AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2005, 02:42 PM
buzz_lips's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: SE London
Posts: 59

Epox 9NDA3 Sata

Hi,

I've just swappped my Asus Av8 for this board as I couldn't attain a high Htt on the Asus board

My question is simple - do I need to make a Sata Driver disk like I did to get sata working on my other board?

I haven't got the board yet so haven't had a chance to look at a manual and obviously if i need to download any driver i'd rather create a floppy disk on my working rig before I split it up.

Cheers
__________________
Epox 9NDA3
San Diego 3700+
1 Gig GskillLC
Club 3D X800XT
Maxtor 80 Gig Sata
Win XP SP2
Tsunami Case
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2005, 02:50 PM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

Buzz,

With the new CDs that are supplied with EPoX boards, you can now create a RAID floppy without an OS. I was very suprised by the ingenuity displayed by this new idea...but it's a little irritating when you forget to take the CD out, because there's no option to skip it once you accidentally boot from that CD.

Edit: I'm pretty sure my CD that I got with my 8RDA3+ did not have this feature, but I know that Jazzy recently RAIDed his EPoX and it had it, so I may just be an unobservant moron.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2005, 03:00 PM
buzz_lips's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: SE London
Posts: 59

Cheers for the fast reply

I'm not interested in Raiding anything, just need to get the one sata drive up and running. When I had the 8RDA3+ before my Asus I had a specific floppy disk that I put in when you press F6 to load the Sata drivers on a clean install of windows. It's all sorts of fun and games if you can't get your HD up and running!!! lol

So I'm guessing I can create a floppy by whacking the CD in my current set up?
__________________
Epox 9NDA3
San Diego 3700+
1 Gig GskillLC
Club 3D X800XT
Maxtor 80 Gig Sata
Win XP SP2
Tsunami Case
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2005, 03:23 PM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

Quote:
So I'm guessing I can create a floppy by whacking the CD in my current set up?
You are correct!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2005, 04:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 47

if you are not using a raid array, and using the nvidia sata ports, you do not need a floppy for windows install. the sata ports are detected by windows xp (as an ide port).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2005, 05:01 PM
buzz_lips's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: SE London
Posts: 59

Quote:
Originally Posted by Logan
You are correct!
Excellent that's all I need to know

Thanks very much for your help
__________________
Epox 9NDA3
San Diego 3700+
1 Gig GskillLC
Club 3D X800XT
Maxtor 80 Gig Sata
Win XP SP2
Tsunami Case
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2005, 02:42 PM
buzz_lips's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: SE London
Posts: 59

OK have now got this board up n running and very pleased I am with it too. Is anyone able to give me list of what options I should be running in the bios? There isn't a lot of stuff out there on tweaking Epox boards so any help is much appreicated. Got a Rev 1 board btw
__________________
Epox 9NDA3
San Diego 3700+
1 Gig GskillLC
Club 3D X800XT
Maxtor 80 Gig Sata
Win XP SP2
Tsunami Case
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9NDA3+ nForce 3 SATA headers danrok EPoX MotherBoards 2 23rd January, 2006 06:01 PM
SATA on 9nda3+ compatibility question m0s EPoX MotherBoards 1 28th June, 2005 01:50 PM
9NDA3+ SATA question jcat EPoX MotherBoards 1 25th June, 2005 05:57 PM
SATA locking on 9NDA3+ danrok EPoX MotherBoards 4 20th May, 2005 03:21 PM
Epox 9NDA3+ PHY SATA lock PorkchopExpress EPoX MotherBoards 25 8th February, 2005 08:51 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0