AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2005, 07:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 2

9NPA+ ultra athlon 64 x2 trouble

Greetings chaps,

Upgraded to this board (rev1.1) and an Athlon 64 x2 3800 retail with an antec sonataII case w/ 480w psu. Darn thing wont post, just getting ff error on the code 80 LED. The ledion for CPU power remains off, Dimm and Chipset light up, all fans run indefinitely. I'm hoping that this is due to a compatibility problem between cpu and mobo but cant find any indication after exhaustive searching as to whether I should be able to post into Bios at least with this combination. I'm getting an Athlon 64 venice 3500 on monday to test it out and flash the latest bios but was hoping to deliver this machine tonight. Any ideas?

Have tried:

Breadboard install with different psu, ram and graphics card.
Above with reseated/pasted CPU

System:

Epox 9NPA+ Ultra
Athlon 64 x2 3800+
1gb Corsair value select pc3200
XFX PCI-E graphics
Antec sonata II 480w
maxtor 200gb IDE
NEC dvdrw
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2005, 08:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Posts: 2

A solution???

Had a eureka moment...well... desparately scrabbling for ideas, I hooked up an old 400w generic 20 pin atx power supply and we're booting into the bios fine. The sonata's psu in 20 pin mode (you unclip four connectors at the end of the plug) doesnt work. Any ideas as to whether it's safe to run the system off the 20 pin psu? Should I rma the antec psu? Can anyone recommend a 24 pin PSU that will work?

Cheers,

Brian
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2005, 01:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2005
Posts: 2

i have almost identical system:

3800x2
epox npa9+ ultra(5914 bios)
xfx 7800gt
antec sonata(rev 1,380w psu)
samsung sata2
twinmos pc3200,2x512-2x256

i was using the standard psu in the beginning,with a 20->24 pin adapter,worked okay but did'nt overclock very well(2400@240 fsb).
then i bought a tagan 480w psu instead and got up to 2600(260 fsb)with 1,55 vcore-my cheap ram doesnt like any higher...

what i am trying to say is that your psu must be defective when i could boot just fine with my 380w supply,assuming you did not forget to connect something.

i read somewhere that using a 20 pin psu with 24 pin mb might lead to premature failure in the psu due to the load on one of the rails beeing to high(when using an adapter like i did)that is why i changed mine.

any well known psu with sufficient amps will do,your 480w antec should run that setup easily.
cheers...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2005, 06:04 PM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

I have seen an aweful lot of problems with Antec PSUs lately. Sad that a few years ago I would recommend them, but lately I usually tell people to buy something other than Antec.
I had major problems with a 430w Truepower, it just wouldn't work with several boards. Even my cheaper Thermaltake 480w worked better. For my systems, I will always use Enermax or Sparkle/Fortron.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2005, 06:01 PM
nerius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Lund, sweden
Posts: 117

Im about to buy a 9NPA+Ultra and a Athlon 64 X2 4400+ S939 Dual Core CPU with this board, but dont know what bios version that will be on the board when i buy it, so im wondering if anybody know if will this boot up so i can flash the bios to the latest compatible x2 bios?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2005, 10:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2005
Posts: 2

yes it will,or mine did anyway-it just did not recognice the cpu correctly.
the first time i flashed with a diskette,second time(to my current bios)i used magicbios and flashed from windows(scary but worked like a charm...)
if i recall correctly it listed my cpu as "unknown something cpu"@2000mhz before the flash.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2005, 11:23 PM
multisync666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 5

I agree with Spooky have had 2 failures with Antec PSU's before using Akasa.Up until then i had always used Antec
__________________
Antec P160 Case
Akasa Ultra Quiet 460W Paxpower
Epox EP-9NPA+ Ultra
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
Akasa AK-913 EVO 33 Direct HeatPipe CPU Heatsink
Corsair 1GB DDR XMS3200C2PT TwinX 2/512
Leadtek GeForce PCX6600 GT 128MB DDR
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 4 Pro
2/Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 9 250GB
NEC 2500 DVD RW
Pioneer DVD115
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2005, 10:35 AM
nerius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Lund, sweden
Posts: 117

Allright thanks... then i can only hope it will work when i get the stuff.
I see all this bad things about Antec PSU. i have a antec psu. Truepower 550 w. I sure do hope that will work also, cause its the only psu i've got.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2005, 09:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 49

That truepower will work just fine. It's a monster, I don't think you should be worried.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2005, 09:31 AM
nerius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Lund, sweden
Posts: 117

Thanks dave for your reply.

Well my Truepower is about 2 years old now, so i am a bit worried.
but hopefully it will work.
But if it doesn't...
Do anyone know some good PSU's that works great with amd64 939 systems?
I've been looking at Hiper PSU 580W Type-R Modular.
I wonder if anyone know if that one will work fine?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2005, 12:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Posts: 49

the OCZ 520w is the best out there for nf4 systems.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2005, 04:22 AM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Sz
the OCZ 520w is the best out there for nf4 systems.
I wouldn't put an OCZ in my system. The OCZ is just a badge. The PSU is made by Topower, which is okay, but for my money I would pick up an Enermax, Sparkle/Fortron or even the newer Seasonic S12 series.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9NPA+SLI ---> Athlon 64 X2 6000+ rod97301 EPoX MotherBoards 4 25th April, 2007 03:09 AM
EpoX EP-9NPA Ultra vs EP-9NPA+ Ultra ? Kallikaa EPoX MotherBoards 6 27th January, 2006 07:35 AM
Anyone else having trouble with the New Epox 9NPa+ Bios that is out 07.28.05?? bozack EPoX MotherBoards 10 9th August, 2005 07:29 PM
Anyone else having trouble with the New Epox 9NPa+ Bios that is out 07.28.05?? bozack AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 6th August, 2005 06:35 PM
Dual Core BIOS - 9NPA+ SLI and 9NPA+ Ultra EPoX Tech EPoX MotherBoards 46 1st August, 2005 04:52 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0