AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2006, 12:21 PM
smiffy's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 499

9NDA3J Sata problem

Hi all
Trying to install xp on a 9NDA3J with a western digital WD400 sata drive.The bios(oct 05) recognises the drive.When installing xp i pick F6 and install both the Nvidia raid class driver and the Nvidia nforce storage controller drivers.( I have also tried each driver on its own)The xp install recognises the drive and allows me to format it.It then starts the file copying process.However when that is done and the computer restarts i get nothing from the hard drive.The bios still recognises it but the screen remains blank and the drive is making no search etc noises but it is spinning.I have tried delaying the drive spin up time but that makes no difference.Any ideas anyone?
Thanks for any help
Smiffy
__________________
AOA Team fah

Asus Crossfire IV Formula.Phenomll 1090T at 3.7GHz
Asus Ati 4890 at 950 Core 1025MHz Mem speed.
4 GB Crucial Ballistix 1600DDR3.COrsair 1200W supply
Corsair 40GB SDD X 2 Raid 0 and 2 X WD Caviar Black 1Tbs Raid 0
LG Blue ray/Hd dvd reader and 2 dvd writers
All wrapped up in a Silverstone TJ09
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2006, 03:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Tampa Fl. USA
Posts: 15

Im using 2 wd raptors on mine....non raid.
I didnt have to install any drivers to load xp.
It saw the drives fine and loaded windows right up.

hope this helps

peace

wannagofast
__________________
Opteron 148 CAB2E 0545 CPAW @ 2.8ghz 255x11 1.5v
BFG Nforce4 - Thermalright XP 90C
2x512 Patriot XBLK @ 8-4-3-2.5 1t 255mhz - 2.9v
BFG 7800 GT OC - Antec TP 2.0 480
2x WD Raptors 36.7GB 10,000RPM SATA
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2006, 03:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 65

Do you also have an IDE (hard) drive connected in the system???

Also check your HD boot order and HD type drive selection...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2006, 03:42 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Do you have any USB storage devices attached? (Pen drives, USB floppy, USB hard disk, USB CD-ROM etc).
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2006, 03:46 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
Do you have any USB storage devices attached? (Pen drives, USB floppy, USB hard disk, USB CD-ROM etc).
Yesterday I have installed two brand new 120 seagate's on my mobo and after installing the OS (I had some problems) I plugged my usb stick to install the newer drivers. Next reboot baam, no booting into windows. Then removed USB stick that apeared at boot as USB 3000 and problem solved.
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2006, 04:17 PM
smiffy's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 499

Hi All
Have dvd drive on ide 1(have tried it on ide 2 as well)No other drives or usb devices.Have tried wd drive on 3ware 8006 card as well,still no go.Have checked drive with wd drive diagnostics,checks out ok.Boot order is cd-rom(for xp install)hard drive then floppy.Will let another machine finish a folding project then try another wd sata drive.Will also try an ide hard drive but would rather have the sata drive.
Ta for the inf
Smiffy
__________________
AOA Team fah

Asus Crossfire IV Formula.Phenomll 1090T at 3.7GHz
Asus Ati 4890 at 950 Core 1025MHz Mem speed.
4 GB Crucial Ballistix 1600DDR3.COrsair 1200W supply
Corsair 40GB SDD X 2 Raid 0 and 2 X WD Caviar Black 1Tbs Raid 0
LG Blue ray/Hd dvd reader and 2 dvd writers
All wrapped up in a Silverstone TJ09
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2006, 04:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 65

In the boot order or HARD drive section??? you can direct the bios to boot the SATA first then the IDE I believe. I'm not at my system but anyone that is can chime in.....

