AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th May, 2005, 05:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6

Epox 9npa+Ultra ram problems

Ok, so heres the deal. I just got the 9npa and at first it wouldn't even boot. SO I thought it was my psu because it was a 20 pin. But I took the mobo out of the case and it will turn on now.

But, I am getting a C1h error. So I swap some ram out. I have a 256 pc 2700 stick, a 256 pc 2100 stick, and a CORSAIR ValueSelect 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) stick. Now with the 2 256 meg sticks in the first 2 slots it will boot. If I try to stick the 512 meg in the 3rd or 4th slot I get the error again. So I thought the 512 meg stick was bad but it does the same with a 128meg stick. I tried different combinations and the when the 512 stick is in the 3rd slot and a 256 is in the first it will boot. No other way though. Is my mobo messed up, or is it the ram?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th May, 2005, 05:20 PM
rxu rxu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 125

In my opinion, there is no way for this to be up to the mobo. I think it is exactly because you are using 3 different types of memory!

Try to change it to the 2x512 Mb of one memory type and manufacturer, and I think the things will be better for you
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th May, 2005, 05:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by rxu
In my opinion, there is no way for this to be up to the mobo. I think it is exactly because you are using 3 different types of memory!

Try to change it to the 2x512 Mb of one memory type and manufacturer, and I think the things will be better for you
If you are sure, I will do that. I can live with 712 or whatever for now, just as long as it isn't a mobo problem.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th May, 2005, 06:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Caaardiff
Posts: 27

What was happening at first when you couldnt get it to boot up at all. Any LED's on?
I have posted my problem on another thread, cant get it to boot, in or out of the case. Stays at FF, and the CPU led doesnt light, the chipset and Ram led's are though and all fans, cpu, graphic card and case fan. I replaced my old psu to, to a 24pin no change though. My Ram is a Dual channel Corsair matched pair, 2x 512MB, i only have one other sitck in this computer which is a 512Mb crucial , all DDR400.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th May, 2005, 09:20 PM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

It's the RAM for sure. My board won't boot with my Corsair in DIMMs 1&2, but is blazing along with them in 3&4. It's vice-versa with the Patriot TCCD sticks, no go in 3&4 but was fine in 1&2. Do yourself a HUGE favor and get some new RAM to put in that board, Gig kits are not that expensive anymore. You can get a Gig of Mushkin value for $85 and it works great. Got one for my wifes rig.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 31st May, 2005, 12:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayT78
What was happening at first when you couldnt get it to boot up at all. Any LED's on?
I have posted my problem on another thread, cant get it to boot, in or out of the case. Stays at FF, and the CPU led doesnt light, the chipset and Ram led's are though and all fans, cpu, graphic card and case fan. I replaced my old psu to, to a 24pin no change though. My Ram is a Dual channel Corsair matched pair, 2x 512MB, i only have one other sitck in this computer which is a 512Mb crucial , all DDR400.
The cpu led would turn on, but it wouldn't turn on. I took it out of the case and just pluged the power supply and video card in. It booted so i figured it was a short with the case. I put a new backplate in, and it fixed it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 31st May, 2005, 10:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Caaardiff
Posts: 27

Ok thanks Icej, its got to be the motherboard then. Hopefully my CPU is ok though, will be well annoyed if its not. I cant get any light on the Cpu LED, with the cpu in or out, in or out of the case. I hope i hear about my RMA soon, lol!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9NPA+ Ultra PCI problems MarcLister EPoX MotherBoards 11 3rd February, 2006 05:13 AM
Epox 9NPA+ SLI big problems! VIPER_HWS EPoX MotherBoards 14 2nd January, 2006 11:59 AM
Epox 9NPA+ Ultra Problems Nomad EPoX MotherBoards 12 12th November, 2005 12:37 AM
Epox 9npa+ problems? VoK EPoX MotherBoards 14 20th August, 2005 10:43 PM
3000+ Winchester & Epox 9NPA+ Ultra O/C problems SS21CA AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 23rd March, 2005 04:06 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:55 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0