AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st March, 2005, 11:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 70
Send a message via ICQ to Barix Send a message via AIM to Barix

2-2-2-3 @ 200fsb .. what do you think?

I love this mobo (8rda6+) !!

My conf:
8RDA6+ 1.2 (stock bios)
1 bank of twinmos 512 MB pc3200 cas 2,5 BH-5 powered
1 bank of Corsair 512 MB 3200C2 XMS3203 v1.1 BH-6 powered (default timings 7-3-3-2)
2600+ mobile (now running with 10x multiplier - just to test ram and mobo)

Notwithstanding I'm running 2 different mem sticks in dual channel, I'm primestable at 200 MHz FSB (400ddr, i'm not joking ) with 4-2-2-2 with 2,63 vddr.

With vddr 2.9 I'm primestable with 3-2-2-2 and 4-1-2-2 (but not 3-1-2-2 )

Tomorrow I'll launch some test to se which timings are better.

I'm running test at "only" 200 mhz because I'm unable to pass prime at 210 MHz with any combination of vddr, vdd and timings :-(

In few days I'll try with Merlin's modded bios to see if I can get 210-220 stable ..
__________________
Epox 8RDA6+ 1.2 - 512 Mb Twinmos PC3200 BH-5 + 512 Mb Corsair 3200C2 in DC 2-2-2-11 - XP-M 2600+ @ 200x12,5 MHz - Lunasio OC3000 - Fiat Ritmo Rad

Last edited by Barix; 22nd March, 2005 at 09:31 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2005, 02:56 AM
MietmaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 413

Please post the timings in their usual order (CAS Latency, RAS to CAS delay, RAS precharge time, Row active time), because many people may get confused.

I'm impressed, really! If you could do some Sandra 2005 and Everest Home memory badwidth and efficiency benchmarks, I would be very grateful. Sometimes tighter timings does have some negative influence on memory efficiency, but I haven't seen many tests with so sharp timings in the web.

Btw. the last one (in the normally used order ) seems to be most efficient while set to 11 on almost every nForce2 motherboard. When set too low, DDR memory modules might produce some errors and thus lower the overall bandwidth.

PS : without L12 mod you won't get higher with the FSB, 'casue you've got there a CPU with FSB133 as it's default and this forces the chipset to use FSB133 ROMSIP table.
__________________
AMD AXP-M 11x220 1.675v| Epox 8RDA3+ PRO 1.4| Thermalright SLK900U /Y.S.Tech 92mm|
2x512MB Mushkin PC3200 L.II V2| Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO@XT| S.B. Live 5.1| Maxtor 120GB|
Seagate 80GB| Teac CD-W540E| Asus DVD| BeQuiet Blackline 450W| Chieftec BX| Iiyama HM704UTc|
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2005, 03:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 157

That's impressive, I am running my EPoX RDA6+Pro at 2.4 right now (12x200) or the Warden is anyway. She loves that Computer!
__________________
Rig 1 MSI K9A2 Platinum, 6400+, 4 gig PC6400, 3870; and then MSI K9A2 CF, 5000+; Abit Fatal1ty AN8, Opteron 185; ASRock 939Dual VSTA, 4400+; EPoX 9NPA+ Ultra, 148 Opteron; Abit KN9 SLI, 5000+;Abit UL8, 3800+; Gigabyte 754 3200+; ASUS A8N-VM CSM, 3500+, ASRock Dual Sata-2, 3200+, Abit NF7-S; DFI NFII; EPoX 8RDA6+Pro.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2005, 09:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 70
Send a message via ICQ to Barix Send a message via AIM to Barix

timings written in the correct order are 2-2-2-3 :-)

2-2-1-4 seems to become unstable after few minutes (and ram becomes warm)

Now I try some bench comparing 2-2-2-3, 2-2-2-5, 2-2-2-11 to see the differences ..

EDIT:

First benchs:

Multiplier 12x (which I read seems to be very good)
FSB 200 MHz
Stock bios

Everest home:

200 fsb, stock bios

timings read write latency
2-2-2-11 3004 1181 81.3
2-2-2-5 2963 1182 81.3
2-2-2-4 2958 1182 81.4
2-2-2-3 2950 1181 81.3


Sandra 2005.SR1:

timings Int Float
2-2-2-11 3068 2933
2-2-2-5 3056 2915
2-2-2-4 3057 2920
2-2-2-3 3053 2919

You're right, best memory performance are reached with Tras about 11.
I also tried 10 and 12 and the result are very close to 11

So now I'll try Merlin bios ...
__________________
Epox 8RDA6+ 1.2 - 512 Mb Twinmos PC3200 BH-5 + 512 Mb Corsair 3200C2 in DC 2-2-2-11 - XP-M 2600+ @ 200x12,5 MHz - Lunasio OC3000 - Fiat Ritmo Rad

Last edited by Barix; 22nd March, 2005 at 10:18 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2005, 08:46 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

tight timings... I'm not shure but dualchannel@200MHz has up to 6400 and singlechannel only 3200. It seemes your memory working in singlechannel mode
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2005, 03:45 AM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Quote:
Originally Posted by gedon
tight timings... I'm not shure but dualchannel@200MHz has up to 6400 and singlechannel only 3200. It seemes your memory working in singlechannel mode
The 8rda6+ pro is a socket A motherboard
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2005, 09:20 AM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
The 8rda6+ pro is a socket A motherboard
So?! This means its dual channel doesn't work??
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2005, 09:47 AM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

No...

