AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #61 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2004, 10:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 24

Switched PSU between my 8RDA+ rig (QTec 550W) and 8RDA6+ Pro (X-Pro 460W). 12v line went up to 10.9 on the 8RDA6+. The PSU in question had been showing 12.1 in the 8RDA+. The X-Pro which had been showing 10.4 in the 8RDA6+ now shows 12.1 in the 8RDA+.

Go figure.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2004, 04:16 AM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

First of all, don't ever buy Q-tech PSUs. Second, try to read previous posts in this thread because they might have already given you an answer on possible solutions on that +12v line. So like for ex. I have said, the +12v line totally normalised after doing the L12 mod.

So go figure nothing.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2004, 04:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 24

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
First of all, don't ever buy Q-tech PSUs. Second, try to read previous posts in this thread because they might have already given you an answer on possible solutions on that +12v line. So like for ex. I have said, the +12v line totally normalised after doing the L12 mod.

So go figure nothing.
Q-Tech PSU are fine. Q-Tec are crap, I agree but I bought mine a long time ago before they were known to be crap.

I have read the thread. Please advise why I should have to mod the cpu socket to be able to read the voltage correctly? I am adding proof that the board reads incorrectly. I see no evidence of instability and it is my belief that the voltage levels are fine but that the board simply is incorrectly calibrated.

As for actually doing the L12 mod, it may be a simple matter when it requires removing a heatsink and a chip but not quite so simple when it means removing a waterblock in a very tight fitting case. I gave up fitting little wires in sockets when I got rid of my K7S5A when it was the only way to change multipliers.

Given also that the L12 changes how the mobo sees the default frequency of the cpu, what is the point of the JCLK jumper block on the 8RDA line? Doesn't that do the same thing?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2004, 06:21 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Why the +12v line is reported better? Well, i didn't build the board so i don't really know how it works. I figure there is less strain on the northbridge and/or cpu which seems to do that. You don't have to believe me but why shouldn't you. I have the same board and had the same reportings of the +12v line before the L12 mod.
If you are reluctant to put in the L12 mod because of your waterblock of which we didn't know you had until your last post AND you don't want to believe me, well then don't. But then don't complaint either. I assume you run a mobile? Because i'd be surprised if the bad +12v reading happens when you use a regular XP 333 and up cpu. Mobiles are still officially unsupported.

At any rate. After the L12 mod my system was more stable, was able to get a higher fsb and much higher cpu clock. And the +12v line is measured more correctly. Coincidence? I don't think so.

edit: JCLK switch makes a choice between 100/133 mhz operation and 133/166/200 mhz operation. The L12 mod gives you 166/200 mhz. That's the difference. Read your manual, that info is there.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2004, 10:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 24

Wolf2000me, I'm not trying to fight with you. My complaints are not aimed at you but at Epox. I'm not seeing too much from the Epox Tech guy in this thread or any of the others about the 6+ so I re-raised the same issue.

BTW, I don't run a mobile. It's a TBred 2100 oc'ed to 11.5 x 200.
__________________

Epox 8RDA+, XP1700B at 2400MHz (12x200), 512MB BH5, SlitEdge, BIX
Epox 8RDA6+ Pro, XP2600M at 2645MHz (12.5x212), LittleRiverWhiteWater #095, Eheim1250, Heatercore
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2004, 10:34 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

lol

I'm not trying to fight with you either. I do know however that i might have been a bit harsh, sorry 'bout that From how i've seen it you told me I made a bad assumption about the +12v L12 mod thingy of which you hadn't even tested. If i had seen you use watercooling i could have understood, of course not nessesarily but i'd have made a chance

Anyway, i do really advise you to do the mod. It may solve a lot of possible problems at once.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2004, 11:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 24

Correct me if I'm wrong but the L12 mod fools the mobo into believing that the chip in the board is a 200MHz default FSB chip? e.g. XP3200? If so, it kinda suggests that the board has been incorrecltly calibrated?

Epox tech, where are you??
__________________

Epox 8RDA+, XP1700B at 2400MHz (12x200), 512MB BH5, SlitEdge, BIX
Epox 8RDA6+ Pro, XP2600M at 2645MHz (12.5x212), LittleRiverWhiteWater #095, Eheim1250, Heatercore
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2004, 11:09 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

I've set the northbridge voltage to 2.0v and i appear to be running stable, at least for 2 hrs instead of 7 minutes.

ET, will I be okay if i keep using the stock northbridge heatsink? I did take the fanguard off for fitting my SP97, no big deal there of course. Temperature sensor 2 gives a max of 34°C after an hour of a prime blend test using 512mb memory.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2004, 11:20 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Quote:
Originally Posted by HaloJones
Correct me if I'm wrong but the L12 mod fools the mobo into believing that the chip in the board is a 200MHz default FSB chip? e.g. XP3200? If so, it kinda suggests that the board has been incorrecltly calibrated?

Epox tech, where are you??
HaloJones...

