AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2002, 05:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 5

Hlp Pls Epox Tech - 8k7a bios update issue

I cannot update the bios on my 8k7a+ passed the 7-01 bios rev.

Everytime I flash to a newer bios, I have an issue where winXP will boot to the desktop and then either freeze, boot into a black screen, or will reboot. I have an Enermax 465w PSU, and the power runs solid.

The strange thing is that when i originally bought the board, I flashed the bios to the 10-01 rev. upon initial installation, and everything worked fine. Then, about three weeks later I went to boot up and it hung on the desktop for the first time.

Everything runs fine on the 7-11 bios. Any bios after that (all bios revs. after AMD-XP support) causes this boot issue.

I ahve tried all settings, and have tried all Voltage combos. If you reset the PC, after about five times it will eventually boot sucessfully. After it boots, it runs great. I am not OCing, nor was I doing so before the issue first happened.

I have an XP 1900+ chip, with Samsung 512 x2 sticks of NON-ECC DDR ram. tried loading with only one stick of ram at a time, same issue.

It runs great on the 7-11 bios, but the bios does not properly recognize or provide the additional support for my XP chip. Nor does it have the additional DDR support.

Any ideas and/or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

-A
__________________
____________________
Rig1:
EPOX EP-8K7a+
AMD XP 1900+ w/Cool Master Heat Pipe Cooler
1ghz Samsung DDR Ram(2x512) 2100
Irwin Full Tower Case
enermax 465w PSU
Visiontek GForce3 Ti500
Creative Sounblaster Live 5.1+MP3
Intel 10/100 NIC
1 40ghz Maxtor ATA 100 7200
1 60ghz Quantum ATA 100 7200
1 YAMAHA CDR 16x10x40
1 16x DVD

Rig2 (old faithful):
8KTA2/AMD T-BIRD 1.0 Gig
ATI RADEON 7500
512 SDRAM
30gig Maxtor ATA 66 7200
Sony 8x CDR
56x CD ROM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2002, 05:28 AM
K6-III's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 661

Pull one of your sticks of RAM and lower memory timings. This may isolate the problem.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2002, 05:52 AM
S_Wilson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 577

I ran into a similar situation when I first got an XP chip. Try this when you update your bios.

In your bios go to Advance Configuration
Then look for MP Bit Identify and make sure it is Disabled.

Cleared up my boot and hang issues, maybe it will help yours.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2002, 06:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 5

Thge MP Identify setting has been disabled everytime.

Thanks anyway for the reply.

-A
__________________
____________________
Rig1:
EPOX EP-8K7a+
AMD XP 1900+ w/Cool Master Heat Pipe Cooler
1ghz Samsung DDR Ram(2x512) 2100
Irwin Full Tower Case
enermax 465w PSU
Visiontek GForce3 Ti500
Creative Sounblaster Live 5.1+MP3
Intel 10/100 NIC
1 40ghz Maxtor ATA 100 7200
1 60ghz Quantum ATA 100 7200
1 YAMAHA CDR 16x10x40
1 16x DVD

Rig2 (old faithful):
8KTA2/AMD T-BIRD 1.0 Gig
ATI RADEON 7500
512 SDRAM
30gig Maxtor ATA 66 7200
Sony 8x CDR
56x CD ROM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2002, 07:14 AM
S_Wilson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 577

I have not had any experience with your type of memory, but as K6-III eluded to, I would look at the memory. You might try a different brand if you have any, and look at your timings in the bios. With the changes in the bios, that is the only thing that I can think of.

I have two 8K7A based systems, one with XP1800 winxp and one with XP1600 winme. Both use 2X256Mb Crucial DDR (8-8-6-2-4-2-2) at 150 fsb, Linksys nic's and maxtor 30G hard drives.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st February, 2002, 03:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 5

I am convined at this point that it has something to do with a setting in the new bios as oppose to the old one.

Just have not been able to figure it out yet. The ram runs great on the old bios. New bios has the same default timmings.

