AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2004, 01:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 3

8rda+ & PCI graphics

Hello,

I recently installed a Hercules Dynamite 128 PCI in a box with an EPoX 8rda+ (rev 1.1). As I'm sure a lot would guess it's having problems Before anyone says to get a different graphics card/this one sucks, I know that already; my old card died, and it's going to be a week before I get a new card shipped out. This is merely temporary until it does.

As for the issue - it boots up in 640x480 (though I can switch to 800x600)x16 in VGA. Under Device Manager the card has the error:
"This device cannot find enough free resources that it can use. (Code 12)"
No other device has errors, and there are no conflicts whatsoever (that I can see). IRQ for the card is on 12 (nothing else using it), I/O is C000-C0FF.

I have the card set in PCI slot 5. One of the (only) things that I can think of that might be why it isn't working is because it needs to be in the first couple slots, yet this is physically impossible due to a HS on the SB blocking access.

It would be great if anyone could help here. System is on Windows 2000. Things I've tried:
- Installed DX9.0c, nForce 4.27 Unified drivers, SP4 - no go
- Installed latest BIOS - no go
- Manually "forced" it to switch IRQ by setting the one it used to Reserved - no go
- Moved card to the slot directly above (the only other it can fit in) - no go
- Disabled various components - no go
- After several hours of searching read about the "Reset Configuration Data" option in BIOS helping someone with a similar issue. Rolled back BIOS 3 times (scared ****less each time) before finding one that included this option - no go

Might have missed one or two things. Only thing I haven't tried is using a different driver, but I'm convinced it's lower than that.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2004, 05:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 3

On a related note, I just got around to trying another driver - the official NT driver to be specific. At least it did something different, now it gives:
"This device is not working properly because Windows cannot load the drivers required for this device. (Code 31)"

Blargh, messing with old hardware sure is fun ... not.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2004, 12:05 AM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

I wouldn't have guessed it would have problems; I really would have thought it would install effortlessly.

If you aren't using them, I would disable both of the serial ports, and the parallel port.

If you are using a soundcard, make sure the game port for the onboard sound is also disabled.
__________________
AOA Team fah

It is the dull man who is always sure, and the sure man who is always dull.
H. L. Mencken
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2004, 08:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 3

I had tried disabling virtually every onboard component but it still didn't work. No problem though, I just switched the card with an AGP GF2 MX and it worked flawlessly.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCI Graphics on 8RDA+?? Lonewolf EPoX MotherBoards 3 29th June, 2003 11:43 AM
best graphics card for 8rda+ eric-cartmann EPoX MotherBoards 1 31st May, 2003 07:38 PM
PCI S3 graphics + 8RDA+ + shutdown problems KHysiek EPoX MotherBoards 3 2nd April, 2003 04:12 PM
What graphics card for 8rda+ Flymo EPoX MotherBoards 8 25th February, 2003 12:34 PM
Epox Tech? Any difference in 8rda+ vs 8rga+ except graphics? xgman EPoX MotherBoards 11 29th August, 2002 06:29 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:57 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0