AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2005, 02:42 PM
Paulio's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 24

9NDA3J Problem

Hey, this isnt an overclocking problem exactly as i havent overclocked my pc at all lol, but emailed EPoX as my vdimm voltage was going off on thunder probe.

They told me to download the latest bios, i couldnt get the magic flash to get the details for some reason so i went to the site and downloaded the latest bios .bin file (da3j5a14.bin) then i was told to load optimal settings, so i did, even though it didnt fix the first problem it caused another, at random times my mouse will suddenly lock up for a second or two, im not completely sure if the whole pc locks up i think its just the mouse at the moment,

do you know if this is a common problem with this bios version?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards Paul
__________________

Last edited by Paulio; 28th October, 2005 at 02:57 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2005, 02:58 AM
Paulio's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 24

i think ive found out the exact problem, its not only my mouse but anything USB (sorry forgot my mouse was usb) xp makes the normal unplug and plugging in noises when you connect something, but my usb items just seem to be randomly dissconnecting could this be something to do with the fact i have:

1x dvd-rom
1x dvd-rw
1x 120gb hdd
1x 160gb hdd
standard floppy drive
and about 3 cathode tubes, some el wire, and a led fan grill

on a 300w power supply

today i also went out and bought a cpu fan that is 120x120 (old one was 80x80) therefore might be drawing more power, oh and also the cpu is running at 42oC/107oCF peak so i shouldnt think its anything to do with the fan not cooling properly.

help greately recieved,

Thanks Paul
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2005, 03:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 94

That's a lot of hardware on a 300W power supply. You might want to try upgrading your PS. That PS may not be providing enough power to the USB.
__________________
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D @ 312 HT
Opteron 165 @ 2.8 Ghz (~1.33v)
2 X 1Gb Patriot PC3200 (2,3,2,5 1T)
EVGA 8800GTS
2 X 300 GB Maxtor SATA (RAID 0)
700W OCZ Gametream PS
X-Fi XtremeMusic
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2005, 03:38 PM
Paulio's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 24

i foulnd a site that calculates what power supply you need, i didnt manage to fit it all on and it said i needed a minimum of a 311 so i think i`ll pick up this: http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?...dID=&doy=29m10 (400w Xpower PSU) would this do the trick?

Thanks Paul
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2005, 03:44 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I would go for a better known brand.

Similar in price, for example:
http://www.overclock.co.uk/customer/...roductid=17907
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2005, 03:57 PM
Paulio's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 24

the only reason i was going to do with the other is i can go into a shop and get it off the shelf as there is a store near me and also their 500w psu is on promotion at 29.99, but i`ll have to get the extra together for the tagan one, if it makes that much difference? i appreciate the help, and so does my burning psu lol

Thanks, Paul
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2005, 05:11 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I'm not familiar with x-power psu's, so I can't say whether it is any good or not.

For the system you have PSU's which cost about £50 or more are best. The board is quite sensitive to poor power.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2005, 06:56 PM
Paulio's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 24

whats antec like? im willing to pay a little more if i can get one in store and take it away, ive found one for 79.99 its 500w:

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?...7257&doy=29m10

ive used antec for case fans etc.. in the past just usure what their power supplys are like

Thanks Paul
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2005, 07:04 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Antec are fine. One of my PSU's is an Antec.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2005, 07:27 PM
Paulio's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 24

ok, thanks for that, i`ll have to get it, its really annoying lol
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2005, 07:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 94

I never heard of the X-Power brand either but the price looks good. I would suggest buying one with 20amp on the 12V rail and 30amp on the +5sb rail or at least something close to that.

Have you tried unpluging some of your drives to see if the extra load is causing the problem?

good luck!
__________________
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D @ 312 HT
Opteron 165 @ 2.8 Ghz (~1.33v)
2 X 1Gb Patriot PC3200 (2,3,2,5 1T)
EVGA 8800GTS
2 X 300 GB Maxtor SATA (RAID 0)
700W OCZ Gametream PS
X-Fi XtremeMusic
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2005, 07:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 94

Antec are good
__________________
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D @ 312 HT
Opteron 165 @ 2.8 Ghz (~1.33v)
2 X 1Gb Patriot PC3200 (2,3,2,5 1T)
EVGA 8800GTS
2 X 300 GB Maxtor SATA (RAID 0)
700W OCZ Gametream PS
X-Fi XtremeMusic
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2005, 10:20 PM
Paulio's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 24

i havent yet, i work late on fridays and saturdays so i sleep in so i litteraly woke up then went back to work lol, i`ll do it at 1 am,

Thanks guys
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2005, 11:11 PM
Paulio's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 24

im not very good at specs, but is:

