AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2005, 03:08 AM
bETAbILLY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Neighbor from hell
Posts: 199

Help on RAID!

Tonight I began to set up a striped array on two WD800 Sata drives on my Epox 9nda3+ intending to use a spare 80gig ATA hd for the OS. The in-bios RAID set up reported my two SATA drives were indexed but on re-boot, I get a BSOD and a message: UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME.

I went back into bios and turned off my SATA controllers and made sure I was booting from the 80gig ATA drive but I still get the same BSOD.

Any suggestions?
__________________
9NDA3J 2.1
Winnie 3200
2X512 Corsair TwinX PC4400 C25PT
eVGA 6800GT
Antec 430 TruePower
1-WD800JB PATA
2-WD800JD SATA
Yadda, yadda, yadda
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2005, 03:32 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I want to make sure I understand:

You have a PATA 80 gig drive that you want to use as your boot drive, and two 80 gig SATA drives that you want to use as a RAID0 stripe?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2005, 04:10 AM
bETAbILLY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Neighbor from hell
Posts: 199

Yes Gizmo, thats correct. But I dont intend to use the PATA drive for redundency, just to keep my more important things in order. In the meantime I had to do a re-install of XP and am now wiping the two SATA drives. Funny though, in bios setup I cannot turn on the SATA RAID channels unless the IDE RAID channels are enabled. They would be greyed-out unless the IDE RAID is enabled.
__________________
9NDA3J 2.1
Winnie 3200
2X512 Corsair TwinX PC4400 C25PT
eVGA 6800GT
Antec 430 TruePower
1-WD800JB PATA
2-WD800JD SATA
Yadda, yadda, yadda
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2005, 10:55 AM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

My brother tried a WD800JB disk to boot from with his nforce2 board. He was able to install the OS on it but he couldn't boot from it. I told him to first try new firmware for the disk (you can download it from the western digital homepage, attach the drive to ide primary master and run the flash program in a dos environment) then if that didn't work to try and low level format the disk. He didn't feel like both and installed the OS on his (slower) maxtor disk. So i can't really be sure if both options work. I had those kind of disks as well and I had trouble getting a raid-0 config on it. The disks frequently fell away from the array but after the firmware upgrade on both they've been working like that just fine. It's still working fine and it boots winxp.

Hope it helps
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2005, 04:01 PM
bETAbILLY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Neighbor from hell
Posts: 199

The JB root disk is fine, but getting into RAID setup was another story.

I have IDE RAID enabled, and SATA 1 & 2 RAID enabled, the RAID setup screen comes up , lists both the RAID SATA drives as "Healthy" , the 9NDA3+ RAID manual says ton press F7 to complete RAID setup, but nothing happens. On reboot into XP, (my PATA boot and OS drive is a WD800JB and the two SATAs are WD800JD's) instead of a RAID array listed in MY COMPUTER, the two SATA drives are still individually listed.

I never played around with RAID before but it seems unusual that the RAID manual on the 9NDA3+ bundled CD differs in context from the bundled paper manual.

Will have to work at it tonight after work.
__________________
9NDA3J 2.1
Winnie 3200
2X512 Corsair TwinX PC4400 C25PT
eVGA 6800GT
Antec 430 TruePower
1-WD800JB PATA
2-WD800JD SATA
Yadda, yadda, yadda
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nForce3 64Bit SATA RAID Driver (winxp x64), K8n neo2 platinum SATA RAID DRIVERS enforcex64guru 64 Bit computing 6 2nd May, 2007 02:15 PM
Maxtor OneTouch III Turbo Edition 1TB RAID 0/RAID 1 Got EpOx General Hardware Discussion 1 18th June, 2006 08:39 PM
4pca3+ serial raid and raid at the same time ckngai EPoX MotherBoards 5 5th April, 2004 03:13 PM
Moving from onboard raid to a raid pci card Jamey1010 EPoX MotherBoards 6 5th March, 2004 07:07 AM
Can you have 2 RAID 1 arrays in a 4 channel RAID card??? JayJay General Hardware Discussion 1 6th April, 2003 08:23 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0