AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2004, 05:21 PM
QNX's Avatar
QNX QNX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
Posts: 115
Send a message via ICQ to QNX

Question about SATA and Gigabit LAN

i wonder, is the Gigabit Lan on my mobo located on CSA bus?
or it's on PCI

also question about sata - it shold be located on own bus in ICH5, but in fact?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300, Epox EP-5P965+ GLI, 4x512 A-Data DDR2 1000+, Asus EN7900GT, 4x250gb Samsung SP2504C, Cooler Master Stacker RC-830
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2005, 09:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4

It's located on the crosstown bus. Sorry to disappoint you, but it has been 100% verified.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2005, 10:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 211

Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by QNX
i wonder, is the Gigabit Lan on my mobo located on CSA bus?
or it's on PCI

also question about sata - it shold be located on own bus in ICH5, but in fact?
Both start of from the Southbridge via a task-specific chip (controller) ...
__________________
F_O_L_D_E_R_S

1] ... Athlon XP2500+ Barton @ 3000+ & 512 MB RAM WinXP
2] ... Athlon XP2500+ Barton @ 3100+ & 1024 MB RAMWin2k
3] ... Athlon XP2500+ Mobile Barton @ 3200+ & 512 MB RAM WinXP
4&5] Athlon A64X2 3800+ @ 2.6 GHz (~ 5000+) & 2x 1024 MB RAM running @ 237 MHz WinXP

All folding 24/7
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2005, 11:01 PM
QNX's Avatar
QNX QNX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
Posts: 115
Send a message via ICQ to QNX

Quote:
Originally Posted by t1n0m3n
It's located on the crosstown bus. Sorry to disappoint you, but it has been 100% verified.
i'm asking about usual desktop boards.. wtf crosstown bus is here for?

but never mind

i've already knew the answer, before making the original post
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300, Epox EP-5P965+ GLI, 4x512 A-Data DDR2 1000+, Asus EN7900GT, 4x250gb Samsung SP2504C, Cooler Master Stacker RC-830
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th May, 2005, 11:18 PM
QNX's Avatar
QNX QNX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
Posts: 115
Send a message via ICQ to QNX

noorman
Quote:
Both start of from the Southbridge via a task-specific chip (controller) ...
on the picture with chipset architecture - yes... but in fact

i don't wanna discuss this again...
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300, Epox EP-5P965+ GLI, 4x512 A-Data DDR2 1000+, Asus EN7900GT, 4x250gb Samsung SP2504C, Cooler Master Stacker RC-830
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2005, 12:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 211

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by QNX
i'm asking about usual desktop boards.. wtf crosstown bus is here for?

but never mind

i've already knew the answer, before making the original post
Why did you post the question then ???
__________________
F_O_L_D_E_R_S

1] ... Athlon XP2500+ Barton @ 3000+ & 512 MB RAM WinXP
2] ... Athlon XP2500+ Barton @ 3100+ & 1024 MB RAMWin2k
3] ... Athlon XP2500+ Mobile Barton @ 3200+ & 512 MB RAM WinXP
4&5] Athlon A64X2 3800+ @ 2.6 GHz (~ 5000+) & 2x 1024 MB RAM running @ 237 MHz WinXP

All folding 24/7
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2005, 08:31 AM
QNX's Avatar
QNX QNX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
Posts: 115
Send a message via ICQ to QNX

Quote:
Why did you post the question then ???
look on the post date!
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300, Epox EP-5P965+ GLI, 4x512 A-Data DDR2 1000+, Asus EN7900GT, 4x250gb Samsung SP2504C, Cooler Master Stacker RC-830
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2005, 10:10 AM
MietmaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 413

Quote:
Originally Posted by QNX
look on the post date!
Well, someone has just digged up a long dead fella from his grave in order to write a post of "high intelectual value".
__________________
AMD AXP-M 11x220 1.675v| Epox 8RDA3+ PRO 1.4| Thermalright SLK900U /Y.S.Tech 92mm|
2x512MB Mushkin PC3200 L.II V2| Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO@XT| S.B. Live 5.1| Maxtor 120GB|
Seagate 80GB| Teac CD-W540E| Asus DVD| BeQuiet Blackline 450W| Chieftec BX| Iiyama HM704UTc|
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2005, 11:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 211

Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by QNX

.........

i've already knew the answer, before making the original post
He only told (us) this after I had posted ...