Akasa Ultra Quiet 400W Paxpower Active PFC ATX2.0 PSU - Black Nickel with Blue LED Fan (CA-013-AK)
This new 400W ATX ver 2.0 PSU is designed to supply hi-performance power and look cool. The case is Nickel black and all the connectors are black, also the main wiring loom is sheathed in black mesh. The 12cm blue LED fan has auto thermal control and is ultra quiet, only 18 dB(A) under normal load. There are dual 12v rails to comply with the new ATX 2.0 spec and a 20-pin adapter for ATX version 1. This PSU will also run EPS boards such as Xeon and Operon. 2 SATA connetors are standard. The 4pin power connectors are all quick release and auto voltage switching is used. Active PFC and full circuit protection are used.

- Full range 400 watts PSU
- Designed for AMD Athlon XP, Athlon 64, Intel P4 & EPS 12V for AMD Opteron & Intel Xeon
- Energy saving Active PFC
- Ultra quiet 12cm black - 2 ball bearing fan
- 18 dB(A) at normal load
- Auto thermal fan control
- Dual 12 Volt rails
- Over power protection
- Over current protection
- Over voltage protection
- Short circuit protection on each channel
- Hi-efficiency- 75% at full load
- 3.3V and 5V combined load 210W
- Quick release 4-pin power connectors
- Two SATA PSU connectors

any good?

Thanks Paul
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2005, 12:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 94

Here are the power specification from this site: http://www.fbio.fr/product_info.php?products_id=2031

+03.3 V : 28A (28A Max)
+05.0 V : 37A (54A Max)
+12.0 V : 22A (25A Max)
-12.0 V : 1.0A (1.2 Max)
-05.0 V : 0.8A (0.9 Max)

Looks very good to me.
__________________
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D @ 312 HT
Opteron 165 @ 2.8 Ghz (~1.33v)
2 X 1Gb Patriot PC3200 (2,3,2,5 1T)
EVGA 8800GTS
2 X 300 GB Maxtor SATA (RAID 0)
700W OCZ Gametream PS
X-Fi XtremeMusic
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2005, 01:37 AM
Paulio's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 24

arg, ive unplugged all my cathode tubes and lights etc... also my two drives (dvd rom and dvd rw) and its still happening, could this be to do with my original idea of the bios update? or possibly my power supply is giving up?

Thanks Paul
__________________

Last edited by Paulio; 30th October, 2005 at 01:52 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2005, 01:54 AM
Paulio's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 24

sorry for the double post, but ive flashed my bios to the first stable bios before the current latest version and its still happening.

Paul
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2005, 03:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 94

Even though your USB problem showed up after your BIOS update, the voltage problem you mentioned on your first post could be related to your PS. Still, there is still no guarantee that a new PS will solve your problems. Therefore it will not hurt to try some more basic troubleshooting.

Try shutdown and unplug your computer for a while then clear your CMOS setting on your motherboard(jumpers).

Also, what video card are you using? Any recent changes to your computer?
__________________
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D @ 312 HT
Opteron 165 @ 2.8 Ghz (~1.33v)
2 X 1Gb Patriot PC3200 (2,3,2,5 1T)
EVGA 8800GTS
2 X 300 GB Maxtor SATA (RAID 0)
700W OCZ Gametream PS
X-Fi XtremeMusic
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2005, 03:22 AM
Paulio's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 24

umm im using a RADEON 9250 (128mb -AGP) its about a month old, i`ll try clearing the cmos setting in about an hour as im watching a movie on my pc right now (on a tv). well it was updated bios and a new cpu fan the same afternoon thats why im completely unsure, ive been watching this film and so far the mouse hasnt frozen (ive been refreshing a few times as i saw you were replying.

Thanks, Paul
__________________

Last edited by Paulio; 30th October, 2005 at 03:34 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2005, 04:17 AM
Paulio's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 24

i did as you said and its all reset, but no change in either VDIMM voltage or usb freezing. i think its happening less now that i dont have the two dvd rom drives etc but it could just be coincidence.

Thanks Paul
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9NDA3J Sata problem smiffy EPoX MotherBoards 21 28th September, 2006 07:21 PM
ET: 9nda3j & TCCD 1T problem rE-vErb EPoX MotherBoards 165 23rd December, 2005 06:19 PM
Epox 9NDA3J problem strenkp EPoX MotherBoards 5 2nd October, 2005 02:16 PM
9nda3J Cold boot problem Bob Bartlett EPoX MotherBoards 6 13th March, 2005 11:28 PM
Problem with memmory - 9NDA3J jordi23 EPoX MotherBoards 0 2nd March, 2005 09:15 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0