AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2005, 05:13 PM
proxops-pete's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 26

Sempron 3100+ in 8RDA3+Pro?

Is that doable??
I just read from Xbit Labs Review that it oc's well and still performs on par with the heavy weights!

ET?? Any thoughts?? Thanks everyone...
__________________
Please help save Ana!
Athlon64 X2 4200+ @ 2.5 GHz 275x9
Zalman CNPS9500 LED|Epox 9NPA+ Ultra
Silver Cooler Master Wave Master
2 GB PC3200 Patriot EP DDR|Antec Trio 550W
Sapphire X1900XT 512MB|Cat 6.10|Sceptre x22wg-Gamer 22"
X-Fi XtremeMusic|Klipsch ProMedia 2.1|Sennheiser HD-535
Logitech WingMan RumblePad USB|Logitech G5


Compaq R3000Z 3400+ 2.2 GHz (1.25V), 15" XGA, 64 MB Geforce4 Go 440
1 GB PC2700, 80 GB 5400rpm, Wireless G, 8X NEC Burner
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2005, 06:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: U.K.
Posts: 8

As far as I am aware the Sempron 3100+ is a socket 754 processor and the top socket A version is 3000+. Newegg list the 3100+ here.
__________________
Epox EP-8RDA6+ Pro v1.2, Barton XP2500+ (11x200Mhz vcore 1.70v), Cooler Master CP5-6J31C HSF, 2x256Mb Crucial PC3200 Ram, Asus Radeon 9600XT 128Mb, Samsung SP1213N + SP080N HDD's, LG DRD8160B DVD, Sony CRX230E CDRW, Realtek onboard sound, Jeantech 450W psu, XP Pro SP2, UDP 5.10, Cats 5.50.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2005, 06:23 PM
proxops-pete's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 26

so Sempron 3100+ is ONLY socket 754?
It isn't ALSO compatible with Socket A?
__________________
Please help save Ana!
Athlon64 X2 4200+ @ 2.5 GHz 275x9
Zalman CNPS9500 LED|Epox 9NPA+ Ultra
Silver Cooler Master Wave Master
2 GB PC3200 Patriot EP DDR|Antec Trio 550W
Sapphire X1900XT 512MB|Cat 6.10|Sceptre x22wg-Gamer 22"
X-Fi XtremeMusic|Klipsch ProMedia 2.1|Sennheiser HD-535
Logitech WingMan RumblePad USB|Logitech G5


Compaq R3000Z 3400+ 2.2 GHz (1.25V), 15" XGA, 64 MB Geforce4 Go 440
1 GB PC2700, 80 GB 5400rpm, Wireless G, 8X NEC Burner
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2005, 07:03 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Yah, AMD has created a littel confusion with the Sempron, because you can get Socket A Semprons, and you can get Socket 754 Semprons. Thing is, the Socket A Semprons have a lower speed range than the Socket 754 ones. Socket A Semprons are available from 2200+ up to 3000+. Socket 754 Semprons are (supposed to be) available from 2500+ up to 3500+.

Note that all Socket A Semprons are currently running 166 MHz FSB. In addition all of them are running 256K cache (TBred core) EXCEPT the 3000+, which is running 512K of cache.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2005, 07:11 PM
proxops-pete's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 26

Erg... thanks for the clarification...
I was afraid of that... why does AMD have to make me such a sad man?!

Ah well... C'est la vie!
__________________
Please help save Ana!
Athlon64 X2 4200+ @ 2.5 GHz 275x9
Zalman CNPS9500 LED|Epox 9NPA+ Ultra
Silver Cooler Master Wave Master
2 GB PC3200 Patriot EP DDR|Antec Trio 550W
Sapphire X1900XT 512MB|Cat 6.10|Sceptre x22wg-Gamer 22"
X-Fi XtremeMusic|Klipsch ProMedia 2.1|Sennheiser HD-535
Logitech WingMan RumblePad USB|Logitech G5


Compaq R3000Z 3400+ 2.2 GHz (1.25V), 15" XGA, 64 MB Geforce4 Go 440
1 GB PC2700, 80 GB 5400rpm, Wireless G, 8X NEC Burner
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2005, 08:29 PM
MietmaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 413

Post

Socket A Sempron is nothing more but a T-bred B CPU, with the above exception of the strongest 3000+. The only difference is the higher FSB (133 => 166) with lower multipliers - u would have to reach higher FSB to achieve some decent OC in MHz.
__________________
AMD AXP-M 11x220 1.675v| Epox 8RDA3+ PRO 1.4| Thermalright SLK900U /Y.S.Tech 92mm|
2x512MB Mushkin PC3200 L.II V2| Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO@XT| S.B. Live 5.1| Maxtor 120GB|
Seagate 80GB| Teac CD-W540E| Asus DVD| BeQuiet Blackline 450W| Chieftec BX| Iiyama HM704UTc|
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2005, 10:41 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Imho if you're going socket A go for the mobile. Look it up and you'll see some serious OCing. I know from my experience that i can take on a64 cpu's when it comes to 3d apps. If I compare my pcmark score for ex. with a typical a64 system i notice that i don't have to bow down for the 3500+ and higher. And when there are some guys like Merlin who build us a decent custom bios i can't see any reason why you shouldn't go for a mobile when you want a budget system.
You might have figured all this out already but since you're asking about the socket A sempron...

edit: I think you'd better make up your mind quite quick. Those chips, including the socket A sempron won't be around for ever. I heard AMD is planning to get rid of all socket A chips by June.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2005, 11:07 PM
proxops-pete's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 26

Hmm... that's quite alright... I will just use my 2000+ Mobile as long as it can play my games... and then upgrade to A64's...
__________________
Please help save Ana!
Athlon64 X2 4200+ @ 2.5 GHz 275x9
Zalman CNPS9500 LED|Epox 9NPA+ Ultra
Silver Cooler Master Wave Master
2 GB PC3200 Patriot EP DDR|Antec Trio 550W
Sapphire X1900XT 512MB|Cat 6.10|Sceptre x22wg-Gamer 22"
X-Fi XtremeMusic|Klipsch ProMedia 2.1|Sennheiser HD-535
Logitech WingMan RumblePad USB|Logitech G5


Compaq R3000Z 3400+ 2.2 GHz (1.25V), 15" XGA, 64 MB Geforce4 Go 440
1 GB PC2700, 80 GB 5400rpm, Wireless G, 8X NEC Burner
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This Sempron Has Some Go In It.... Rondog AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 26th November, 2005 12:48 AM
amd sempron new malcolmx AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 25th January, 2005 03:47 PM
Sempron 3100+ supported? ivanmoe EPoX MotherBoards 2 13th September, 2004 11:06 PM
sempron???? sasrob General Hardware Discussion 1 4th September, 2004 09:02 PM
8KDA3+ and A64 3100+ results LBJGH AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 25th June, 2004 01:02 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0