Rare people, those Ukraïnians !
__________________
F_O_L_D_E_R_S

1] ... Athlon XP2500+ Barton @ 3000+ & 512 MB RAM WinXP
2] ... Athlon XP2500+ Barton @ 3100+ & 1024 MB RAMWin2k
3] ... Athlon XP2500+ Mobile Barton @ 3200+ & 512 MB RAM WinXP
4&5] Athlon A64X2 3800+ @ 2.6 GHz (~ 5000+) & 2x 1024 MB RAM running @ 237 MHz WinXP

All folding 24/7
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2005, 10:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by MietmaN
Well, someone has just digged up a long dead fella from his grave in order to write a post of "high intelectual value".
Nope, it was dug up to poke a little fun at QNX at his insistance that the motherboard chipset manufacturers are lying to us. I just found it funny is all when accompanied by this post:
Raid 0 Question
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2005, 10:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 211

Quote:
Originally Posted by t1n0m3n
Nope, it was dug up to poke a little fun at QNX at his insistance that the motherboard chipset manufacturers are lying to us. I just found it funny is all when accompanied by this post:
Raid 0 Question

hmmmm

I understand now, I 've read the whole (nearly) thread .................................................. .................................................. .................................................. ........................................
__________________
F_O_L_D_E_R_S

1] ... Athlon XP2500+ Barton @ 3000+ & 512 MB RAM WinXP
2] ... Athlon XP2500+ Barton @ 3100+ & 1024 MB RAMWin2k
3] ... Athlon XP2500+ Mobile Barton @ 3200+ & 512 MB RAM WinXP
4&5] Athlon A64X2 3800+ @ 2.6 GHz (~ 5000+) & 2x 1024 MB RAM running @ 237 MHz WinXP

All folding 24/7
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2005, 10:40 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

You can have some fun reviving dead threads!

http://www.aoaforums.com/forum/showt...044#post313044

__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2005, 11:08 PM
QNX's Avatar
QNX QNX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
Posts: 115
Send a message via ICQ to QNX

t1n0m3n

check test results again.. smartass... you didn't get the point...

burst rate testing aren't show the real preformance... test with 2 raptors has prove it...

i'm talking about old mobos i867/875/nforce2

also test of the gigabit lan intel boards showing very low performance, as for giga lan... that should be on own fast CSA bus...

anyway... i hope i'll get nforce4 mobo and this old crap will go to hell.. with some smartasses like you
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300, Epox EP-5P965+ GLI, 4x512 A-Data DDR2 1000+, Asus EN7900GT, 4x250gb Samsung SP2504C, Cooler Master Stacker RC-830
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2005, 01:22 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Still no smart arse answered the question!

No - the LAN is on the PCI bus rather than the CSA bus which emanates from the i865 / i875, not the ICH5.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2005, 01:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 211

here goes ...

quote:
--------------------------------------------
Integrating the SATA controller into the ICH offers up to 266 MBs bandwidth for ATA transfers that, admittedly, need to share this bandwidth with other devices. However, arguably, this solution is far superior to the previous PCI-bus based solution. The only situation where, realistically, still a bottleneck could occur is the simultaneous access of a Gigabit LAN connection for large file transfers via Ethernet with simultaneous storage on the HDD or even a RAID setup. Gigabit connections are still the exception rather than the rule, however, the trend is going there and, moreover, large file transfers already are a battlefield over bandwidth between the storage and the networking channels.
---------------------------------------------
from here:
http://www.lostcircuits.com/motherbo...erwood/2.shtml
just above chipset map/figure

previously it was on the PCI, in the new i875, it 's NOT anymore.
__________________
F_O_L_D_E_R_S

1] ... Athlon XP2500+ Barton @ 3000+ & 512 MB RAM WinXP
2] ... Athlon XP2500+ Barton @ 3100+ & 1024 MB RAMWin2k
3] ... Athlon XP2500+ Mobile Barton @ 3200+ & 512 MB RAM WinXP
4&5] Athlon A64X2 3800+ @ 2.6 GHz (~ 5000+) & 2x 1024 MB RAM running @ 237 MHz WinXP

All folding 24/7
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2005, 01:38 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

So - what LAN does the 4PDA2+ have and how is it based without trying to outsmart people please state fact. I think you will find it is PCI based.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2005, 04:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4

QNX:
Notice that I originally did not say that you were wrong or right.... The crosstown bus comment was merely intended to indicate that the posts you made in that thread were funny. Watching you get an entire thread turned against you was prime entertainment for sure.
hehe, you think that I did not get your points.
Hmm, I think I understand both of these threads better than you do, QNX.
And to prove this (remember you called me a smartass)