Hmmm.
__________________
____________________
Rig1:
EPOX EP-8K7a+
AMD XP 1900+ w/Cool Master Heat Pipe Cooler
1ghz Samsung DDR Ram(2x512) 2100
Irwin Full Tower Case
enermax 465w PSU
Visiontek GForce3 Ti500
Creative Sounblaster Live 5.1+MP3
Intel 10/100 NIC
1 40ghz Maxtor ATA 100 7200
1 60ghz Quantum ATA 100 7200
1 YAMAHA CDR 16x10x40
1 16x DVD

Rig2 (old faithful):
8KTA2/AMD T-BIRD 1.0 Gig
ATI RADEON 7500
512 SDRAM
30gig Maxtor ATA 66 7200
Sony 8x CDR
56x CD ROM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2002, 10:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 5

I have heard from a few other people having the same issue that there is belived to be a compatability problem with the early rev 8k7a+ boards and XP SSE functionality.

Anyone have further insight into this?
__________________
____________________
Rig1:
EPOX EP-8K7a+
AMD XP 1900+ w/Cool Master Heat Pipe Cooler
1ghz Samsung DDR Ram(2x512) 2100
Irwin Full Tower Case
enermax 465w PSU
Visiontek GForce3 Ti500
Creative Sounblaster Live 5.1+MP3
Intel 10/100 NIC
1 40ghz Maxtor ATA 100 7200
1 60ghz Quantum ATA 100 7200
1 YAMAHA CDR 16x10x40
1 16x DVD

Rig2 (old faithful):
8KTA2/AMD T-BIRD 1.0 Gig
ATI RADEON 7500
512 SDRAM
30gig Maxtor ATA 66 7200
Sony 8x CDR
56x CD ROM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2002, 02:26 AM
K6-III's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 661

My rev1.0 works fantastic with my 8K7A with the 2108 bios.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2002, 07:56 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

8K7A rev 1.0 is fine with XP processor - full compatibilty - please do ensure to clear the CMOS and load the optimized defaults. If system is configured correctly there should be no problems. Please ensure that the correct Highpoint drivers were installed during setup for the Highpoint device.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2002, 10:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 5

I was under the impression that Windows XP already has all of the drivers that I need..... Do I need to load the highpoint drivers anyway?

Also, I am not using the RAID IDEs at all. I am only using the main IDE ports. Do I still need to load the drivers?

I just do not understand why I cannot get the new bios revs that support the XP chip to run correctly when the 7-11 bios runs great. When I originally set up the board, I flashed it with the 10-17 bios and it worked ok for two weeks. Then It started to lock up in WinXP right before it got to the desk top, and I have only been able to get it to run with the 7-11 bios since then.

Any further info you can give will be GREATLY appreciated.

Thx!
__________________
____________________
Rig1:
EPOX EP-8K7a+
AMD XP 1900+ w/Cool Master Heat Pipe Cooler
1ghz Samsung DDR Ram(2x512) 2100
Irwin Full Tower Case
enermax 465w PSU
Visiontek GForce3 Ti500
Creative Sounblaster Live 5.1+MP3
Intel 10/100 NIC
1 40ghz Maxtor ATA 100 7200
1 60ghz Quantum ATA 100 7200
1 YAMAHA CDR 16x10x40
1 16x DVD

Rig2 (old faithful):
8KTA2/AMD T-BIRD 1.0 Gig
ATI RADEON 7500
512 SDRAM
30gig Maxtor ATA 66 7200
Sony 8x CDR
56x CD ROM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Epox Tech??, Beta Bios for Epox 8KDA3J NeWJoe1 EPoX MotherBoards 1 12th June, 2004 05:06 AM
Epox 8k7a bios question Betty EPoX MotherBoards 1 8th February, 2004 06:46 AM
Epox Tech-4PDA2+ rev2 issue esoteradactyl EPoX MotherBoards 1 16th October, 2003 10:32 PM
epox tech - is the barton & 8rda3+ issue solvable by a bios update? iklebrit EPoX MotherBoards 23 22nd June, 2003 10:11 PM
8k7a bios issue Wazer EPoX MotherBoards 3 21st October, 2002 12:11 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0