AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #61 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2004, 06:20 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Front page Sander, many thanks!

http://www.aoaforums.com/frontpage/
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2004, 11:23 AM
jnansley's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 888

Everyone please post their results by using the AWDFLASH method.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2004, 06:00 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

You might also post your results using the Alt +F2 method.
I did, no problem before or after.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2004, 02:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Posts: 31

Before I go attempting this with that modded bios, just to be sure, I should create a bootdisk, copy the bios files to the boot disk, boot off the floppy, then run:

AWDFLASH [Filename].bin /PY /WB /CC /CD /CP

?

Is that correct?

G.
__________________
epox 8kda3j
a64+ 3200 cpu no ocing yet
samsung 2x512 ddr 400
Antec SX1040II Case + 400W PSU
Asus FX5700 Video (piece of crap)
120 gig seagate sata hd
80 gig wd pata hd
NEC 2510A DVDRW
LG 40x cdrw
Gentoo 2004.2 x86_64
Win XP to play games.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2004, 07:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Posts: 31

Ok, ive upgraded to that modded 9/15 bios using a boot disk and the upgrade.bat. Worked fine.

Still seeing the same vcore fluctuations from 1.5-1.6 while cpu is being used.

And where is CNQ in the bios now? I didnt see any mention of it (not that I care, I dont want it enabled, but I still couldnt find it)

G.
__________________
epox 8kda3j
a64+ 3200 cpu no ocing yet
samsung 2x512 ddr 400
Antec SX1040II Case + 400W PSU
Asus FX5700 Video (piece of crap)
120 gig seagate sata hd
80 gig wd pata hd
NEC 2510A DVDRW
LG 40x cdrw
Gentoo 2004.2 x86_64
Win XP to play games.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2004, 08:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 284

Apparently this was disabled in the later bios releases due to problems. It only ever worked with only one stick of ram
__________________
EP-8KDA3J, 3000+ newcastle CG (230x10), 2 x 512 MB Ballistix, Audigy 2, Radeon 9800pro, CNPS7000A-AlCu cpu cooler, Tagan 480W PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2004, 07:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Posts: 31

No idea if its the upgraded bios's fault or anything, but winxp64 will not boot now. Upgrading the bios is the only thing ive changed. Not the biggest deal as I hardly ever used it, but still sort of weird.

And too lazy to re-install, probably would fix it though.

Just thought I would comment on it.
__________________
epox 8kda3j
a64+ 3200 cpu no ocing yet
samsung 2x512 ddr 400
Antec SX1040II Case + 400W PSU
Asus FX5700 Video (piece of crap)
120 gig seagate sata hd
80 gig wd pata hd
NEC 2510A DVDRW
LG 40x cdrw
Gentoo 2004.2 x86_64
Win XP to play games.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2004, 03:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 65

I now have the voltage issue. While waiting for more suggestions for my S3 issue, I thought I would overclock a tad. I went down to 9x multi in BIOS, and 166 MHz for memory, then booted into W2K. I used Clockgen to attempt ~242 HTT, just so I would have ~200MHz on the memory bus. Well, no go hard lock, so I went into BIOS, and then set multi to 8x, and tried 240 HTT this time, still hard lock. Well, after putting multi back to 10x, then setting multiplier control to Disabled, I see on the reboot, I am at 1.425v! Not good.

I get to the W2K desktop, and USDM reads about 1.47. I have the BIOS set to 1.60. Could my monkeying with the mulitplier be the cause of the the voltage issue now?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2004, 03:09 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Your changing the multiplier hasn't changed the stability - you need to change your memory timings.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2004, 11:29 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Well Candyman, you just lost access to our EPoX topic.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #71 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2004, 11:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 12

you can add me to the list...

Just before I see the login screen and right after the XP boot screen I get a really loud whining sound and my system often reboots - or just freezes on the welcome screen.

I'm running the 5/14 BIOS. My vcore shows up as 1.6-1.62 during post and returns to 1.55 -1.58 in windows.

I actually have an Audigy 2 but I haven't tried without it.

Oh and I should mention that if I get into windows the system is stable so I guess it's related to that whining sound when it reboots.