I'm using the 10/05 bios
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2006, 09:37 PM
smiffy's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 499

Hi All
Under hard drive boot selection No 1 is listed as CH 2 M:WDC WD400BD 75LRAO.I have also tried removing all ide devices and disabling the ide ports.Sata1&2 is listed as enabled uinder integrated periphs.Wondering if the board is duff but only have 2 more sata drives i can try all of which are WD400DBs.PS have also tried 2 more sata cables.
Smiffy
__________________
AOA Team fah

Asus Crossfire IV Formula.Phenomll 1090T at 3.7GHz
Asus Ati 4890 at 950 Core 1025MHz Mem speed.
4 GB Crucial Ballistix 1600DDR3.COrsair 1200W supply
Corsair 40GB SDD X 2 Raid 0 and 2 X WD Caviar Black 1Tbs Raid 0
LG Blue ray/Hd dvd reader and 2 dvd writers
All wrapped up in a Silverstone TJ09

Last edited by smiffy; 13th January, 2006 at 09:59 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2006, 03:37 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

I've installed SATA drives on my 9NDA3+ (and MSI K8N Neo2),and I did not have to go down the F6- Drivers route, just installed the drive and set up the boot order like you and it works!?
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2006, 03:45 PM
smiffy's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 499

Hiya Lazgoat
Will try it without installing drivers.
Smiffy(Norfolk Neighbour :-) )
__________________
AOA Team fah

Asus Crossfire IV Formula.Phenomll 1090T at 3.7GHz
Asus Ati 4890 at 950 Core 1025MHz Mem speed.
4 GB Crucial Ballistix 1600DDR3.COrsair 1200W supply
Corsair 40GB SDD X 2 Raid 0 and 2 X WD Caviar Black 1Tbs Raid 0
LG Blue ray/Hd dvd reader and 2 dvd writers
All wrapped up in a Silverstone TJ09
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2006, 04:22 PM
smiffy's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 499

Hi Lazgoat
tried it with no drivers.XP recognises disk and copies files so maybe not a driver problem.Still the same result though.Maybe the fact that it does not work on a 3ware 8006 sata controller as well points to the hard drive being faulty.
Smiffy
__________________
AOA Team fah

Asus Crossfire IV Formula.Phenomll 1090T at 3.7GHz
Asus Ati 4890 at 950 Core 1025MHz Mem speed.
4 GB Crucial Ballistix 1600DDR3.COrsair 1200W supply
Corsair 40GB SDD X 2 Raid 0 and 2 X WD Caviar Black 1Tbs Raid 0
LG Blue ray/Hd dvd reader and 2 dvd writers
All wrapped up in a Silverstone TJ09
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2006, 04:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Philippines
Posts: 44

Are you OCing on your 9nda3j? I'm not so sure, but I've been looking for confirmation regarding SATA and USB stability on OC'ed 9nda3j's.

I normally suffer USB thumb drive file corruptions when I transfer files to and from the office PC to my home PC.

I've been wondering about this. I'm planning to go raid myself on some salvaged drives. If I fill up the IDE channels, I'll have to go for a SATA drive for expansion, except for the OC...
__________________
a64 3000+ Winnie
262x9 at 5/6 2358 on cpu 218 on ram
ram can 1:1 at 242 MHz
9NDA3J
6600gt by Inno3D w CoolViva mod
1 Gig generic ram
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2006, 04:47 PM
smiffy's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 499

Hiya
No.its got my old venice 3500 in it.It boots up at X 10,so 2Ghz instead of 2.2Ghz,Mem is Twinmoss speed premium.I may try another stick but it passes memtest ok.I have nearly finished a fold project so in about 30 mins i'll try anothe sata drive.
I have also tried this from epox support
http://www.epox.com.tw/eng/faq.php?serno=17
Smiffy
__________________
AOA Team fah

Asus Crossfire IV Formula.Phenomll 1090T at 3.7GHz
Asus Ati 4890 at 950 Core 1025MHz Mem speed.
4 GB Crucial Ballistix 1600DDR3.COrsair 1200W supply
Corsair 40GB SDD X 2 Raid 0 and 2 X WD Caviar Black 1Tbs Raid 0
LG Blue ray/Hd dvd reader and 2 dvd writers
All wrapped up in a Silverstone TJ09
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2006, 05:54 PM
smiffy's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 499