That appears to be an nforce2 feature. I mean using the L12 mod to stabilise your system. Something like the high "row active delay" on nforce2 boards.

btw, ET is probably doing this for free so have a little patience. For all you know, your solution may be right in front of you.

edit: The discussion on the L12 mod has been done only so many times. No point getting in to that. It works for nforce2 and that's that
The L12 mod, depends on what you do. In this thread there is a picture posted by me on the second page, i think, which explains it. The blue one makes your system boot at 6x166 default, that's the one i did.
Btw, something handy there. If you use the poweroff-hold insert-thingy for when your system doesn't boot at a given settings, your system boots at 6x100 eventhough you set the L12 mod. No system settings are changed, you will have to change something of course.

edit2: Your cpu is at 266 mhz fsb default, perhaps that's the reason the L12 mod might benefit you? That's an educated guess?
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21

Last edited by Wolf2000me; 7th December, 2004 at 11:39 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2004, 10:33 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

As Halo Jones CPU is 266FSB it needs L12 to utilize the correct ROMSIP table, or else the timings and register pipes will be too harsh for the MCP and memory employed.

And BTW - EPoX Tech is a volunteer, and he's on his vacation at the moment. I'm not obliged to post here, but I do!!!
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #71 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2004, 11:43 AM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

ET, is it okay to operate at 2v vdd while using the stock active cooling on the northbridge? Temps are reported in post 68.

Don't forget to have fun and drink a lot on your holiday m8
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2004, 08:14 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Hoist one for me ET and....well two men of the world such as we need not go into detail here....":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2004, 08:19 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally Posted by HaloJones
Wolf2000me, I'm not trying to fight with you. My complaints are not aimed at you but at Epox. I'm not seeing too much from the Epox Tech guy in this thread or any of the others about the 6+ so I re-raised the same issue.

BTW, I don't run a mobile. It's a TBred 2100 oc'ed to 11.5 x 200.
To ask once is fine, to persists in asking is badgering, which we don't permit.

Anymore than we would permit another to badger you. ET has no obligation to answer anyone. He doe so as a favor to those in need.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2004, 01:26 AM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

it seems my question in post #71 has been a bit camouflaged by Daniel. That's np but i'd still like a reply
It shouldn't be too hard

Oh yeah, happy birthday ET, eventhough it was yesterday
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2004, 09:35 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
it seems my question in post #71 has been a bit camouflaged by Daniel. That's np but i'd still like a reply
It shouldn't be too hard
Please expand.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #76 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2004, 10:53 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

2.0v with any cooling (all of the ice of the southpole) may be fine or may be a killer - it's a risk that you have to take on your warranty.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2004, 01:01 AM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
2.0v with any cooling (all of the ice of the southpole) may be fine or may be a killer - it's a risk that you have to take on your warranty.
Well... Is that the case with any measured northbridge temp? I find that hard to believe, no offense. My northbridge temp is 34°C max (measured on the winbond 3 sensor, i did state that before).
I am running stable, prime did find an error after 8 hrs of loading but while gaming or benching intensively i don't have any problems. Question is, am i looking at possible long term damage? I don't really have an idea what a typical range of temperatures there are on the 8rda series that may cause instability. I assume it's about 45-55° C that should cause one to worry?
If not, please educate me...
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #78 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2004, 03:25 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

It's called electro-migration. There's oodles and gobs of stuff on the web regarding it, but the long and short of it is that ALL ICs are inhabited by a time bomb. Jacking up the voltage while reducing the process feature size accelerates the 'tick' on the time bomb. Reducing the temp slows the 'tick'. Unfortunately, the more extreme the voltage boost, the more extreme the cooling required to keep the bomb from ticking too fast and going off prematurely.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #79 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2004, 05:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Posts: 73

Competent explanation, my compliments Gizmo.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #80 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2005, 11:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 24

FWIW, the new Merlin BIOS with the L12 built in, raised my reported 12v line to 11.5v from 10.x .

This Merlin BIOS is a doosy.
__________________

Epox 8RDA+, XP1700B at 2400MHz (12x200), 512MB BH5, SlitEdge, BIX
Epox 8RDA6+ Pro, XP2600M at 2645MHz (12.5x212), LittleRiverWhiteWater #095, Eheim1250, Heatercore
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Processor for Epox EP-8RDA6+PRO? Yamboo29 EPoX MotherBoards 12 5th October, 2006 08:09 PM
EPOX EP-8RDA6+PRO Overclocking help? Yamboo29 EPoX MotherBoards 3 10th September, 2006 03:32 PM
Epox 8RDA3+ or 8RDA6 Pro ?? Force EPoX MotherBoards 2 19th February, 2006 03:21 AM
VDimm Mod Epox 8RDA6+ PRO sebheider EPoX MotherBoards 5 12th February, 2006 07:02 PM
Epox 8rda6 Pro+ grandmaster_b EPoX MotherBoards 7 24th August, 2005 01:18 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0