AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2004, 11:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Posts: 5

9NDA3+ and MAxtor Sata HDD not recognized after reboot

Hi,

I just set a new epox 9nda3+ with two SATA hardrive on SATA1 and SATA2
the first one is a WD raptor 74Go
and the second is a maxtor Diamondmax 10 250Go

When i lauchn the PC the both drive are recognize without problem. but if i reboot, the maxtor aren't detected and the board block at the step 77.
i need to shut down the computer to be able to have the HDD recognized.

i tried with all the SATA port, and i got the same issue.

After looking at the maxtor website a found this issue on a gigabyte board
http://maxtor.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/m...Z2FieXRl&p_li=

Quote:
Problem:

SATA drive is not detected when connected to the onboard SATA controller of a Gigabyte motherboard.
Cause:

Certain Gigabyte motherboards that have a built in SATA controller have a problem with detecting SATA drives when the system is restarted.
Solution:

Please visit Gigabyte's website, http://www.giga-byte.com/, to determine if your motherboard has a BIOS fix.
And i wonder if the problem come from my hard drive (as the raptor isn't affected) or from the motherboard.

do you have experimented error like that with two SATA drive?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 31st December, 2004, 05:03 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I haven't had this problem myself (I don't have any SATA drives), but given that Gigabyte is able to fix it with a BIOS I suspect it's a combination of the Maxtor being a little slow to come out of reset and the mobo trying to initialize the drive too early.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2005, 02:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Posts: 31

I had a detecting array issue using my SATA drives in RAID0...but i switched to SATA ports 1&2 and have no problems anymore...You said you tried all 4. Has it EVER booted?Have you checked the bios and tried only enabling the SATA ports you are using? Set boot order divices properly? Checked poower plug ins? Checked drives on another pc?
Sry just going thru what some of my mental checklist would be....maybe it will help
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2005, 02:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Posts: 5

Thanks for your help,

After looking about this problme with the HDD.
it seems that this problem came from the hardrive itself.

In particulary the firmware, wich is BANC1980 on mine. as a user explain on this post : http://www.techsupportforum.com/show...4&postcount=12

So i will RMA the disk and see.

i will keep you inform, but it don't seem to be epox fault on that one
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2005, 03:25 AM
bETAbILLY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Neighbor from hell
Posts: 199

Might help: unlike a normal ide drive, the sata hd needs partitioned in order to be detected by OS. Yet bios will recognize the sata drive.
__________________
9NDA3J 2.1
Winnie 3200
2X512 Corsair TwinX PC4400 C25PT
eVGA 6800GT
Antec 430 TruePower
1-WD800JB PATA
2-WD800JD SATA
Yadda, yadda, yadda
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2005, 10:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Estonia
Posts: 13

i also have problem with my WD sata hdd
before epox i was running MSI NEO 2 Platinum
and my 2 x 120 WD were in RAID0 so after mobo switch
i can use only 1 drive
because mobo thinks that other is still in RAID0
one drive is formatted but i cant format the other one
because it still thinks that it is 2 x 120gb in raid0(230gb)

what the hell is wrong with it? how can i format the other drive?
should i take working drive out and try to format not working?

any ideas?

also sorry for my bad english
__________________
CPU: A64 3200+ Winchester @ 2700mhz / 1,61v
MOBO: Epox 9NDA3+ @ 270mhz / 5X HTT
MEM: 2 x 256MB Adata Vitesta PC4500 (TCCD)
GFX: Gigabyte X800PRO 256MB 475/900 @ 570/1100
PSU: Antec Truepower 550w
COOLING:
CPU: Arctic Cooling Freezer 64
GPU: Waterchill DYO VGA(max temp 28C)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2005, 11:22 AM
~* InSoM *~'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: UK good old boring, cold, wet, UK
Posts: 402

Just out of interest, when you reboot the machine, and the BIOS does not recognise ur SATA HDD? does Windows see it? I had a similar problem b4 i RMA'd my mobo but on an IDE HDD not recognising on reboot in the BIOS, but Windows still managed to see it and cud use it... (figure that 1 out boys/gals)...

Also when you reboot, try going into the BIOS and save/exit does that make any difference?
__________________
Code:
    
    Main machine                Gateway machine         Wifey's machine
O/S WIN XP Pro SP1              SuSE 9.2                WIN XP Pro SP2
CPU 2.8 Celeron D               1Ghz Pentium III        2.4 Celeron D
RAM 768MB PC2700                512MB PC133             512mb PC2700
HDS 40GB Excelstar              20GB Quantum Fireball   40GB
VID XFX FX6600GT 128MB          NVidia 2 MX400 32MB     O/B AGP Video
MOB Eliteforce ECS 661FX-M      DELL                    DELL
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2005, 01:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Posts: 5

The problem with this drive it's the epox Hang at the boot to detect the drive. and i can leave it for ten minutes, and it will wait or try to find it.

It's like it saw that an hard drive is connected but it can't find it. so it probably loop on something.
and when it does that i can't even enter into the bios option and even less in windows.

The pc is just stock at boot (step 77 on the LED) looking for a SATA drive.
I shut the pc and restart and the HDD is recognized immediatly.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2005, 10:21 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

could be possible that the drvie that is not working requires the 3.3v connection of an ATX12v 2.01 psu. would explain alot, and requires that you buy a new psu. Gotta love the ever-changing nature of hardware!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2005, 05:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Posts: 5

I already have a Brand new PSU, LC-Power Super giant 550W
and it got two SATA connector
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9NDA3+ SATA question jcat EPoX MotherBoards 1 25th June, 2005 05:57 PM
Maxtor 300G only being recognized half the time at boot. $ilent$uicide General Hardware Discussion 13 30th May, 2005 10:54 PM
Epox 9NDA3 Sata buzz_lips EPoX MotherBoards 6 23rd February, 2005 02:42 PM
8KDA3+ and Maxtor SATA drives CoolerQ EPoX MotherBoards 4 21st December, 2004 05:56 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0