AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 19th May, 2005, 05:41 PM

Hello! First post, about to build an Epox EP-9NDA3J...have some questions

Hello! Been lurking here for about a week or so trying to answer my own questions, and have found lots of good info about what to expect with my upcoming install. Have a few questions still, and if anyone can offer some input that would be great!

First off: I'm an armchair overclocker, i've been building computers for about 10 years now so I am fairly aware of what I am doing. ( most of the time )

Bought an Epox mobo because it was dirt cheap, and I have built plenty of epox based systems in years gone by, mostly back in the "duron age" of AMD proccessors. In the "xp era" of amd computing, all the systems I built were nforce2 chipsets and I have been very very pleased with them. So when I saw epox had an nforce3 chipset, and was super cheap, it was a slam dunk as to what to buy.

Parts from my current rig I would like to transfer over: Corsair CMX512-3200C2 - 2 sticks

X800 XL Agp card

Antec 550w TruePower (its about 2 years old)

And of course various hd's and dvd/cd drives.

Anyway, on with the questions:

Is my ram going to be decent to overclock this system? I havent built a single A64 system yet so the process will be new to me. I've read up on it so I have an idea of how it should work, but im getting mixed reviews on the web about real life experiances.

What about this powersupply? I believe it is suffecient for what i'll be doing here, but i'm not sure if it has the additional power connector that this motherboard requires. (and it IS a requirement that it be connected, right?) Obviously i'll find out when I tear the system down but I figured I might as well ask.