AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2005, 04:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2005
Posts: 5

Unhappy EP-9NDA3+ SATA Raid Boot problem.

Ok, this is kind of a freaky problem that I ran into once before with this board, the owner recently reset the bios and it reared its fugly head again, and I'll be damned if I can figure out how to get around it again.

Epox EP-9NDA3+
Athlon 64 3500+
1 GB Corsair PC 4000
2x WD Raptor 36 GB drives in ports 1/2 (nvraid instead of the marvell) system drive
1x cd burner IDE
1x dvd burer IDE
2x WD 160 GB drives (non raid) on IDE

After resetting the bios and reinstalling windows, if he doesn't have a bootable CD rom such as the XP CD in one of the optical drives, the system will come up with a BOOT DISK FAILURE. message, now this happens even though the CD/DVD drives are not even in the boot sequence, IE 1st boot device is set to hard drive, with all other boot devices disabled, it will still look for a bootable CD first and then go to the raided raptors, if no bootable CD is in the optical drives then the BOOT DISK FAILURE message pops up.

When I setup the system back in febuary I believe it had something to do with putting the floppy drive in the boot sequence to delay the bios detection of the raided raptors, but I don't recall exactly what I did to get around the problem.

Only reason I don't go over to his place to fix it is he lives 30 miles away now so trying to do it from a distance.

TIA for any help
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2005, 10:16 AM
jimbobaggies's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Torbay, UK. The English Riviera!
Posts: 432
Send a message via ICQ to jimbobaggies Send a message via MSN to jimbobaggies Send a message via Yahoo to jimbobaggies

I have a S-ATA drive with my OS installed on, and an IDE drive for saving files to.
In the Standard CMOS Features page of the BIOS, if I have the IDE drive set to Auto detect, the system tries to boot off it, so I select it to off... this is even after going in and selecting first boot device as my S-ATA drive in the BIOS.
__________________

DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D [BIOS N4LD406]
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Zalman CNPS8700 LED Cooler
OCZ (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Platinum Series EL-DDR [2-3-2-5]
XFX GeForce 7800GT Extreme LED Edition [480/1200]
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Samsung CDDVDW SH-S203B
Antec Sonata - TruePower 2.0 550W
Samsung SyncMaster 172x


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2005, 05:45 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

go into bios -> advanced bios features -> harddisk boot priority
the hdd you want to boot from has to be the first
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2005, 08:32 PM
jimbobaggies's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Torbay, UK. The English Riviera!
Posts: 432
Send a message via ICQ to jimbobaggies Send a message via MSN to jimbobaggies Send a message via Yahoo to jimbobaggies

Quote:
Originally Posted by gedon
go into bios -> advanced bios features -> harddisk boot priority
the hdd you want to boot from has to be the first
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbobaggies
...this is even after going in and selecting first boot device as my S-ATA drive in the BIOS.
is that aimed at my post??
__________________

DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D [BIOS N4LD406]
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Zalman CNPS8700 LED Cooler
OCZ (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Platinum Series EL-DDR [2-3-2-5]
XFX GeForce 7800GT Extreme LED Edition [480/1200]
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Samsung CDDVDW SH-S203B
Antec Sonata - TruePower 2.0 550W
Samsung SyncMaster 172x


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2005, 09:27 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

i mean Sniper_Merc
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2005, 01:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2005
Posts: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by gedon
go into bios -> advanced bios features -> harddisk boot priority
the hdd you want to boot from has to be the first

It is, it's set to Nvidia Stripe for the raided raptors, despite this fact, even with all other boot devices set to disabled except for first boot device, set to hard disk, it will still try to go to the CD rom to boot off of first, and without a bootable cd in that drive it will come up with a boot disk failure.

If there is a bootable disk in one of the cd/dvd drives it will try to boot from that first, IE with xp cd it gives message "press any key to boot from CD" if you don't hit any keys it will then continue on and boot from the NV stripe.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2005, 09:31 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

From guesstimate, you might need to set the system up to "Boot from other device" first. The nVRAID BIOS appears as a seperate adaptor as far as the BIOS is concerned, in the same way SCSI cards appear as a seperate adaptor.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2005, 10:07 AM
jimbobaggies's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Torbay, UK. The English Riviera!
Posts: 432
Send a message via ICQ to jimbobaggies Send a message via MSN to jimbobaggies Send a message via Yahoo to jimbobaggies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
From guesstimate, you might need to set the system up to "Boot from other device" first. The nVRAID BIOS appears as a seperate adaptor as far as the BIOS is concerned, in the same way SCSI cards appear as a seperate adaptor.
That sounds reasonable, btw Sniper_Merc, did you try what I said in my original post??
Your problem sounds exactly the same as mine was until I disabled the AUTO detect of the IDE drive in the "Standard CMOS Features" page of the BIOS.

