AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2005, 12:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Posts: 6

Unhappy Capacitor problems

¤first post so be gentle¤
I am not sure how many of you have had this problem with your Epox 8Kha+ Mother boards. But I've got buldging caps.
I've read the values and I am a compitent enough solderer but I have some Q's.
Does it matter what kind of capacitor I replace them with as long as the value is the same?? IE 10V 2200uF??
Or does the value not even matter so much as long as the voltage is the same??

I figure if I have to replace 14 caps I might as well replace them with something trully awesome.

I would prefer to replace them with something with a heat tolerance of atleast 105C and perhaps double the capacitance value.
__________________
Democracy is two wolves and one sheep deciding what to have for lunch.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2005, 11:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 284

Suggest you do a search on this forum which has numerous posts going into great detail on it.
http://forums.pcper.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9
__________________
EP-8KDA3J, 3000+ newcastle CG (230x10), 2 x 512 MB Ballistix, Audigy 2, Radeon 9800pro, CNPS7000A-AlCu cpu cooler, Tagan 480W PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2005, 01:26 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

The capacitors you replace them with MUST be "Low ESR" type. You might find it hard to get ones that are double the capacitance and still fit in place!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2005, 04:53 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

In addition to what Áedán said, some regulators will begin oscillating out of control if you put too much capacitance on the output. This is known as 'hunting' and is caused by the excess capacitance messing up the feedback loop.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2005, 07:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Posts: 6

In other words don't upgrade just fix it?
What Does ESR mean?? Here in Finland translation can get complicated.
__________________
Democracy is two wolves and one sheep deciding what to have for lunch.

Last edited by Icanclimbthat; 15th January, 2005 at 07:15 PM. Reason: Added another question :)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2005, 08:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Posts: 6

"The quality of low ESR capacitor (Low Equivalent Series Resistance) during high frequency operation is very important for the stability of CPU power. The idea of where to put these capacitors is another know-how that requires experience and detail calculation."

Well that answers one question. But can anyone give me a Digikey part number to work off of. I need to explain what I want to a person that speaks no english. Part numbers are a universal geek language.
__________________
Democracy is two wolves and one sheep deciding what to have for lunch.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2005, 03:33 AM
DiabloAbogado's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 345

We're currently replacing capacitors for 40 boards at our work. We got ours from Digikey. We narrowed ours down (using "Part Search" page) using the Electrolytic capacitors. I found that if you apply 1 filter at a time, it works best. If I put in all features, it won't return anything. We replaced our with the exact same type, and so far we are 5/5 boards working again.
__________________
AMD 3200+ 2.2 GHz, MSI K8N NEO Platinum, 2x512 OCZ 3200 EL Plat , 2x60GB SATA (Raid 0), MSI DVD+/-RW, Koolance 300-V13, Hydor L30, Black Ice Xtreme (120mm), GF7300 GT
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2005, 10:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Posts: 6

I have the GSC caps(the famous green with gold strip) on my board. I have no intention of throwing that dishonest company even a penny of cash. So it looks like I will be going with the Panasonic FM series caps. Either the P12357-ND or the P12735-ND Those are both 10 volts but 2200uF and 3300uf respectively.
__________________
Democracy is two wolves and one sheep deciding what to have for lunch.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2005, 03:04 PM
jnansley's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 888

Make sure the physical dimensions are the same!

In general, you want to keep the same capacitance - "upgrading" to a higher voltage rating can't hurt, but it still needs to fit on the board.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2005, 04:58 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Changing the voltage will hurt - increasinf the rating in micro farads won't
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2005, 03:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Posts: 6

Then rather than doubling the capacitance I will likely just move up to 3300uF(a 50% increase). And of course maintain the same voltage rating.
__________________
Democracy is two wolves and one sheep deciding what to have for lunch.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2005, 07:48 PM
jnansley's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 888

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
Changing the voltage will hurt - increasinf the rating in micro farads won't
Yes, scratch that, reverse it I guess it depends on how much you change what. Would you advise changing anything? I'm guessing the answer, in general, is no...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 18th January, 2005, 03:17 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

It's been a while since I've messed with this, but as I recall, higher voltage rated caps tend to have increased ESR for the same capacitance, which is why ET advises against increasing the voltage rating.