This means your cpu does not really benefit a lot from dual channel. There is just no bandwidth left on the FSB of the XP cpu to support the dual channel you are used to with socket 939. So i'd say he is actually running dual channel. That or he is using single channel and the 133 mhz romsip table.
Are you using dual channel? If so measure your memory bandwidth with the programs used by Barix. You can have my car if your memory bandwidth reaches twice the speed Barix has
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2005, 10:39 AM
hoinar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Location: Iasi, Romania
Posts: 945
Send a message via Skype™ to hoinar

Quote:
You can have my car if your memory bandwidth reaches twice the speed
What car do you have?

kiddin'...I only have one mem stick so I can't see, but if I like your car maybe I'll buy another one to test
__________________
I'd cry...but I can't stop laughing.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2005, 11:19 AM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoinar
What car do you have?

kiddin'...I only have one mem stick so I can't see, but if I like your car maybe I'll buy another one to test
It's a 25 year old volkswagen golf. It's not worth much though i'm quite certain i'm right
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2005, 05:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 70
Send a message via ICQ to Barix Send a message via AIM to Barix

I'm pretty sure I'm running in dual channel ..

I put both sticks in the blue sockets, the POST reports dual channel, cpu-z sandra ande everest idem ...

But I'm using the stock bios with the 133 mhz romsip.

One of these days (quoting pink floyd) I'll re-try the merlin's modded bios .. and I'll repost results
__________________
Epox 8RDA6+ 1.2 - 512 Mb Twinmos PC3200 BH-5 + 512 Mb Corsair 3200C2 in DC 2-2-2-11 - XP-M 2600+ @ 200x12,5 MHz - Lunasio OC3000 - Fiat Ritmo Rad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2005, 05:16 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Make sure you flash the bios with the suggested command switches suggested in the thread. If you do that you should have no problems
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2005, 10:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 70
Send a message via ICQ to Barix Send a message via AIM to Barix

For now I tried the cpc ON version.

Now I can reach primestable 220 MHz 2-2-2-11.

I haven't tried yet where I can go with high timings (I'll do it later)

I see no differences in the Sandra membench (same results with stock bios)

Later I'll try the CPC OFF version

How much should change (approx) in sandra using merlin bios? the CPC ON should be the more aggressive one in fact of timings, or not?
__________________
Epox 8RDA6+ 1.2 - 512 Mb Twinmos PC3200 BH-5 + 512 Mb Corsair 3200C2 in DC 2-2-2-11 - XP-M 2600+ @ 200x12,5 MHz - Lunasio OC3000 - Fiat Ritmo Rad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2005, 01:54 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Barix, i thought there was no point in trying the cpc off version because you will notice it is the exact same file. Meaning the cpc off bios is actually cpc on. Or so I heard. I haven't tried it myself
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2005, 02:11 PM
MietmaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Heidelberg (DE), Kraków (PL)
Posts: 413

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Barix, i thought there was no point in trying the cpc off version because you will notice it is the exact same file. Meaning the cpc off bios is actually cpc on. Or so I heard. I haven't tried it myself
I've tried it myself and you're right - both binaries are exactly the same. Merlin must have worked late at night and forgot to change the CPC timing.

Barix, I've marked a significant difference both in Sandra and Everest, but I've had L12 FSB200 pin mod from the very beginnig, so the stock bios used the FSB200 ROMSIP table, which is crap. The comparison is somewhere at the bottom of the first page of the Merlin's bios thread.
__________________
AMD AXP-M 11x220 1.675v| Epox 8RDA3+ PRO 1.4| Thermalright SLK900U /Y.S.Tech 92mm|
2x512MB Mushkin PC3200 L.II V2| Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO@XT| S.B. Live 5.1| Maxtor 120GB|
Seagate 80GB| Teac CD-W540E| Asus DVD| BeQuiet Blackline 450W| Chieftec BX| Iiyama HM704UTc|
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can´t get pass 200FSB! carlo75 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 3rd February, 2005 07:29 PM
A1/c1 200fsb garikfox EPoX MotherBoards 3 8th May, 2003 09:56 AM
Ok, that's it.. can't hit 200FSB -- my solution! magnux EPoX MotherBoards 37 12th January, 2003 07:34 AM
trying to run 200FSB alpha22555 EPoX MotherBoards 5 28th December, 2002 03:13 PM
how do get 200fsb radixvir2 EPoX MotherBoards 3 15th December, 2002 02:54 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0