I was actually wondering why this happens, even when the first boot device is set as my S-ATA drive, it still trys to boot from the IDE drive if it is AUTO detected in the BIOS... My mate has a a64 board of different brand name, and it does exactly the same, but it has a different BIOS make...
__________________

DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D [BIOS N4LD406]
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Zalman CNPS8700 LED Cooler
OCZ (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Platinum Series EL-DDR [2-3-2-5]
XFX GeForce 7800GT Extreme LED Edition [480/1200]
Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache
Samsung CDDVDW SH-S203B
Antec Sonata - TruePower 2.0 550W
Samsung SyncMaster 172x


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2005, 02:19 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

Sniper_Merc
IDE Function Setup
IDE Raid: Enabled
what are your settings for the next 8 fields (Enabled / Disabled )
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2005, 05:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2005
Posts: 5

Thanks for the suggestions all, I have to wait for tonight when the owner of the system gets off work before they can be tried but I will send him a link to the forum here.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 6th September, 2005, 06:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2005
Posts: 5

Well, he tried all the suggestions without any luck so far

Guess I'm just going to have to make the trek out to his place soon to fix it once and for all.

I hate computers ;(
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 17th September, 2005, 12:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2005
Posts: 1

Exclamation

After experiencing this problem myself, and seeing lots of people on forums who have it and who also didn't find a solution: here it is.
I experienced the same problem while installing my mobo (asus a8n-sli with dual SATA raptors and three ide drives attached).
The problem stems from the windows installation. Windows will install perfectly when you supply it with the SATA drivers, BUT due to a bug, it places the necessary bootfiles not on your SATA drives, but on your first IDE drive (generally the master drive of IDE channel 1).

The solution to not need a windows xp bootcdrom while booting, is in this case:
After you installed windows on your SATA disks, boot from windows install cd into the installer program, AFTER DISCONNECTING ALL IDE DRIVES. Supply windows (hit F6 when asked) with the SATA drivers. Go into Recovery Console.
copy ntdetect.com and ntldr from your cdrom (in directory i386) to your SATA disk. If necessary make them system and hidden again (attrib +hs ntldr and attrib +hs ntdetect.com)
Then do fixboot (command available in recovery console) and (i don't know if this step is necessary) fixmbr (when you execute these commands make sure you are in the root of your SATA disk).

Now all that remains is to generate a correct boot.ini file (if there is already one on your SATA disk, delete it (you might need attrib again to change file characteristics).
bootcfg /rebuild

this will give something like:
Total Identified Windows Installs: 1

[1] C:\Windows
Add installation to boot list? (Yes/No/All):
Enter Load Identifier: (Custom description for an operating system loading from the Boot menu) : Windows XP Pro
Enter Operating System Load Options: /fastdetect

if you did all this, you now have a good-to-go bootable SATA disk. Turn off your pc, & remove your windows cd. Reboot and it should be booting from the SATA disk (make sure in your bios it is set to boot from the SATA disk).
You can then reconnect your IDE drives and the problem will be solved.

Hope this helps out...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 18th September, 2005, 03:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2005
Posts: 5

Talking It's fixed :)

Using the above method didn't quite work however it did make me realize that when I setup the system back in febuary that I had installed the raptors in RAID 0 before I had installed any of the IDE hard drives.

The problem with the method above was that when we tried the fixboot command it came back with an error saying invalid disk, note that fixmbr worked but not fixboot, nothing we tried could get around it so we reinstalled XP without the IDE drives hooked up and it worked perfectly.

Thanks for all the help, this was a goofy one to try and figure out but now we know for the next time
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS A7N8X-XE no boot with two non-RAID SATA drives problem Baek AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 8th March, 2006 01:20 AM
8KRA2+ SATA/RAID (boot problem solving part.2) henryha EPoX MotherBoards 1 2nd December, 2003 03:11 PM
8KRA2+ SATA/RAID boot problem henryha EPoX MotherBoards 0 24th November, 2003 10:47 AM
BooT Booting problem 8KRA2+ SATA-Raid and PATA-Raid together; not able to boot SATA.. DaF EPoX MotherBoards 0 1st October, 2003 09:20 PM
4pea+ hangs on boot using SATA RAID PSUGorilla EPoX MotherBoards 2 13th May, 2003 12:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0