AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2002, 12:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Nottinhgam, UK
Posts: 16

Unhappy Can't get 8KHA to post

Hello there,

you may have read another thread where I had a BIOS flash that failed and my reseller "Hot Swapped" my BIOS chip to rectify the problem.

I haven't managed to get the board to boot into the BIOS since getting it back. I sent it back to the reseller and they have tested the board saying it booted into BIOS 20 times.

I KEEP GETTING POST CODE FF no matter what I do ?

Running the board out of the case on my desk with just graphics card, memory, CPU and cooler attached I still get FF. I have tested all of the other components on another machine and all work (Except CPU).

Any ideas or suggestions greatly appreciated......
__________________
EPOX 8KHA+,XP@1740(174*10), SK6, 512 Crucial PC2100, Asus V8200 GF3, 40GB IBM Deskstar, Panasonic DVD\CD, SB 5.1 Live, 2 * YS-Tech 120mm

9242 3DMark2001 points
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2002, 01:54 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

I believe that this is the mainboard you voltage modifed ?
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2002, 02:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Nottinhgam, UK
Posts: 16

Yes,

modded using a fixed 220K resistor to ground. Allthough before I flashed the BIOS was working fine for some time.

Does it sound like I've killed the board ?
__________________
EPOX 8KHA+,XP@1740(174*10), SK6, 512 Crucial PC2100, Asus V8200 GF3, 40GB IBM Deskstar, Panasonic DVD\CD, SB 5.1 Live, 2 * YS-Tech 120mm

9242 3DMark2001 points
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st February, 2002, 09:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Nottinhgam, UK
Posts: 16

Unhappy

Did another test last night. I borrowed a friends ASUS motherboard and fitted it to my rig. Guess what, no post.

I've tested the memory, graphics card, power supply and now motherboard so I can only assume my shiny new XP1900 is damaged.

What are the symptoms of a damaged chip ?. My machine doesn't boot into the BIOS at all (Posts FF).
__________________
EPOX 8KHA+,XP@1740(174*10), SK6, 512 Crucial PC2100, Asus V8200 GF3, 40GB IBM Deskstar, Panasonic DVD\CD, SB 5.1 Live, 2 * YS-Tech 120mm

9242 3DMark2001 points
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st February, 2002, 03:57 PM
nullCRC's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 270

Quote:
Originally posted by Shelton
What are the symptoms of a damaged chip ?
Oozing brown stuff, burn marks, etc. Did you take a magnifying glass and look at the core and see if any damage is there, or chipped off places from HSF mounting?
__________________
Press ALT+F4 to learn more

"If you can't make it good, make it look good." - Bill Gates, 1995

Defeat Autism Now!
Athalon XP 1600
Epox EP-8KHA+
Thermaltake Volcano 6cu
512MB Crucial DDR PC2100
Enlight EN-7237 AZ MT Case
Gainward GF3 Ti200 64MB Power Pack Golden Sample
Adaptec 2940UW
Seagate Cheetah 9.1GB SCSI
HP 9200i SCSI CDRW
Sony 50X IDE CDROM
Iomega 100 Internal Zip SCSI
Sony CPD-E500 21" Trinitron
NetGear RP114
RatPadz mousing surface
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st February, 2002, 04:12 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by Shelton


What are the symptoms of a damaged chip ?. My machine doesn't boot into the BIOS at all (Posts FF).
In the case of a damaged chip - usually no visible signs can be seen, however the FF on the mainboard is always apparent when the processor is dead.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st February, 2002, 04:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Nottinhgam, UK
Posts: 16

Thanks guys I'll check Tonight, I'm begining to wish that I hadn't unlocked that chip, there goes my warranty......
__________________
EPOX 8KHA+,XP@1740(174*10), SK6, 512 Crucial PC2100, Asus V8200 GF3, 40GB IBM Deskstar, Panasonic DVD\CD, SB 5.1 Live, 2 * YS-Tech 120mm

9242 3DMark2001 points
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 1st February, 2002, 06:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 18

I had an MP1800 fail on my 8KHA+ after about 2 weeks. I replaced the chip and all is fine. BTW, there were no visible signs of damage to the chip.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 1st February, 2002, 06:44 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Feel for me - I'm setting up a Vapochill as we speak
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 1st February, 2002, 08:15 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
Feel for me - I'm setting up a Vapochill as we speak
Oh no...AMD are going to have to step up production to cope

Good luck m8
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2002, 09:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: RSA
Posts: 227
Send a message via ICQ to proze

Talking

hehehe.. how many chips was it last time, et? a good few, if i remember correctly.
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@1540 (140*11), Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 256 Samsung PC2700 at 173Mhz, MTS Glaciator, Powercolor Radeon 8500 275/275, Delta 300W PSU.

Duron 600@1102 (105*10.5), Asus A7V, 256MB generic RAM at 140mhz 2-2-2, MTS Glaciator II, Creative GF Pro, Awesome no-name 300W PSU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2002, 02:53 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

I've just gotten back up and running an hour back. I walloped a XP 2000+ and a MP1800.

I'm now running a MP1600 at 1700MHz on another 8KHA+ (at least this one isn't covered in Silicon) using a Glaciator instead of the Vapochill. Last time I was so succesful - this time not.

At one temper filled point I ripped the modifications from my graphics card (not saying what that card is) as the second processor went.

I had to get a Taxi into the office first thing this morning after drowning my sorrows to get a reinforcement MP !!! Luckily these MP's are probably the most friendly AGKGA's there are.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8kha+ post code 6d croaker EPoX MotherBoards 1 11th July, 2003 07:17 AM
8KHA+. and C1 Post - Tried Everything and need suggestions Epinephrine EPoX MotherBoards 1 2nd February, 2003 03:46 PM
no POST on 8KHA+ Memphis Raines EPoX MotherBoards 6 30th July, 2002 07:31 PM
8kha+ will not POST cpu-uk EPoX MotherBoards 11 8th May, 2002 06:06 PM
8KHA+ Wouldn't POST & Now Nothing... Beard EPoX MotherBoards 1 26th February, 2002 08:46 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0