*deep breath*
Supporting information:
In order to call a controller an "Intel Gigabit controller" or an "Intel Raid controller" it has to follow the specifications of the chipset manufacturer (I.E. Intel) or it cannot be called an "Intel Controller." Instead, Epox chose to leave off the Intel GigE and RAID controllers (presumably for budget reasons like other manufacturers) and put in a "Broadcom BCM5705WKFB Gigabit LAN controller" and a "Silicon Image Sil3112ACT144" raid controller on your Epox EP-4PDA2+.

Chipset fun:
http://www.intel.com/products/i/chip..._schematic.gif
http://www.intel.com/products/i/chip..._schematic.gif
http://www.intel.com/products/i/chip..._schematic.gif
http://www.intel.com/products/i/chip..._schematic.gif
http://www.nvidia.com/object/IO_8473.html (PDF Pay special attention to fig. 2)
http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=962 (Interesting that they specifically list "Gigabit LAN (not CSA)" as a feature (1st page, bottom paragraph).)

Answering this post:
So your 1st question is your GigE controller on your PCI bus? Yes it is on the PCI bus.
2nd question is your SATA controller located on the PCI bus? Yes it is located on the PCI bus.

Thoughts on your posts in the "Raid 0 Question" thread:
Because Epox did not follow the i865 specs doesn't mean that "all" other VIA/SIS/Intel/nVidia boards GigE and SATA controller locations are on the PCI bus, as you were trying to get everyone else to believe in your other posts in the RAID 0 discussion.

Post #5 Raid 0 Question
------------------------------------------------
The nVidia controller will give you better performance because it is directly in the chipset, where the Silicon Image controller is on the PCI bus.
your answer---where are the proves that nVidia controller is directly in the chipset?
------------------------------------------------

Post #7 Raid 0 Question
------------------------------------------------
Errmmmmmmmmm..........you mean besides the signals coming off the chip?
your answer---it easily can be located on PCI bus and all will say that it's not true...
There's a block diagram somewhere showing it
your answer---it's only on the paper... in fact - all devices are on PCI bus
That being said, the implementation of nVidia's onboard controller doesn't seem to be quite as good, performance-wise, as Intel's.
your answer---than it's 100% on PCI bus, cause all intel's SATA/ATA controllers are on PCI bus
------------------------------------------------

So when the motherboard manufacturer says that their motherboard has an nVidia controller, AND nVidia chipset diagram shows the controller to have it's own connection (not on the PCI bus) you can rest assured that the controller is in fact not on the PCI bus.

As for your statement "all intel's SATA/ATA controllers are on PCI bus"...
At the time you made this statement, you were undoubtedly, in fact, in error. Given the above information, we can logically deduce that there WAS at least one i865 motherboard that you could have bought at that time that had both the GigE and the SATA that was not on the PCI bus. And that motherboard manufacturer would have been Intel itself.

And why I think you are funny:
I should not have poked fun at you without explaining why I was doing so.
Your switching back and forth your points was classic trollbait fun:

first it was that the nVidia RAID chipset was on the PCI bus, then it was that all devices are on PCI bus, then it was the Intel controllers were on the PCI bus, then it was that HD benchmarks proved the first 2 points, then it was burst rates are meaningless, then it was HD benchmarks were inaccurate, then all your "benchmarks" that near as I could tell were pulled out of your arse, then it was that SATA is pointless and we should all be using PATA, then your weird linear read/write fetish, then your one test is not "proof" thing, then you were "really" only interested in the ICH5

This was really entertaining, and I thank you for the chuckles. Best google for VT8237 raid (was looking for linux raid drivers) that I have had in a while.
*whew!*
__________________

Last edited by t1n0m3n; 15th May, 2005 at 01:03 PM. Reason: clarification and spelling
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9NDA3+ SATA question jcat EPoX MotherBoards 1 25th June, 2005 05:57 PM
SATA question HauZDauG General Hardware Discussion 8 26th April, 2005 07:14 PM
8kda3j +sata question pobolycwm EPoX MotherBoards 3 6th February, 2005 06:18 AM
SATA question prophetz General Hardware Discussion 3 20th October, 2004 12:36 PM
8RDA3+ and SATA question Veky EPoX MotherBoards 10 20th February, 2004 10:18 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0