AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2005, 10:37 AM
Jay T's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Lake District, UK
Posts: 331

Question Problem running 1T, Possible bios problem?

Hi, My board is otherwise perfect & this is the last hurdle I need to overcome. Here are my observations:

4 x 512MB BH5 runs 200MHZ 2t (as it should)
2 x 512MB BH5 runs 200MHZ 1t (according to the bios, but A64 tweaker shows 2T)

2 x 1024 runs 200 MHZ 2t fine, (if you force 1T in the bios the memory runs at 166 MHZ or it simply freezes at post)

Stock settings are used for the test & default memory timings. Bear in mind I'm using a venice A64 & I'm aware the memory controller is on the CPU. But, I've tested both the BH5 & the 1GB Mushkin kit on another Nforce 4 board with the same Venice CPU & both work at 200MHZ 1T. Therefore, this must be an issue with the motherboard. Any ideas? could this be a bios issue?

Cheers
Jamie
__________________
Epox 9NPA+ SLI
Venice 3200 @ 9 x 300
2 x 1024MB Mushkin blueline 5,2,3,2.0 (2t )
Raptor raid
2 x SATA 300GB Maxtor HDD's
Enermax 600W Noisetaker PSU
Geforce 6800GT
Audigy 2.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2005, 11:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 284

Have a look at this thread ET: 9nda3j & TCCD 1T problem
__________________
EP-8KDA3J, 3000+ newcastle CG (230x10), 2 x 512 MB Ballistix, Audigy 2, Radeon 9800pro, CNPS7000A-AlCu cpu cooler, Tagan 480W PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2005, 03:46 PM
Jay T's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Lake District, UK
Posts: 331

Thank you for the link my friend. I didn't realise that this was a common problem. Well it looks like its just tough luck. Never mind, the Fatality Abit NF4 board I had for a week was garbage. I think I'll stick with the Epox and wait in hope for a bios fix.
__________________
Epox 9NPA+ SLI
Venice 3200 @ 9 x 300
2 x 1024MB Mushkin blueline 5,2,3,2.0 (2t )
Raptor raid
2 x SATA 300GB Maxtor HDD's
Enermax 600W Noisetaker PSU
Geforce 6800GT
Audigy 2.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2005, 06:01 PM
m1mgd00's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 15

Question: Is it better to run at 200 mhz and 2T or 166 mhz and 1T?

I just set up my machine using an Epox 9NPA+ Ultra board with OCZ Dual 2GB (2x 1024) 3200 platinum DDR, and after forcing the BIOS to 1T and the stock speeds (2-3-2-5 at 2.6 volts), I noticed that it was booting up at 166 mhz (no errors in Memtest, though). I haven't yet tried forcing to 200 mhz, and after reading some of the problems other folks are having, I may not even bother. But I'm still not clear whether, from a performance standpoint, I'm better off leaving the BIOS at 1T and downspeeding to 166 mhz or easing back to 2T and letting the RAM fly at 200 mhz.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2005, 06:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 63

From the posts I've seen, it only seems to be an issue with the Venice cores and also happens on the Epox NF3 9NDA3 variants. There's been no indication that Epox has looked at it or plans too :-(

Definitely took away any temptation to upgrade my 3000+ winnie...

Mike
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2005, 06:14 PM
Jay T's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Lake District, UK
Posts: 331

Quote:
Question: Is it better to run at 200 mhz and 2T or 166 mhz and 1T?

Hi, your OCZ memory uses the same infineon ic's as my Mushkin apparently. The only way to check to see which option is the fastest is to test it. I've haven't tested it but I decided to go with 200 MHz at 2t in the end.

