AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2004, 03:07 PM
espent's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 53
Send a message via MSN to espent

Dual PSU's?

Does anybody here know how I can use two seperate PSU at the same time? Would it be possible to connect PSU#1 to my 8kda3j's regular ATX connector and PSU#2 to the ATX12V connector? I've seen some cable splitters that makes it possible to connect 2 PSU's to the regular ATX connector, have anybody tried these? I guess I need both PSU's to be connected to the ATX connector to start, or?

I should have enough power as it is (520W), but I have some trouble overclocking my GPU. 3DMark and several games pauses slightly now and again when overclocked, but there is no indication of artifacts. The situation became a bit better when I dedicated one cable to my GPU and disconnected a couple of fans, a neon light, and a DVD drive.
__________________
System Specifications
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2004, 03:25 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

You can, but you'd do better connecting the two PSUs together, rather than having one powering the CPU and one powering something else. That way you can provide power to everything.

There's been similar questions in the past, so it's worth doing a search of the forum.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2004, 03:55 PM
piloteer81's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Posts: 104

It is possible by connecting the green power on lead and a black earth lead together on both psu's using some instructions I found on another post somewhere. I've tried it myself as I wanted to power CD drives lights, fans etc from one psu and have my 'decent' one for powering main components. Couldn't get it to work and in the end it fried my cheap psu. I know its tempting to do this but its better to get one decent psu than try and strap two together.

Let me know how you get on though
__________________
Epox 8rda6+pro
Athlon XP 2600-m @ 2530MHZ @ 35'c
(1.8v 220X11.5)
1GB OCZ 4000 Gold Rev2
Antec true control 550w
2x 80gb sata Hitachi 7k250 Raid 0 (94mb/s sis Sandra on Nvidia Raid)
1x ide 160gb Hitachi 7k250
6800GT 431/1100
LG 8x dvd rw (-+&RAM)

Watercooling:
L30 + L20
DD RBX CPU
DD NV68 GPU
DD Maze 4 chipset
WACC P/A res
Thermochill 120.2
1/2 ID
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
psu's for sli??? djwjtruckin General Hardware Discussion 4 15th April, 2006 02:29 PM
Dual Psu's? Howto Toad31478 General Hardware Discussion 2 2nd August, 2003 01:06 AM
Triple Duals (Dual CPU, Dual Monitor & Dual Case) IFMU Case Modifications 6 29th October, 2002 06:37 AM
PSU's g0nd@i General Hardware Discussion 4 28th July, 2002 09:25 PM
EPoX 8K7A + dual PSU's = any good? Walter:-) AMD Motherboards & CPUs 24 11th October, 2001 09:11 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0