AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2005, 06:30 PM
78stonewobble's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via ICQ to 78stonewobble Send a message via MSN to 78stonewobble Send a message via Yahoo to 78stonewobble

8rda3+ OC tips needed

Hello, my first post here and this seems like the place to be for a new epox owner and rather new into overclocking too.

Anyways I'd like to have some tips for getting more performance out of my system. Heres the specs.

8rda3+ rev. 1.1
xp-m 2400 @ 12 x 200 / vcore 1,75 (but undervolting to 1,73 according to mbm)
2 x 512 mb crucial ballistix pc3200 running in dual channel @ 200 mhz (cas 2.0, T(ras) 10, T(rcd) 2, T(rp) 2.
9800 pro @ stock (early model and doesnt like to oc)
Ati Catalysts 4.12
Win2k SP4

My benches with this setup gives around:
Sandra 2005 Memory bench: Int 3103 / Float 2972
3dmark 2001 SE: 18934
PCmark2002: CPU 7322 / MEM 6766 / HD 1058
Aquamark: CPU 8473 / Total 45921

FYI: Benchmarks were run with network connections in the background along with kerio personal firewall and AVG antivirus (not normally hoggin much cpu power and this is how i game after all).

Now are these scores ok for this system? (Im guessing theyre ok) but how could I improve them?

And are there any way I can get my ballistix to run more than 206-207 mhz with tight timings (2.0,2,2,10). Or do I have just have to give up and run cas 2.5?

The sticks run 205 stable with 2,77 and 2,9 vdimm with both settings undervolting. = max I can give the mem is about 2.86)

Lastly if I decide to run cas @ 2.5 how much higher would the fsb have to be to make up for the performance loss in your oppinions?

Hope you have some tips... Thx in advance...
__________________

Last edited by 78stonewobble; 7th February, 2005 at 07:32 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2005, 06:58 PM
MietmaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 413

Thumbs up

As to you resluts : memory bandwidth, 3DMark2001 and Aquamark 3 scores are very fine (what Catalyst version do you use? any modded drivers like DNA or Omega?). I can't tell anything about PC Mark, since I've nevered installed this particular benchmark.

I'm in a hurry now - I'll write more, when I've come back home

Edit : Try out 2-3-3-11 or 2.5-2-2-11.
__________________
AMD AXP-M 11x220 1.675v| Epox 8RDA3+ PRO 1.4| Thermalright SLK900U /Y.S.Tech 92mm|
2x512MB Mushkin PC3200 L.II V2| Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO@XT| S.B. Live 5.1| Maxtor 120GB|
Seagate 80GB| Teac CD-W540E| Asus DVD| BeQuiet Blackline 450W| Chieftec BX| Iiyama HM704UTc|
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2005, 07:54 PM
78stonewobble's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via ICQ to 78stonewobble Send a message via MSN to 78stonewobble Send a message via Yahoo to 78stonewobble

Thanks for the fast reply

Edited my first post for info bout OS / Drivers etc.

I ran a whole slew of benches today gently pushing the system :
Aquamark
Multi/FSB |Timings | Sandra Int / Float | 3dmark2001 | PCmark CPU / MEM | CPU/Total
12x200 | 2.0,2,2,10 | 3103/2972 | 18934 | 7322 / 6766 | 8473 / 45921
12,5x200 | 2.0,2,2,10 | 3075 / 2943 | 19145 | 7631 / 6898 | 8608 / 46258
11,5x207 | 2.0,2,2,10 | 3195 / 3035 | 18786 | 7278 / 6870 | 8525 / 45594
11,5x217 | 2.5,3,3,10 | 3320 / 3136 | 18852 | 7650 / 6999 | 8525 / 46172
11x225 | 2.5,3,3,10 | 3453 / 3236 | 19070 | 7632 / 7172 | 8686 / 46085

Every run were only run once soooo... its more of a guideline...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2005, 08:53 PM
MietmaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 413

Thumbs up

What I wanted to write later, you've already done

In my case it's better to run at 11x220 than at 12x200 - the results in all benchmarks are better and my system (Win2k SP4 as well ) seems to be a bit faster. The 20MHz difference on FSB does make up for much worse memory timings (2-3-3-11 at FSB200 vs. 2.5-4-4-11 at FSB220) - apart from that the CPU overclock is a bit higher (2.4GHz vs. 2.42GHz) and needs the same v-core (1.65v set in bios).

