AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th May, 2005, 04:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 171
Send a message via ICQ to BarrySWE Send a message via MSN to BarrySWE

Venice vs Winchester CPU "MEMORY"???

Yes, i have an Epox EP-9NDA3+
but with 4*512MB i can't run at 400MHZ only 333MHZ..
but if i change to a VENICE CPU, can i use 400MHZ on memory then?
Is the memory controller better with venice?
__________________
| Antec PlusView 1000AMG | OCZ Modsteam 520W | Epox 9npa+ Ultra rev 1.1| AMD64 3800+ (venice) + TT Silent boost K8 | G.Skills 2*1024MB | Gainward 7800GT | 36GB WD Raptor S-ATA 8MB cache | 500GB Hitachi S-ATA II 16MB Cache NCQ | Creative SB X-Fi XtremeMusic | ND-3520A | | Logitech MX518 + UltraX Flat keyboard | LG L1915S 19" TFT 12ms |
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th May, 2005, 04:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 73

I may be wrong but I beleive that that has to do with your mobo and changing your CPU will not make a difference.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th May, 2005, 04:53 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
AMD engineers promised to eliminate this problem in the new Venice core and they did keep their word. Athlon 64 processors based on Venice can work with four single-side DDR400 SDRAM modules without any limitations, and if there are double-side DDR400 SDRAM DIMMs installed, they can work at 400MHz with 2T timing.
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu...-venice_3.html
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th May, 2005, 05:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 73

Well as usual I was wrong
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th May, 2005, 05:10 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Some Venice CPu's will not run this, however, while some will run 1t. Ther is also a coldbug...so the temp sensor is shoddy as well.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th May, 2005, 05:19 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Quote:
Originally Posted by poly15
Well as usual I was wrong
Easy mistake to make though. The Athlon64 is differant than other processors. Amd included the memory controller on the die it's self, which is probably one of the best advances since L2 cache was moved to the die. It allows very low latency memory access, and benefits bandiwdth as well, unlike intel who's FSB has the same bandiwdth as the memory is capable of or less, AMD has the memory channels, and the HT bus, putting it in a very comfortable position as far as bandwidth is concerned.
Of course it is not without downsides, and one being reliability with certain configurations, especially involving double sided dimms and large amounts of memory
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"AMD: Bringing "Torrenza" and "Fusion" Together" Daniel ~ AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 20th March, 2007 02:59 AM
Latest ATI "R600," "R610" and "R630" details danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 9th January, 2007 10:44 AM
"30 times the performance of current memory technology said Samsung" Daniel ~ General Hardware Discussion 8 12th September, 2006 06:28 PM
Why does "faster" PC have lower Sandra memory scores? TrevorS AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 6th June, 2005 06:58 AM
"World’s Fastest GeForce4 Ti4200: 308MHz Chip and 708MHz Memory!" beerman Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 9 20th June, 2002 07:44 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0