Apparently using 2t instead of 1t loses you around 20% memory bandwidth which results in a frame rate drop of about 4% in games. I really think this board just doesnt like 1t & in my opinion you will have a more stable system running 200MHz at 2t. Maybe epox are trying to fix this in the bios or maybe they know it can't be fixed. Either way they are keeping their lips sealed.
__________________
Epox 9NPA+ SLI
Venice 3200 @ 9 x 300
2 x 1024MB Mushkin blueline 5,2,3,2.0 (2t )
Raptor raid
2 x SATA 300GB Maxtor HDD's
Enermax 600W Noisetaker PSU
Geforce 6800GT
Audigy 2.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2005, 06:30 PM
m1mgd00's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 15

Jay T, thanks for info. It looks like the ~20% benefit of moving from 2T to 1T is negated by the ~20% drop in RAM speeds from 200 mhz to 166 mhz. Since I'm concerned about stability first, I think I'll use 2T / 200 mhz as well.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2005, 07:12 PM
Apap's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Floriduh
Posts: 55

Here's my solution to the 2T problem.

Overclock the s#%t out of it!

Still working on timings though.

Apap
__________________
Epox 9NDA3J
Athlon 64 3200 Venice
Thermalright XP90 & Vantec Tornado (howler)
2x512 Corsair CMX PC3200xl TCCDs w Brainpower v1.2
2x Maxtor 80gig 8m cache IDE Raid 0
Radeon X800 xl 256mg
Antec 400w PSU in Aluminum Midtower case
4 80mm case fans & fan speed controller
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd August, 2005, 08:28 PM
jimbobaggies's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Torbay, UK. The English Riviera!
Posts: 432
Send a message via ICQ to jimbobaggies Send a message via MSN to jimbobaggies Send a message via Yahoo to jimbobaggies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apap
Here's my solution to the 2T problem.

Overclock the s#%t out of it!

Still working on timings though.

Apap

__________________

DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D [BIOS N4LD406]
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Zalman CNPS8700 LED Cooler
OCZ (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Platinum Series EL-DDR [2-3-2-5]
XFX GeForce 7800GT Extreme LED Edition [480/1200]
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Samsung CDDVDW SH-S203B
Antec Sonata - TruePower 2.0 550W
Samsung SyncMaster 172x


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2005, 11:23 PM
Robin B's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Norway
Posts: 115

To blow a little light on the 1T issue.


Hello,

1T and 2T Command Rate, also known as CPC or Command Per Clock, is a motherboard timing not a memory timing. 1T/2T commands indicate how the system clocks are allocating the timings of a command to the system. 1T = 1 clock cycle and 2T = 2 clock cycles.

On average there may be a performance difference in between 7-10% (depending on who you talk to, platform being run, benchmark used, etc)

1T/2T Command Rates can be setup differently based on manufacture, motherboard, processor type (Intel Vs. AMD) etc. At higher speeds, drivers, board layouts, chipset requirements all can add up to the system performance overall. Changing the 1T to a 2T command rate can stabilize the system if issues arise.

Since 1T-2T command rates are not a memory specification, Crucial does not list this as part of our overall module specification.


THOMAS THOR
Technical Support Analyst
Tel: (800) 336-8896
Tel: (208) 363-5790 (outside US & Canada)
Fax: (208) 363-5501
mailto:crucial.support@micron.com
__________________
CM-Stalker
Amd 64 SD 3700+
WhiteWater
Black ice Extreme II 4x Titan 120mm
1024MB TWINX-4400C25
Epox 9NDA3+
Mist Psu 550W
POV 6800GT 425/1150
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bios problem JP! EPoX MotherBoards 6 14th February, 2003 06:26 PM
Problem running NFS Porsche 2000 on Epox 8RDA+ zakelwe EPoX MotherBoards 12 12th January, 2003 11:50 PM
Bios Problem mastering3d EPoX MotherBoards 2 3rd October, 2002 01:56 PM
Problem with New Bios DazzleW EPoX MotherBoards 4 20th December, 2001 12:52 PM
Problem with running as service. dimmreaper ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 5 19th November, 2001 05:54 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0