Hi All
Have pulled sata drive from 8RDA+ and it fired up fine.Did not re-install xp.So probable that its a duff hard drive.Will pop it on 8RDa+ and see what happens.
Smiffy
__________________
AOA Team fah

Asus Crossfire IV Formula.Phenomll 1090T at 3.7GHz
Asus Ati 4890 at 950 Core 1025MHz Mem speed.
4 GB Crucial Ballistix 1600DDR3.COrsair 1200W supply
Corsair 40GB SDD X 2 Raid 0 and 2 X WD Caviar Black 1Tbs Raid 0
LG Blue ray/Hd dvd reader and 2 dvd writers
All wrapped up in a Silverstone TJ09
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2006, 06:53 PM
smiffy's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 499

Hi All
Well the sata drive from the 8RDA+ works fine in the 9NDAJ and the sata drive not working in the 9NDAJ works fine on the 8RDA+.Errrr.Well it was Friday the 13th yesterday and i've got a cold today.The term ****** Appens comes to mind.Ta all who gave assistance.
Smiffy
__________________
AOA Team fah

Asus Crossfire IV Formula.Phenomll 1090T at 3.7GHz
Asus Ati 4890 at 950 Core 1025MHz Mem speed.
4 GB Crucial Ballistix 1600DDR3.COrsair 1200W supply
Corsair 40GB SDD X 2 Raid 0 and 2 X WD Caviar Black 1Tbs Raid 0
LG Blue ray/Hd dvd reader and 2 dvd writers
All wrapped up in a Silverstone TJ09
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2006, 01:41 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Weired! Any luck today?
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2006, 05:03 PM
smiffy's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 499

Hi Laz
No,seems fine on other drive despite being exactly the same model as other.Beats me.
Smiffy
__________________
AOA Team fah

Asus Crossfire IV Formula.Phenomll 1090T at 3.7GHz
Asus Ati 4890 at 950 Core 1025MHz Mem speed.
4 GB Crucial Ballistix 1600DDR3.COrsair 1200W supply
Corsair 40GB SDD X 2 Raid 0 and 2 X WD Caviar Black 1Tbs Raid 0
LG Blue ray/Hd dvd reader and 2 dvd writers
All wrapped up in a Silverstone TJ09
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2006, 08:37 PM
smiffy's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 499

Hi All
Found the cure at last

http://www.nforcershq.com/forum/wed-...-vp548695.html

Worked a treat

Smiffy
__________________
AOA Team fah

Asus Crossfire IV Formula.Phenomll 1090T at 3.7GHz
Asus Ati 4890 at 950 Core 1025MHz Mem speed.
4 GB Crucial Ballistix 1600DDR3.COrsair 1200W supply
Corsair 40GB SDD X 2 Raid 0 and 2 X WD Caviar Black 1Tbs Raid 0
LG Blue ray/Hd dvd reader and 2 dvd writers
All wrapped up in a Silverstone TJ09
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2006, 09:45 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Ah, yeah. I should have remembered that, sorry. Windows XP with no SP has one or two "issues" with hard disks...
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2006, 07:01 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

... As noted in Nvidia's readme for their forcewares, similarly 2000 requires SP4............ Sorry I only saw this thread now Smiffy
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin

Last edited by wild_andy_c; 28th September, 2006 at 07:05 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ET: 9nda3j & TCCD 1T problem rE-vErb EPoX MotherBoards 165 23rd December, 2005 06:19 PM
9NDA3J Problem Paulio EPoX MotherBoards 31 1st November, 2005 07:40 PM
Epox 9NDA3J problem strenkp EPoX MotherBoards 5 2nd October, 2005 02:16 PM
Problem with memmory - 9NDA3J jordi23 EPoX MotherBoards 0 2nd March, 2005 09:15 AM
9NDA3J + 6800GT + SATA: do I need right angle SATA connector? RTarget EPoX MotherBoards 10 2nd February, 2005 01:21 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0