This will be the second time i RMA an Epox 8KDA3+

The first time it had a defective onboard NIC which produced massive amounts of recieve errors. The new board was fine despite some people telling me that it was highly unlikely that the NIC was defective
__________________
A64 3400+
Epox 8KDA3+
1GB Crucial Ballistix PC3200
Sapphire X800 XT
2 x 120GB Seagate SATA on NvRaid
SyncMaster 172x
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2004, 03:50 PM
Trek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Location: ZGB; Croatia
Posts: 27

got the undervolt problem, and am starting to think about returning this mb and asking for a new, but 2.x rev, they say they don't have the undervolt problem... Also i saw somebody mention a moded bios for epox 8kda3+, could you point me to it pls. I noticed this problem is usually here wehn during start up the mb temp is under 35, I don0t know is this a coincidence or fact...
__________________
| Some people think I'm crazy, but they don't really know me, if they did, they would know that I'm actually nuts. What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger. |


EPoX 8kda3+ rev 1.x | AMD A64 s754 3000+ NewCastel {230x10 @ 1,65V [volt testing in progres!]} ]Zalman 7000 AlCu[ | 2x 512 Infineon DDR PC 3200 {1:1 fsb:ram} | ATi Radeon 9800pro --> XT @ 412/380 ]Zalman 80HP+ OPM1[ | WD Caviar 80 GB ATA | Seagate Baracuda 120 GB S-ATA | NEC 2510A | LG GCC 4521B |
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 09:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Posts: 18

How many of you here have done the flash with the bios damon linked to on the first page? Also if it worked and the results.
__________________
A64 3200+CH @ 2.2, Epox Ep-8KDA3+, 1024mb 222 Mushkin, 9800 pro. Zalman CNPS-7000ALCU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2005, 03:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Posts: 1

Ok, I'm not new to Epox boards(Since my 8KHA+ thank you )

But this board has left me dumbfounded. I have noticed the od noise reported by others to be my voltage regs(I thought it was my PSU) and I've been getting many BSOD saying my IRQ is not less then or equal. At first, I thought my memory was going bad, and since I had a gig, I was not happy about it. So I bought some new RAM. But lo and behold, I'm still getting BSOD saying the same thing. So I thought it was my Audigy 2. Moved it around in my PCI slots, still getting the error. It's not like I'm overclocking(I want to open this bad boy up though!). So, doing some google searches led me here. Can anyone please tell me how to make my system stable again?

My Rig

A64 newcastle 3200+
Zalman CNPS7700AlCu(No fan regulator)
1 Gig Kingston PC3200 Running at 1t 2.5-3-3-10
Seagate Cudda 7200.7 SATA
Plextor SATA DVD-RAM DL burner
Audigy 2 ZS Gamer
Powercooler X800XT

I have windows XP with SP/2 and all the latest drivers and firmware. My current BIOS is the newest, mostly because I thought the reason for the BSOD was a bad BIOS flash, so I bought a new BIOS chip from EPOX. Now, I love EPOX boards(My 8RDA3+ made my 2500+ unlocked run at about 2.4ghz) and I'd just like to run my system stable. I mean, this baby cost me a few months of eating Raman Noodles and Ceareal .

Any help would be appriciated.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2005, 04:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 284

It may be a cpu voltage problem.
If you run the Epox monitor (USDM) at boot you will find there is a log file created of most of the voltages and temperatures.
From memory I think this is found under settings. I can't check as my board has gone back for rma.
This will tell you if the voltage is doing anything really silly.
Assuming that it is OK I would suggest increasing the cpu voltages by 0.05 volts in bios and then see what happens.
See this thread - Help - System Instability XP SP2
I had the same problem although I was overclocking but SP2 did the damage
__________________
EP-8KDA3J, 3000+ newcastle CG (230x10), 2 x 512 MB Ballistix, Audigy 2, Radeon 9800pro, CNPS7000A-AlCu cpu cooler, Tagan 480W PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
voltage monitoring on 8kda3j politenessman EPoX MotherBoards 2 28th November, 2004 01:56 PM
8KDA3J/+ voltage problem: system specs espent EPoX MotherBoards 1 18th September, 2004 12:33 PM
vcore and vdiim voltage for 8kda3j! leo_m83 EPoX MotherBoards 8 21st August, 2004 11:45 PM
8KDA3J chipset voltage? leo_m83 EPoX MotherBoards 2 12th August, 2004 11:30 PM
Random Reboots on 8KDA3J quigs EPoX MotherBoards 4 30th July, 2004 01:21 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0