AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st February, 2002, 12:29 AM
curiosityx's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: w.mids
Posts: 3

Win XP hangup on Epox 8KHA+

Right i have started to have a very serious problem with my computer,

It started when i overclocked my Duron 800-1G which failed to boot up so i put it back to 800 and re-booted this is where my problems began my computer kept hanging on the Win XP loading screen so:

I have replaced the CPU----No Effect
Replaced the Ram----No Effect
replaced The HDD and formatted and re-installed windows--No Effect

Everytime i re-install windows it boots up into windows the first time after setup has completed then when i restart it hangs again!!!

the only way i can get it back into windows is if i start with the "last known good mode" option in the startup menu


so i cant see why it could be the mobo if it works fine once in windows?

any help would be much appreciated ive been on this for 7 days now
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st February, 2002, 06:12 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Please do reflash the BIOS and ensure that optimized defaults are loaded before re-installing windows. It may also help to verify the integrity of your components in another system for stability.

**Pls also note that as per the rules of this forum it is not allowed for members to have graphical signatures unless Staff or OES**
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st February, 2002, 09:04 AM
Amdxp's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Tropikana
Posts: 17

If not mistaken this has been reported more than once that 8kha+ is "not so compatible" with 200fsb processor.

Mushkin Rules reported such error on his Athlon 1.2 B processor unable to boot at all.

I used Duron 800 before the upgrade. I did encounter such problem but not as serious. I could not "restart" properly but I could shut down completely (and off the power) and start up again. I solved this problem by OC ing my duron to at least 133FSB, at 7.5x133fsb.

If you want to run as default speed, I suggest you go to 6x133fsb or go straight to 7.5x133fsb.

Cheers..
__________________
Epox 8hka+ Unofficial 8khai2116.bin bios
Athlon XP 1500+ @ 1900+ (10x160)
OCZ Gladiator 7100rpm
Temp - idle 42'C , load 48'C
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st February, 2002, 10:34 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

This is not true - we have a box here that soak tested Athlon 1400B faultlessy at 14 x 100 on 8KHA+
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st February, 2002, 02:01 PM
Aphex's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Wiltshire..UK!
Posts: 614

Re: Win XP hangup on Epox 8KHA+

Quote:
Originally posted by curiosityx
Right i have started to have a very serious problem with my computer,

It started when i overclocked my Duron 800-1G which failed to boot up so i put it back to 800 and re-booted this is where my problems began my computer kept hanging on the Win XP loading screen so:

I have replaced the CPU----No Effect
Replaced the Ram----No Effect
replaced The HDD and formatted and re-installed windows--No Effect

Everytime i re-install windows it boots up into windows the first time after setup has completed then when i restart it hangs again!!!

the only way i can get it back into windows is if i start with the "last known good mode" option in the startup menu


so i cant see why it could be the mobo if it works fine once in windows?

any help would be much appreciated ive been on this for 7 days now
As AOA Staff I must inform you of the rules that apply in this forum. As EPoX tech has stated you are not allowed graphical elements in your signature /unless/ you are An AOA Allie. Even then you are only permitted a small buton link.

Please change Your signature to text only.

Thanks for your understanding in this matter.

Conrad.
__________________
Conrad Goodman - AOA Staff
Web designer for aoa main page And head of webdesign team.
GA7-DXR
XP1700+@1627Mhz unlocked
256MB Crucial PC2100
Aopen HX08
30GB Desktar
17" screen
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st February, 2002, 02:42 PM
curiosityx's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: w.mids
Posts: 3

Thanks for the help guys and comments about the sig have be noted

Thank You
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st February, 2002, 04:04 PM
nullCRC's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 270

When it freezes, do you cold boot or warm boot?
__________________
Press ALT+F4 to learn more

"If you can't make it good, make it look good." - Bill Gates, 1995

Defeat Autism Now!
Athalon XP 1600
Epox EP-8KHA+
Thermaltake Volcano 6cu
512MB Crucial DDR PC2100
Enlight EN-7237 AZ MT Case
Gainward GF3 Ti200 64MB Power Pack Golden Sample
Adaptec 2940UW
Seagate Cheetah 9.1GB SCSI
HP 9200i SCSI CDRW
Sony 50X IDE CDROM
Iomega 100 Internal Zip SCSI
Sony CPD-E500 21" Trinitron
NetGear RP114
RatPadz mousing surface
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 1st February, 2002, 08:08 PM
curiosityx's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: w.mids
Posts: 3

Quote:
Originally posted by nullCRC
When it freezes, do you cold boot or warm boot?
Both m8, doesnt matter
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 1st February, 2002, 08:22 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
This is not true - we have a box here that soak tested Athlon 1400B faultlessy at 14 x 100 on 8KHA+
I also ran one of these chips and had no problems. A 1200mhz Athlon 100mhz fsb.

I did have problems with some multiplyers on my 100mhz fsb duron but they where due to a chip on the CPU core.

Curiosityx

Try swapping IDE cables and any other components you can.

Try moving the HDD to the secondary IDE channel.
Try the HDD on a PCI HDD controller if you have one.

Try installing another operating system (very small chance that your windows CD is bad)

Otherwise your probably looking at an RMA.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Epox 8kha+ Boot problem Epox tech please help csonkaa EPoX MotherBoards 1 26th November, 2003 09:32 AM
Epox Ep-8kha+ $41!!! BigRed Online Deals, and Steals 4 24th October, 2002 01:27 AM
About Epox 8KHA+ PCI TSDgeos EPoX MotherBoards 7 15th April, 2002 08:10 PM
Epox 8kha+ The Spyder EPoX MotherBoards 1 20th March, 2002 09:14 PM
Epox Tech few problems with my setup of my Epox 8KHA+ Paul.K EPoX MotherBoards 13 18th October, 2001 07:03 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0