AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd February, 2002, 11:48 PM
turbo dan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 442
Send a message via AIM to turbo dan Send a message via Yahoo to turbo dan

Have they fixed the USB problem?

Did the new bios fix the problem with the usb when you go over 138mhz fsb? Or do o/cer's just not worry about it? Before I unlocked my duron I would just run the fsb up to oc it but I would lose usb and couldn't print. I haven't tried a higher fsb since I flashed the bios to see if it's fixed.
__________________
bit by folding bug Feb. 2002

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2002, 12:07 AM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

the USB issue is present with most if not all motherboards from what i understand, i believe its a hardware prob, and bios cant fix it at all!

im sure if it was fixeable it would have been done a couple of years back!
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2002, 01:17 AM
turbo dan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 442
Send a message via AIM to turbo dan Send a message via Yahoo to turbo dan

OK thanks, I guess I'll have to pull out my LPT port printer and put new cartridges in it.
__________________
bit by folding bug Feb. 2002

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2002, 02:03 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

My 8KHA+ USB works at 167fsb with both my camera and joystick.

The camera gives a error saying that the USB is not syncronised but it still works fine.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2002, 02:06 AM
K6-III's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 661

The board that this concerns is the original 8KHA, which used the KT266, not the KT266A.

You could give a $10 USB PCI card a try instead of buying more expensive cartridges.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2002, 02:37 AM
turbo dan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 442
Send a message via AIM to turbo dan Send a message via Yahoo to turbo dan

I found the link that got me thinking it was board specific. After reading more it appears it's via chipset related. I have the KT266 chipset and that appears to be the problem. The 8KHA+ has the KT266A chipset and does not have the usb problem. I find it strange that during my post it shows my chipset as KT266/A. I guess it's something I have to live with.
Here's a picture of what I found out.
Attached Thumbnails
Have they fixed the USB problem?-new-visualization.jpg  
__________________
bit by folding bug Feb. 2002

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2002, 08:48 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

If you can re-engineer about 8 components on the mainboard it can be resolved, but realistically it is characteristic in all KT266 designs.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2002, 05:41 PM
turbo dan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 442
Send a message via AIM to turbo dan Send a message via Yahoo to turbo dan

Thanks for the definitive answer. That's something I won't waste my time persuing. I have an LPT port printer in the closet and it uses the same cartridges so all is not lost.
Thanks Again!
__________________
bit by folding bug Feb. 2002

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2002, 08:54 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

If you have flashed the bios to a later version, it shows KT266a, when booting even though it is not. Ours does the same. But the system works great, so we just do not pay any attention to it.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9nda3+ network problem fixed for me m0s EPoX MotherBoards 9 26th February, 2005 03:57 PM
Periodic boot-up problem fixed , 8RDA+ ... TonyCarr EPoX MotherBoards 0 9th August, 2004 04:24 AM
motherboard shutoff problem fixed! so far at least! DisposableHero EPoX MotherBoards 1 17th January, 2003 07:30 AM
AOA Files Upload problem fixed Pinky Random Nonsense! 7 21st May, 2002 02:09 AM
Now it's fixed robbie ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 0 9th February, 2002 02:53 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0