I wanted to advise you to push your system up to FSB220 or even higher, if your memory could handle 2.5-3-3-11 at such speeds. This is exactly what you did on yourself today - you ain't such a beginner as you had written before

The other thing - 2x512MB in dual channel mode is something really stressful for our nFroce2 chipset (well, not only for nForce2, but we'll leave out the rest) and FSB220-225 is almost the very top you can reach with stock bios (and even with some modded ones). It seems both your memory sticks and mobo are doing really well, so I would suggest to leave them at the max. stable FSB frequency. Run Prime95 Blend Test for 12 hours or longer to check the stability of both memory and CPU overclock at the same time.

Only 3DMark2001SE tends to give some different scores, but the difference is about 100-200 3dmarks at most.

Good job you did!
__________________
AMD AXP-M 11x220 1.675v| Epox 8RDA3+ PRO 1.4| Thermalright SLK900U /Y.S.Tech 92mm|
2x512MB Mushkin PC3200 L.II V2| Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO@XT| S.B. Live 5.1| Maxtor 120GB|
Seagate 80GB| Teac CD-W540E| Asus DVD| BeQuiet Blackline 450W| Chieftec BX| Iiyama HM704UTc|
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2005, 08:10 AM
78stonewobble's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via ICQ to 78stonewobble Send a message via MSN to 78stonewobble Send a message via Yahoo to 78stonewobble

Hehe ty. I did manage to get my old k6-2 350 upto 550 mhz and my old xp2500 to 2300 something on my frn2-l.

That board had bad caps though soooo...

I did think however there were some kinks maybe with the 8rda3+ so thats why I asked .

But as you can see from my benches the 225 fsb doesnt really give a boost to performance. Ill try fiddling with it some more later today. (have 2 get my lungs and heart x-rayed this morning ).

Thanks for your help and oppinions though and I do have one more question 8rda3+ specific.

It's regarding temperatures on the cpu. My old frn2-l had on chip diode measurement and it never got over 55 (24 hours of seti home).

What temps should I aim for with the temp probe on the 8rda3+???

Right now its idling at 38-40 degrees. and max ive seen with 1,75 (in bios) vcore is 48.

PS: Having a slk900a atm. would a sp97 help ? Or would I have to go h2o to get any tangible improvement?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2005, 08:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 89

78stonewobble; any chance you could run 3dmark03 and or 05 also?

Your system is very similar to mine and it would be fun to compare your results with mine...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2005, 10:30 PM
78stonewobble's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via ICQ to 78stonewobble Send a message via MSN to 78stonewobble Send a message via Yahoo to 78stonewobble

I would but in my foolishness I tried flashing the romsip bios.

It would run but upon reboot all it gives me is a "C1" errorcode.

Atm. Ive tried 1 and 2 sticks of memory (2 different brands of pc3200 and 1 pc2100) and resetting cmos and removing the battery.

Any help or methods would REALLY be appreaciated.

PS: arf... Want to get the emergency flash thing to work but cant get passed the C1 :S... Theres no fancy keypress for bypassing it is there?

PPS: A really detailed guaranteed cmos reset procedure would also help. As to eliminate that im making any error...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2005, 10:48 PM
MietmaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 413

Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by 78stonewobble
I would but in my foolishness I tried flashing the romsip bios.

It would run but upon reboot all it gives me is a "C1" errorcode.
Was that the one of Merlin?

8RDA3+ Romsip Mod TaiPan 11.10.2004

8RDA3+ Romsip Mod TaiPan 11.10.2004
(newer one, CPC On version)

This is the "Epox 8RDA3+ specific kink" I wanted to recommend you, although I'm not 100% sure the bios is stable (????)


Quote:
PPS: A really detailed guaranteed cmos reset procedure would also help. As to eliminate that im making any error...
The only thing I can recommend you is to clear CMOS for a longer period of time : PSU off, power on button to get rid of some voltage remains , clear CMOS for at least half an hour. Every other possible thing I could recommend you've already done.

BTW. How did you flash? (alt+F2, Winflash, AWDflash)

Temps stuff (although it isn't the most important thing atm) : Epox reads from socket, so 55-60C (stress) is almost always the absolute max - then I get some stability issues (nobody knows how much it is in reality). The only possible improvement over your TR SLK900A is either SP97 or SI97, providing you don't want to build WC.
__________________
AMD AXP-M 11x220 1.675v| Epox 8RDA3+ PRO 1.4| Thermalright SLK900U /Y.S.Tech 92mm|
2x512MB Mushkin PC3200 L.II V2| Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO@XT| S.B. Live 5.1| Maxtor 120GB|
Seagate 80GB| Teac CD-W540E| Asus DVD| BeQuiet Blackline 450W| Chieftec BX| Iiyama HM704UTc|

Last edited by MietmaN; 8th February, 2005 at 10:59 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2005, 11:23 PM
78stonewobble's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via ICQ to 78stonewobble Send a message via MSN to 78stonewobble Send a message via Yahoo to 78stonewobble

It was merlins -> 3.19 dated 17.01.05 (CPC on)- flashed with awardflash.