Increasing capacitance tends to decrease ESR so is generally a good thing, provided you don't upset the regulator while doing so.

Increasing either of these tends to increase the size of the cap, though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 19th January, 2005, 09:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Posts: 6

I stopped off at my local Electronics store yesterday (surprisingly large for “the middle of nowhere” Finland). Alas all they had were standard caps at this rating, they were much to large anyways. But now I have to figure out some place to order the little guys from.
__________________
Democracy is two wolves and one sheep deciding what to have for lunch.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 20th January, 2005, 07:28 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

I usually get lucky at the sites that cater to the music/organ industry to get replacement caps that are exactly the size and shape you need
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 20th January, 2005, 10:27 PM
Fenalaar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Location: Narvik, Norway
Posts: 18

Quote:
Originally Posted by Icanclimbthat
But now I have to figure out some place to order the little guys from.
Try Elfa. They have a branch in Finland too.
They're my favourite supplier for electronic parts - Not because they're cheapest, but beacuse they have a good inventory, good service and they're fast.

Regards

Johan-Kristian
__________________
EPoX 8KDA3+, 1Gb ram, 4x200Gb Maxtor DiamondMax10 S-ata + 1x60Gb Maxtor 6L06 P-ata. Cooler Master CM stacker with 4-in-3 drive module and removable drive bay for system disk and CWT550ADP PSU.
Other system: Dual processor PowerMac G4/800 (mirrored drive doors), MacOS X10.3
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 20th January, 2005, 10:28 PM
Fenalaar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Location: Narvik, Norway
Posts: 18

(PS - They're not very good at regular PC components. It pays to get such parts elsewhere...)

Johan-Kristian
__________________
EPoX 8KDA3+, 1Gb ram, 4x200Gb Maxtor DiamondMax10 S-ata + 1x60Gb Maxtor 6L06 P-ata. Cooler Master CM stacker with 4-in-3 drive module and removable drive bay for system disk and CWT550ADP PSU.
Other system: Dual processor PowerMac G4/800 (mirrored drive doors), MacOS X10.3
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2005, 10:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: germany
Posts: 5

Exclamation

capacitor change?

what a coincidence - changed all buldged 1-2.2mF types yesterday with reachable 50 cent 1-2.2mF/16V types.

was a hell work, but i got em to fit.

all voltages ok and scope-stable with fresh bought lc-power lc6550 supply

CAUSE FOR THE DAMAGE WAS SPARKLEBURNING ATX-PLUG FROM LOW QUALITY CASE-BOUGHT SUPPLY OR EPOX ATX-CONNECTOR SUPPLIER QA PROBLEMS CHECK YOUR ATX COUPLING NOW AN TAKE IMMEDIATE ACTION IF ITS HOT OR BROWNED.

w83697hf-isa-0290
Adapter: ISA adapter
VCore: +1.74 V (min = +1.71 V, max = +1.89 V)
VAgp: +1.52 V (min = +1.42 V, max = +1.57 V)
+5V: +4.89 V (min = +4.76 V, max = +5.24 V)
+12V: +12.22 V (min = +10.82 V, max = +13.19 V)
+3.3V: +3.31 V (min = +3.14 V, max = +3.47 V)
Vdimm: +2.56 V (min = +2.37 V, max = +2.62 V)
VBat: +3.26 V (min = +2.70 V, max = +3.30 V)
V5SB: +5.24 V (min = +4.49 V, max = +5.51 V)


y
darkstar
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8rda+ replacement capacitor set UK One available jviz EPoX MotherBoards 3 19th February, 2006 03:40 PM
K8N Neo Plat 754 capacitor is not straight.. egyteam AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 2nd July, 2005 09:38 PM
8k7a and 8k7a+ capacitor problems rob200 EPoX MotherBoards 5 20th January, 2003 05:54 PM
8K3A+ capacitor help. MasterPooBaa EPoX MotherBoards 3 17th December, 2002 12:09 AM
Resoldered the capacitor The_Silverite AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 10th September, 2002 11:17 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0