AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2006, 04:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 3

8k3ae questions inside. Thanks in advance.

Hello, new poster here. And I thank you for your help in advance. I've got an Epox 8k3ae here that since it was new has suffered from a startup problem. Without fail, the machine will fail to post on startup, however, once I push the reset button the machine will post without issue. This has been the case with two different Socket A cpus. One being an Athlon XP 1700+ and a Sempron 2200+. I've been searching for quite some time for a solution but have been unable to find one. I've updated the bios to the latest that I'm aware of, and the machine runs quite well once booted. I should note that the machine will fail to post again if I restart the system, however I reset it, and it comes right back up. I've run every combination of bios options including factory default, and have not been able to cure the problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2006, 07:09 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Same problem here on my msi Neo4-f, Figured it was easier to keep hitting the reset button than figure it out
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2006, 07:48 AM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

Quote:
Originally Posted by 794613
Hello, new poster here. And I thank you for your help in advance. I've got an Epox 8k3ae here that since it was new has suffered from a startup problem. Without fail, the machine will fail to post on startup, however, once I push the reset button the machine will post without issue. This has been the case with two different Socket A cpus. One being an Athlon XP 1700+ and a Sempron 2200+. I've been searching for quite some time for a solution but have been unable to find one. I've updated the bios to the latest that I'm aware of, and the machine runs quite well once booted. I should note that the machine will fail to post again if I restart the system, however I reset it, and it comes right back up. I've run every combination of bios options including factory default, and have not been able to cure the problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
That is either the PSU (and lack of power it possesses) or the capacitors on the mainboard.
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2006, 05:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 3

I thankyou for your reply. However, this has happened on more than 3 different psus, and since the board was new. Even after the capacitors failed, and were replaced it still has the same issue. Thanks again.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2006, 02:48 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

And what PSU are you using in the three instance may I ask ?
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2006, 08:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 3

A 300 watt forton, a 300 watt generic, and last night on a 380 watt Antec. Believe me, I appreciate your help, but this is not a powersupply issue. The machine is running with an 8MB S3 video card, 1.5Ghz Sempron, 512MB of memory, a 30GB HD, and a cd-rom. A 180Watt powersupply would be able to run this machine without a hitch. Again I appreciate your help. I noticed you had an Epox representative here, and I was hoping he might have a concrete answer for me. I am a regular member at Ocforums.com. Thanks again.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2006, 09:42 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

Sounds in that case like a non ACPI compliant setup - the southbridge write data isn't compliant. Windows install is to blame.
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2006, 04:46 PM
jnansley's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 888

I've never actually had this happen to me but I have had funny issues with VIA drivers before. You might want to try using Driver Cleaner before you do a "repair" install just to see if you can avoid a "complete" reinstall. And make sure you're using the "vintage" chipset drivers for reinstall.
__________________
I have a kit.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HP claims advance in semiconductor nanotechnology danrok General Hardware Discussion 0 17th January, 2007 09:59 AM
Gameboy Advance SP ByteWipe GAMES! OH YEAH! 6 15th January, 2003 08:29 PM
8K3AE Questions Jaeger EPoX MotherBoards 1 1st January, 2003 09:34 PM
Apology in advance Spode Random Nonsense! 7 30th November, 2001 01:29 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0