v.1, BIOS 07/09, HTT (LDT) 4X
Antec TC 550W
=================================================

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/...Tight11229.jpg

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/...tight11245.jpg

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/...Bauto11254.jpg

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/...Bauto11258.jpg
__________________

Last edited by ehsu; 9th August, 2004 at 07:01 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2004, 10:28 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Woah, nice ehsu How far can you go if you start to use the dividers?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2004, 12:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 51

Thanks, dod!

With all the following results, dividers were used, BIOS RAM speed set @ 166Mhz. All the other settings stayed the same as the initial post.

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/...Bauto56255.jpg

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/...Bauto56280.jpg

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/...Bauto56315.jpg
__________________

Last edited by ehsu; 9th August, 2004 at 07:01 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2004, 12:32 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

That's looking good, time to tweak I think. Just got a 3400 CG last week and haven't really had time to mess with it yet but it's at 2309 with stock voltage

You're not the first I've seen with OCZ getting good results. How stable is it?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2004, 12:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 51

Nice chip, your CG is far superior than my sCrub0 which is probably maxed out at 2550 on air. It might possiblyy go further, but I only have 1.7Vcore to play with and would need better cooling than air.
Ya, lots of people from XS.org also have good results with PC3700 EB in their a64 systems.
All the results shown above are only superPI certified. :P I'll find some time to run Prime & Memtest.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2004, 01:22 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by ehsu
Nice chip, your CG is far superior than my sCrub0 which is probably maxed out at 2550 on air. It might possiblyy go further, but I only have 1.7Vcore to play with and would need better cooling than air.
Ya, lots of people from XS.org also have good results with PC3700 EB in their a64 systems.
All the results shown above are only superPI certified. :P I'll find some time to run Prime & Memtest.
I'll try to get some tests done for comparison for you. chips now running at 240X10 with 1.6V, running FAH to check stability and a 38s superpi, which looks a bit high compared with yours. Is superpi bandwidth dependent as well or is it just raw cpu power?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2004, 01:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 51

Quote:
Originally Posted by dod
I'll try to get some tests done for comparison for you. chips now running at 240X10 with 1.6V, running FAH to check stability and a 38s superpi, which looks a bit high compared with yours. Is superpi bandwidth dependent as well or is it just raw cpu power?
I am not quite sure. From my experience, I would say it's more raw cpu power. You might wanna see this thread to find out the answer.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2004, 02:18 PM
pre pre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Posts: 57

Quote:
Originally Posted by ehsu
I am not quite sure. From my experience, I would say it's more raw cpu power. You might wanna see this thread to find out the answer.
Its all CPU with SuperPI. Running 2530/209 got me 35s on a ZNF250 - no tweaking. Cant get past that on this epox with ~2440 being the CPU limit even with tweaks and more HTT & FSB.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2004, 04:01 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quick screenie @ 2.4. This is showing Vcore at about 1.72, bios is set at 1.65, 1.6 wasn't quite enough. Retail heat sink
Attached Thumbnails
Stock 8KDA3+ w/ OCZ PC3700EB OC result-temp.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2004, 07:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 51

Quote:
Originally Posted by dod
Quick screenie @ 2.4. This is showing Vcore at about 1.72, bios is set at 1.65, 1.6 wasn't quite enough. Retail heat sink
61C!! Load temp? That's good result with a stock heatsink. With some better cooling, it'll sure lower your CPU temp and give you more room.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2004, 01:22 AM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

when you say stock i guess your not including your volts?
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2004, 02:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 51

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradmax57
when you say stock i guess your not including your volts?
By stock, I meant the board was unmodded (no Cooling/Vcore/Vdimm mod). It is original coming from EPoX's factory.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2004, 05:25 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

I don't know what's happened here. Shut down last night because we had visitors, booted this morning to a blue screen showing NTOSKRNL error. Now I can't get anything over a reported 1.456VCore. Cool nQuiet disabled
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2004, 07:05 PM
pre pre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Posts: 57

Quote:
Originally Posted by dod
I don't know what's happened here. Shut down last night because we had visitors, booted this morning to a blue screen showing NTOSKRNL error. Now I can't get anything over a reported 1.456VCore. Cool nQuiet disabled
Its probably a slight cold-boot issue when the CPU is too over the limit with the BSOD. Try a 32Mb SuperPi to test the CPU stability (with respect to vcore rather than heat like Prime95 does) once you get it up and running again. 1Mb is stable by 30-40Mhz higher than 32Mb for me.

Are you still using ET0505 BIOS still dod? I've not tried it yet (just found it in my gmail today). Have you done any BIOS flashes since? If so I'd try the pull the PSU cord/turn on power/turn it off to properly erase any instructions left in the CPU/BIOS (as per my BIOS thread) since something seems to be left inside even after a CMOS reset/power off with respect to CnQ.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2004, 07:34 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by pre
Its probably a slight cold-boot issue when the CPU is too over the limit with the BSOD. Try a 32Mb SuperPi to test the CPU stability (with respect to vcore rather than heat like Prime95 does) once you get it up and running again. 1Mb is stable by 30-40Mhz higher than 32Mb for me.

Are you still using ET0505 BIOS still dod? I've not tried it yet (just found it in my gmail today). Have you done any BIOS flashes since? If so I'd try the pull the PSU cord/turn on power/turn it off to properly erase any instructions left in the CPU/BIOS (as per my BIOS thread) since something seems to be left inside even after a CMOS reset/power off with respect to CnQ.
Still 0505, not flashed since, haven't found an issue to need to up till now.

I found your thread on clearing the CMOS earlier and that seems to have done it
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2004, 04:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 81

I had a cold boot issue with 5/5 where I had to press the reset button after a cold boot because it won't boot up, and also had some weird thing where it would say cpu in safe mode, press f1 to continue or del to enter setup. Anyway, when I flashed to 5/14 it cleared them up.

little ot-> pre, how do you get a gmail acct?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2004, 06:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 51

I have also experience some similar problem also.

But reset cmos setting with power chord unplugged did the trick for me, then I had to immediately to into BIOS and raise my Vcore to at least 1.600v or 1.650v to maintain a minimum of 1.500v to prevent instability.

Very annoying with this stupid undervolt bug if you ask me.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2004, 06:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 75

The pics are dead. I have some 3700EB coming this week and I was hoping to compare results.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2004, 07:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 51

Pics are now up again.

My mushy 3500 2x512 bh-5 can't OC for crap running on this stock board. It won't hit over 217 @ 2-2-2-6 w/ Vdimm 2.80. So I ditched my bh-5s.
__________________

Last edited by ehsu; 9th August, 2004 at 07:09 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2004, 07:06 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

got mine at 260fsb this stuff is great
Attached Thumbnails
Stock 8KDA3+ w/ OCZ PC3700EB OC result-260fsb.jpg  
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8KDA3+ Funny review result Oldjim EPoX MotherBoards 3 16th July, 2004 11:18 PM
Microsoft to offer employees stock instead of stock options. mookydooky Random Nonsense! 0 12th July, 2003 01:45 PM
What drivers should I use to get the best result in 3dmark 2001se Wiking EPoX MotherBoards 7 24th February, 2003 11:54 PM
P4 Stock Cooler Install... Yes, He Said 'Stock'. zer0point Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 15 7th November, 2002 04:33 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0