AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2004, 10:52 PM
GeneralLee's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 20

Unhappy 8kda3j and 9800pro->XT mod

I have given up in trying to flash my MSI Radeon 9800Pro to XT as it just will not operate in conjunction with my mobo. I have read alot of post on what bios to use and how to flash it but no go.
Once the card is flashed and I reboot, the mobo posts a code of 26. No matter what bios I use this happens.
I read an article at the epox site about post code 26 and certain agp bios settings but they didnt work as well.
The card does have the R360 core as I pulled the big heatsink off and saw it.
This is the only card in the box.
I am at the point of curiosity now as why it wouldnt work. It is well within the realm of me screwing something up but I tried to follow all that I read to the T.

This is my PC
8kda3j
AMD64 2800+
768 PC3200 Mushkin
MSI Radeon 9800 Pro 128mb
Antec 350w smartpower
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2004, 10:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 65

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeneralLee
I have given up in trying to flash my MSI Radeon 9800Pro to XT as it just will not operate in conjunction with my mobo. I have read alot of post on what bios to use and how to flash it but no go.
Once the card is flashed and I reboot, the mobo posts a code of 26. No matter what bios I use this happens.
I read an article at the epox site about post code 26 and certain agp bios settings but they didnt work as well.
The card does have the R360 core as I pulled the big heatsink off and saw it.
This is the only card in the box.
I am at the point of curiosity now as why it wouldnt work. It is well within the realm of me screwing something up but I tried to follow all that I read to the T.

This is my PC
8kda3j
AMD64 2800+
768 PC3200 Mushkin
MSI Radeon 9800 Pro 128mb
Antec 350w smartpower
Could it be your power supply? What is the +12v rail rating. I wonder if turning it into an XT also increases the wattage draw since the card is running faster, and maybe you are on the ragged edge +12v wise.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2004, 11:22 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Think we have everyone on a new found 12v vigilance which can't be a bad thing
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2004, 11:23 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I know you said you've read up on it but I just wanna check is it the 128mb or 256mb card and if it's the 128mb card are you using a modded bios?
I've also read that msi cards use none referance boards so you need to use msi's own bios for it as the referance one won't work
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2004, 11:25 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Reading it a little more does sound as though it could be the wrong flash too - can you confirm the card is working elsewhere now ?
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2004, 12:04 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

i'd agree with the bad bios flash, although i had one flash, that upon reinstalling the card after cleaning off the dust, i failed to conect the power cord properly (was just there...but not seated properly)
when the card was a pro, it would pop up a message saying the cord was disconnected, but as an XT, it does not. scared the *&@$ outta me....but it worked upon removing the cord and reconnecting it, everything was hunky-dorey.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2004, 03:27 AM
GeneralLee's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 20

The power supply has 21A on the 12v rail.
The card itself is the only thing on the cable from the power supply.
The card is 128mb and I have used the following bios'
Medion - which i read is the German release of the card from MSI
Sapphire
GeCube
and one that was labled as an MSI XT bios

but none worked. All gave the same post code - 26. Black screen.

I have the card working in my PC now but it is the original bios. I flash the XT bios, get the post code, put in pci vga card, flash back to original and try again.

I used this guide for one - http://www.rojakpot.com/showarticle....rtno=92&pgno=0

as well as the bios images from that site - http://www.rojakpot.com/show.aspx?fileID=22

The one thing I have found is that alot of posts I read say that the Medion bios is the one that works. Reviews from newegg, forums elsewhere say it works, but not with me. The bios image i get is smalller than the all of the others I have used, but I have no clue if that means anything.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2004, 03:51 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

The MSI cards are tough ones...they and asus are the only ones taht deviate from the standard pcb layout
i missed the part at the beginning, or i would have said this sooner...you MUST use the MSI bios. if it does not work, then MSI has a lock on the bios, or the power connector is in a different spot.
the pro has a floppy connector, and there is no msi xt in existence, AFAIK.


EDIT: the bios image should be 52-56k, or it is only overwriting a partial bios.
Full bios images, including the voltage setting are 62-67k.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2004, 01:31 PM
jnansley's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 888

For the people with "128MB 9800XT's"... how's that working out for you?

I have a 128MB BBA 9800Pro... I was pretty hot on this topic when I bought it 9 months ago, but I ultimately decided not to mess with it, as I did not see results that confirmed significantly better performance. Although the temperature monitioring would be nifty.

I also heard various whispers that there were issues with a 256MB BIOS trying to find that 129'th MB. Has this changed?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2004, 05:15 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

you can edit the bios for 128mb. there are reports of this causing issues, however this seems to stem from poeple either starting with the wrong bios, or not using a true XT based card, IMHO.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rip 9800pro leekirlew Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 26th March, 2005 11:50 PM
30" LCD TV & 9800pro? karbon86 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 9th March, 2005 06:15 PM
New 9800pro Razorfish Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 22nd July, 2004 06:21 PM
9800pro or 9600xt Razorfish Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 18 29th June, 2004 11:16 PM
ATI 9800pro Vs. ATI AIW 9800pro. ? tracy Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 12th November, 2003 05:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:43 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0