AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th May, 2005, 09:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2005
Location: Prattsville NY USA
Posts: 9

Angry EP-8RGMI died changing the FSB

Right when you reboot and the screen says "updating do not turn off"

Now I get nothing. What a crappy way to design a board.

Is there a way to recover?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th May, 2005, 10:02 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Have you tried clearing the CMOS?
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2005, 12:39 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

were you flashing the bios??

IF yes, a hot swap of the bios chip should do it... Get a replacement bios, or borrow one for the procedure.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2005, 10:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 35

I don't think it's a problem with the design of the board more the design of the nForce2 chipset and the way it stores CMOS settings. I don't know how much truth there is in this but it has been said that the CMOS doesn't have sufficient space to store all of the data for the nForce2 so it uses part of the BIOS chip as well. If you set an invalid FSB speed (i.e. one that your hardware isn't capable of) it will fail to write the CMOS settings and you end up with a corrupt BIOS.

It may be that it's not actually corrupt but that the FSB data is stored on the BIOS chip, and so resetting the CMOS doesn't clear this (and so you're stuck with the high FSB). If your board has a 100MHz FSB override jumper, you may be able to recover, else you will need a new BIOS chip (or hot flash).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2005, 10:35 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

The issue is that certain parameters have to be set on the chipset before the CPU is up and running. This means storing them in the flash instead of the CMOS. Settings in the CMOS are good for when the CPU is up and running though.

It has been the Achilles’ heel for the nForce 2 chipset. Newer BIOSes are better at avoiding it. Older BIOSes tend to kill themselves, especially if you attempt to write to them when already overclocked.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2005, 03:23 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

What a terrible board design and BIOS - the same modules as the 8RDA+ - no wonder we sold so few.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2005, 03:57 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

LOL
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2005, 05:05 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
What a terrible board design and BIOS - the same modules as the 8RDA+ - no wonder we sold so few.
I was looking for a long time to have the opportunity to say a few words to ET.

First. I am very upset because I have an old 8RDA+ REV1 that doesn't want to go. I figure it's time to go A64 now. I saw 5 caps looking ugly and replace them in hope that somehow the board will die. Not only that it didn't but now I can go to 200*11, before I could only go to 200*10. So my Barton 2500 is running now @ 2200Mhz and show as XP 3200. When I got the board (3 years ago I think) my friend had a new Abit NF7s2 that in it's first day goes dead just when the ugly message turn in. I wish nvidia would have done something 4 us not to see that message. MAny years has passed by the way and many stupid and careless settings my 8RDA had seen and is still running like heaven !!!
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2005, 08:34 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

8rda's are great boards ive had 2, a rev 1 that somehow I killed the onboard sound when I did the vdd mod and a rev 2.2 which I still use. Very stable and reliable
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 16th May, 2005, 09:35 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

It is not only a problem on the 8rda boards. A friend of mine owns an Asus A7N8X deluxe. He had to do a hotflash here (my brother has the same board) because he had tried to set an fsb that failed. It may have a bad bios implementation but that does not mean it is a bad board. Though tbh i would have never bought a board from a company that would have had these bad caps.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dying 8rgmi SteveI EPoX MotherBoards 6 3rd November, 2004 01:10 AM
ET: EP-8RGMI vs EP-8RGM2 Jarrv EPoX MotherBoards 10 28th December, 2003 02:05 PM
Ep-8rgmi EVO EPoX MotherBoards 3 1st September, 2003 09:12 PM
8RGMI won't start up wizz CRASHED! 6 25th August, 2003 07:27 AM
8rgmi (??) SteveI EPoX MotherBoards 11 18th August, 2003 01:18 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0