AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2005, 05:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ATX!
Posts: 50

Hello! First post, about to build an Epox EP-9NDA3J...have some questions

Hello! Been lurking here for about a week or so trying to answer my own questions, and have found lots of good info about what to expect with my upcoming install. Have a few questions still, and if anyone can offer some input that would be great!

First off: I'm an armchair overclocker, i've been building computers for about 10 years now so I am fairly aware of what I am doing. ( most of the time )

Bought an Epox mobo because it was dirt cheap, and I have built plenty of epox based systems in years gone by, mostly back in the "duron age" of AMD proccessors. In the "xp era" of amd computing, all the systems I built were nforce2 chipsets and I have been very very pleased with them. So when I saw epox had an nforce3 chipset, and was super cheap, it was a slam dunk as to what to buy.

Parts from my current rig I would like to transfer over: Corsair CMX512-3200C2 - 2 sticks

X800 XL Agp card

Antec 550w TruePower (its about 2 years old)

And of course various hd's and dvd/cd drives.

Anyway, on with the questions:

Is my ram going to be decent to overclock this system? I havent built a single A64 system yet so the process will be new to me. I've read up on it so I have an idea of how it should work, but im getting mixed reviews on the web about real life experiances.

What about this powersupply? I believe it is suffecient for what i'll be doing here, but i'm not sure if it has the additional power connector that this motherboard requires. (and it IS a requirement that it be connected, right?) Obviously i'll find out when I tear the system down but I figured I might as well ask.

Installing the OS: I'll be doing a clean install on my Segate 160 gig SATA drive.
-First of all, if I get a mobo with an older bios revision, will I need to flash the bios in order for the motherboard to recognize the Venice +3200 that i'll be putting in? (I hope not, that creates a whole new set of pains in the butt)
-Assuming I install windows 2k, will I need a floppy disk to install SATA drivers to get it to work? Or will win2k automatically detect it?
-Does this motherboard work with Win64?


Well thats all I've got for the moment. Thanks in advance!
__________________
Gigabyte K8NS Ultra-939
Venice +3200 313x9
512x2 corsairXL pc3200 @ 254 mhz 2.5 3 3 5
x800xl
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2005, 05:49 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

You'll need to use the 4-pin power connector, the one which has the pins arranged in a square configuration. I'd imagine that your PSU would have this.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2005, 05:54 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

Does the PSU have the 12V P4 connector? if so then that PSU is more than up to the task and then some.
The ram won't prevent you overclocking, as it's easy enough to limit the memory speed while still increasing the bus speed, don't know how much the memory it self will overclock, but if it's DDR400 CL2 then it can probably handle a decent overclock with some extra voltage

You will probably need a floppy for the sata drivers, unless you have a slipstreamed install disk with the latest service packs and drivers
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2005, 05:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ATX!
Posts: 50

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamGarside
Does the PSU have the 12V P4 connector? if so then that PSU is more than up to the task and then some.
The ram won't prevent you overclocking, as it's easy enough to limit the memory speed while still increasing the bus speed, don't know how much the memory it self will overclock, but if it's DDR400 CL2 then it can probably handle a decent overclock with some extra voltage

You will probably need a floppy for the sata drivers, unless you have a slipstreamed install disk with the latest service packs and drivers
As far as the powersupply connector, I dont remember, i'll have to check, I just figured i'd ask

As it relates to overclocking....so am I to understand I can still possibly get a nice overclock with my setup, but if I was to use some ram that can hit higher speeds I would be able to run it at a higher frequency and gain speed via a larger memory bandwidth?
__________________
Gigabyte K8NS Ultra-939
Venice +3200 313x9
512x2 corsairXL pc3200 @ 254 mhz 2.5 3 3 5
x800xl
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2005, 06:04 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

For that CMX, it's BH-6, Double sided. 2-3-3-6 to 220mhz avg, 2.65v, not much more @ 2.8v. Bh-6 does not seem to like the high volts that some other winbond based chips like, but they will run 2-2-2-5 @ 3.2v. Try 2.5-3-3-8.w/trc of 12, and trfc of 22.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2005, 06:16 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

You may be best doing as I do with similar modules. I'm using the 166 divider and maxing the CPU core speed.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2005, 06:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ATX!
Posts: 50

what generally provides better benchmarks? Maxed core or maxed memory? With the nforce2 I was always under the impression that memory bandwidth = king (for gaming at least )
__________________
Gigabyte K8NS Ultra-939
Venice +3200 313x9
512x2 corsairXL pc3200 @ 254 mhz 2.5 3 3 5
x800xl
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2005, 06:42 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

you gotta balance both. the timings i posted should let you get the mex outta that mem, but don't expect too much from it. it WILL perform better than it did on the AXP platfrom, thanks to the new memory controller.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2005, 06:45 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I haven't bothered making benchmark comparisons between using a 166 divider and running at 1:1. At 1:1 I have to run at a lower core speed. Perhaps, I will invest in some faster modules in due course, so that I can get the best of both worlds.

Anyhow, running with 166 divider is much faster and smoother, for me, in games. Noticeably so.

The A64's don't take an extra performance hit in the way the XP's do when using memory dividers.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2005, 07:00 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

You gotta balnce both, but when the chips are down for most things cpu performance is king, just look at the Pentium M with it's single chanel DDR333, but there comes a point where memory througput is the limit for certain apps
If you take the differance between socket 754 and 939, 939 has double the memory bandiwdth, but cpu's of equal ratings are only 200mhz apart

Your memory won't limit the clock speed the cpu can reach
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2005, 07:04 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Yep MHZ wins. 1:1 you won't max out with the mem, most likely, with default multi.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2005, 11:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ATX!
Posts: 50



Total System Failure
__________________
Gigabyte K8NS Ultra-939
Venice +3200 313x9
512x2 corsairXL pc3200 @ 254 mhz 2.5 3 3 5
x800xl
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking Bible: Post your comments/questions here! MrSeanKon OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 75 21st January, 2015 04:20 AM
EP-9NDA3J/+: some questions before buy it... Wales EPoX MotherBoards 45 23rd July, 2005 12:29 PM
Epox 9NDA3J poly15 EPoX MotherBoards 8 30th June, 2005 07:04 PM
XP-90 Install on 9NDA3J questions Mike abcd EPoX MotherBoards 6 6th March, 2005 12:14 AM
i need a place to post some questions XeroHouR Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 67 28th December, 2004 03:30 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0