AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2005, 12:55 AM
WooferWrecker's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 133

Question nForce driver memory controller????

Hi again gang,

I don't know if this is the right thread, but it has to do with an Epox mobo and nForce drivers, so I'll give it a shot...

I installed the new nForce drivers tonight, being version 6.39... after completely uninstalling the old drivers, which were version 6.16 beta from Techconnect.

It was only when I ran Aquamark after installing the new drivers, that I realised that the new version hadn't installed any GART or memory controller drivers. Upon further investigation, I discovered that version 6.39 is for the NForce4 ONLY. At this point, I felt pretty silly, but I figured I could just uninstall the 6.39's and go back to my previous version ( I did however, keep the network driver and firewall)

The thing that is bugging me is that having gone back to the 6.16 betas, 6.14 betas, and currently on the 5.10 WHQL's, I can't get the nForce memory controller drivers to install.

And it seems to have cost me around 2000 Aquamark points.

Does anyone know how I can get them (The nForce memory controller drivers) back onto my machine?

I have tried updating the drivers manually, but have had no luck.

From what I remember, there used to be multiple "nForce memory controller" 's listed in the Device Manager> system devices> window where the "PCI Standard Host CPU Bridge" is...

Or am I mistaken?

Any help you guys can give me will be greatly appreciated, as always


Attached Thumbnails
nForce driver memory controller????-system-devices.jpg  
__________________
AMD Athlon64 FX-55 @ 5 x HT / 255 X 11 = 2805MHz / +.10v
Swiftec MCX6400-V / Artic Siver 5 (32 idle / 55 load
Epox 9NDA3+ *Dead and warranty declared void for no reason*
2 x 512MB OCZ PC3200LL DC Platinum Rev. 2 @ 2.5-3-10-3-1T / 2.8v / Slots 3 & 4
Powercolor Radeon X800 Pro VIVO S/M to X800XT PE @ 1.5v / 67MHz /CAT 5.1
2 x WD740GD (RAID0 Boot Volume) SATA 1 & 2
1 x WD1200JB (IDE 1)
Plextor PX-W 4012A / Samsung SD-616E (IDE 2)
OCZ Powerstream 520
Creative SB Audigy2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2005, 01:26 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

try using driver cleaner (might be in the files section) to completely remove the nf4 drivers and then re-install the correct ones.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2005, 01:47 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I dont think it is in the files section to be honest
graham do you think you could upload the newest copy? or if not swing me a link to it so we can get it up?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2005, 02:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 47

i don't think the memory controller driver is required since it's on the cpu and not the chipset on the athlon64's.

i have the nforce3 ultra with the 5.10's installed after a clean os and there is no such memory controller listed.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2005, 09:55 PM
MietmaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 413

Cool

He wrote it seemed to have cost him 2000 Aquamarks - since the memory controller is built-in in the CPU itself I would rather suspect the lack of GART drivers.

DriverCleaner => GART from 4.27 unified package => the rest from 5.10 release.

That won't hurt, even if the above suggestion doesn't help.

EDIT :
http://www.nvidia.com/object/nforce_...p_archive.html
__________________
AMD AXP-M 11x220 1.675v| Epox 8RDA3+ PRO 1.4| Thermalright SLK900U /Y.S.Tech 92mm|
2x512MB Mushkin PC3200 L.II V2| Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO@XT| S.B. Live 5.1| Maxtor 120GB|
Seagate 80GB| Teac CD-W540E| Asus DVD| BeQuiet Blackline 450W| Chieftec BX| Iiyama HM704UTc|

Last edited by MietmaN; 8th February, 2005 at 10:05 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2005, 11:10 PM
WooferWrecker's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 133

Thanks for the replies guys,

I'd like to keep the NIC drivers and firewall software... they work a treat...

I will use the driver cleaner, and then reinstalll the 4.27 GART and then the 5.10's...

Will post back tomorrow and let you know how I got on...

Thanks again all for your help!

__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th February, 2005, 11:49 PM
MietmaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 413

DriverCleaner removes everything and leaves nothing left (only ashes and dust ), so you will have to install both NIC's and firewall's software /drivers again.
__________________
AMD AXP-M 11x220 1.675v| Epox 8RDA3+ PRO 1.4| Thermalright SLK900U /Y.S.Tech 92mm|
2x512MB Mushkin PC3200 L.II V2| Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO@XT| S.B. Live 5.1| Maxtor 120GB|
Seagate 80GB| Teac CD-W540E| Asus DVD| BeQuiet Blackline 450W| Chieftec BX| Iiyama HM704UTc|

Last edited by MietmaN; 9th February, 2005 at 01:46 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory Controller and I/O Controller Failed to identify Everlasting Intel Motherboards & CPUs 3 15th November, 2005 10:06 PM
Possible fix for the new nForce driver instability at higher fsb... Genius EPoX MotherBoards 2 23rd May, 2003 08:08 PM
Higher idle-temps with nForce-audio driver BigShue EPoX MotherBoards 0 17th May, 2003 10:09 AM
nforce ide SW chipset driver OnDborder EPoX MotherBoards 25 10th April, 2003 12:24 PM
Problem with Floppy controller--nForce(1) mainboard. cloasters OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 23rd March, 2003 06:03 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0