For what its worth the bios seemed ok except memory prolly couldnt handle the setting.

Will try to leave the pc without battery / for the night and se what happens...

If it doesnt work I'll have to try forcing a checksum error to get it to read the floppy and then try to flash (www.wimsbios.com).

Regarding the temps (which is kinda important cuz its coooold where im sitting :P) Im still undecided on If i should spend money on copper or algae removal stuff :S decisions decisions... (or mebbe a new bios chip )
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2005, 10:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2003
Posts: 89

Well, if you live in Sweden I could send you a flashed BIOS if you wanted...

However check out these guys (also in Sweden) they will sell you a preflashed IOSS BIOS saviour anywhere in the world...

I'm giving you a link to my review of it...

http://www.techspot.com/reviews/hard...ur/index.shtml
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2005, 12:04 PM
78stonewobble's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via ICQ to 78stonewobble Send a message via MSN to 78stonewobble Send a message via Yahoo to 78stonewobble

Well Its not that far. I'm living in denmark Thx for the offer though...

Yeh I know of that company and I have considered it again.

Again because the first 8rda3+ I got actually had a bad bios In the end I just decided to RMA it though. That one gave lots of C1 errors on first boot even a FF (bad one of em) before booting and working about a week before... just giving C1 3 times and then only FF.

This time though I'm thinking the bios is ok, the bootblock bios is ok and hardware ok. I just can't get passed the mem check

Man considering the amount of tinkering I'm doing and doing small time support for friends and family I can't for the love of god understand why I didnt buy a bios saviour
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2005, 08:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 73

Quote:
Originally Posted by 78stonewobble
PS: arf... Want to get the emergency flash thing to work but cant get passed the C1 :S... Theres no fancy keypress for bypassing it is there?
Have you tried holding the insert button while powering up or restarting? I think this is supposed to set the bios to processor defaults. Hold it down the whole time it boots. I got burned by Merlin's tai pan bios on my 8rda3+ too. After a couple of days tinkering I figured it out but I don't remember exactly how. I eventually abandoned that bios because (in my experience) it was slower and less stable above 200 FSB.
__________________
AMD XP2600+ Mobile @2.43 (221*11 FSB- 1.625v) (Thermalright slk-947u HSF)
Epox 8RDA3+ with Vanteq Iceberq
256*2 Geil Platinum DDR dual channel DDR 3500 (2-3-3-11)
MSI GForce 4 TI 4600
Maxtor 160GB (8 meg cache)
Raixmax 420 watt PSU (2 intake, 1 exhaust)
Bass Ale (1 pint, 16 oz)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2005, 09:26 PM
78stonewobble's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via ICQ to 78stonewobble Send a message via MSN to 78stonewobble Send a message via Yahoo to 78stonewobble

Scratch that... Got my frn2-l back and did my first hot flash... works perfectly again with the newest stock bios... now i need a drink got all shaky hands doing it


kels83: Yes did try it but no luck . Im beginning to think that maybe I
should be happy if its just the bios chip. Seems noone had THIS much trouble with the modded bios'es (or maybe we just dont hear cuz it was their only comp).

Just kidding keep up the good work Merlin (if you read this)

Per Hansson: I actually remember reading that article a while back. Nice one I liked it and on an interesting product too ( a little different than the average "new cpu is faster than the previous" GOSH !!! )
__________________

Last edited by 78stonewobble; 10th February, 2005 at 06:19 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9NDA3+ ovrclocking tips needed! Lazgoat EPoX MotherBoards 7 4th July, 2005 09:58 PM
need tips 8rda3+ Pooface EPoX MotherBoards 1 11th July, 2003 08:40 AM
CPU Fan fitting tips please! danrok Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 4 24th March, 2003 05:24 PM
Some OC tips. Holst EPoX MotherBoards 12 15th July, 2002 01:56 AM
overclocking tips outraged AMD Motherboards & CPUs 24 2nd May, 2002 05:44 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0