AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2004, 07:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 23

Unhappy 8KDA3J memory problem - 2 Dimm ok 3 Fail

Good morning
i have 8KDA3J Rev 2.2 and 3 * 256MB GEIL DDR 400 memory (SS memory)
BIOS version 22/10/2004

when i put the 3 dimm on all slots i get errors on windows and somtimes boot failed.
when i put any 2 dimm on any 2 slots all is ok - run prime 95 .

please help
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2004, 08:35 AM
jlccarv's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 118

What CPU? C0 or CG revision?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2004, 08:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 23

Need to open the case to look is it a known problem?

it's A64 3000 512K L2
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2004, 10:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 23

i will try to replace to 2 * 512
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2004, 02:15 PM
kimber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 128

what buss speed are you running?

me and my friend both went to 1 gig of ram lately but already having 512(2x256) we had to add another 512 stick and fill all the slots. now we cant push the buss much past 200 anymore.its rock solid at 200 but thats about it.

does anyone have a 512 stick you could throw in slot 1 to see if it works that way?
__________________
DFI LanpartyUT nF4 SLI-DR bios: 06/23/2005
AMD Opetron 148 cab2e 2850mhz(can do 3080mhz)
OCZ Platinum kit 2GB (2 x 1056mb) 285mhz
2-EVGA 7800 GT SLI(520/1200) / Opti V95 19" crt
audigy2 / klipsch v2-400
WD Raptor 74 gb , raid 0 , striping/16k blocks,seagate 200 gig 7200 rpm
Nec dvd-rw ND-3500 AG
OCZ GamerXstream 600 watt
Lian Li PC-V1000APLUS Silver Aluminum / VL System LIS 2 Blue Eye LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2004, 02:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 23

when i worked on my old board i could get to 230fsb with this 3 dimm
now i'm with 8KDA3J and working in 200fsb only with 2 dimm when i add the third it doesnt work
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2004, 02:39 PM
kimber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 128

what was your other set-up?

isn't the geil ram hit or miss on certain motherboards or have they cleared that up now?
__________________
DFI LanpartyUT nF4 SLI-DR bios: 06/23/2005
AMD Opetron 148 cab2e 2850mhz(can do 3080mhz)
OCZ Platinum kit 2GB (2 x 1056mb) 285mhz
2-EVGA 7800 GT SLI(520/1200) / Opti V95 19" crt
audigy2 / klipsch v2-400
WD Raptor 74 gb , raid 0 , striping/16k blocks,seagate 200 gig 7200 rpm
Nec dvd-rw ND-3500 AG
OCZ GamerXstream 600 watt
Lian Li PC-V1000APLUS Silver Aluminum / VL System LIS 2 Blue Eye LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2004, 02:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 23

i was very please with it on my 8RDA+
i was hoping to get the same results on the 8KDA3J
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2004, 04:12 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

have you tried increasing the ddr voltage at all, some system struggle when all slots are used
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2004, 06:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 23

i increased the voltage to 2.8v nothing helps
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2004, 11:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 23

got the 2 * 512 also from GEIL
will try in the evening
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2004, 04:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 23

i don't have to much luck
i got 2 dimms with diffrent timing
2.5 6 3 3
2.5 8 4 4

it is working Prime 95 and Memetest - but i think i should have the same timings .
another replace .....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1gb Ddr2 Pc5300 So-dimm / Notebook Memory / Kingston $30 mookydooky Online Deals, and Steals 0 28th June, 2007 04:35 AM
Corsair releases FB DIMM 2 GB memory danrok General Hardware Discussion 2 6th December, 2006 02:12 AM
FB-DIMM Memory Question fantomfreq General Hardware Discussion 6 13th September, 2006 03:58 PM
Bad caps changed but memory fail memtest adx EPoX MotherBoards 7 9th September, 2006 04:13 PM
Epox 8KDA3J memory problem Tomppab EPoX MotherBoards 14 17th July, 2004 04:14 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0