AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2006, 11:42 AM
m0s m0s is offline
Member
 
Join Date: February 2005
Posts: 9

Opteron 175 on 9npa+ ultra?

Hi Everyone!

I orderd an Opteron 175. Are there any known issues concerning dual core Opterons on the 9npa+ ultra?

Today I'm using a 148 Opteron on my 9npa+ ultra which works fine @ 2750 MHz (250X11).

greetz
m0s
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2006, 05:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2006
Posts: 35

Should work.

awesome choice on the 175, Im ordering one soon along with an EpoX 9npa
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2006, 09:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2005
Posts: 9

Using 9npa+ Ultra with Opteron 165 here!

Had an issue with using an Antec PSU and the motherboard that a few people on here have reported. Also having issues with Cold Boots, but I'm not sure thats related.

Current overclocked my Opteron 165 at 2400mhz (300mhz*8). The motherboard will let me go much higher, only core 0 requires more voltage than I'm comfortable with to keep it stable at higher speeds.

You'll have great fun with the 175
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2006, 09:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2006
Posts: 35

How much voltage are you giving it? You can give that thing like 1.6 volts before it harms it really
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2006, 11:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2005
Posts: 9

From memory:
1.3v for 2250mhz,
1.45v for 2400mhz,
1.55v for 2467ish...

One core is a great overclocker, runs prime stable at 2600mhz at sensible voltages. However, the other core always fails after a few seconds.

2400 seems like a sweet point for me. By running the FSB/HT thingy at 300mhz FSB, it means my ram can run at stock 200mhz speeds at "133" setting. And temps are managable - I'm using the stock HS.

And you can't really complain about getting x2 4800+ speeds for under half the price!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th March, 2006, 08:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 54

Maybe it's only a problem of my 9NPA+ Ultra board - but I cannot recommend this board for DC Opteron oc.
There are way too much Vcore fluctuations to max out your cpu. A high ref.frequency alone is worth nothing.

My oc experiences with this board so far.
venice3000+ @2400MHz (did not compare with other boards)
opteron146 @2750MHz (did not compare with other boards)
X2 3800+ @2400MHz (on DFI Ultra this cpu did 2560MHz)
opteron170 @2600MHz (on DFI Ultra this cpu does 2750MHz)
All this done with aircooling (TT big typhoon), TSP430W or Amacrox500W power supply (made no difference which one I used)

Especially with the 170 the fluctuations were significant. The cpu became too hot when I applied the voltage needed for stable 2700MHz (dual prime95) on the Epox.

Greets
mibo
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2006, 09:18 PM
bacon612's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 16

I am seeing the same fluctuations on my 9nda3. im running an opteron 165 and the vcore is all over the place. I was hoping that when i upgrade to PCIe, the 9npa+ Ultra was my answer to a higher clock. Guess this is an issue with epox and dual core power? Dissapointing.

my settings 9 x 280HTT 3X HT
using the +0.075 vcore setting in bios
Idle vcore bounces between 1.34 - 1.39
Load vcore bounces from 1.33 - 1.35
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2006, 09:25 AM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

http://www.aoaforums.com/forum/378127-post6.html
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opteron & 9NPA+Ultra Frank_G EPoX MotherBoards 5 26th November, 2006 05:45 PM
9npa+ Ultra Opteron 146 C'n'Q Problem mibo EPoX MotherBoards 17 1st February, 2006 05:12 PM
EpoX EP-9NPA Ultra vs EP-9NPA+ Ultra ? Kallikaa EPoX MotherBoards 6 27th January, 2006 07:35 AM
Opteron vs 9NPA+ Ultra gmork EPoX MotherBoards 17 15th October, 2005 10:21 AM
Dual Core BIOS - 9NPA+ SLI and 9NPA+ Ultra EPoX Tech EPoX MotherBoards 46 1st August, 2005 04:52 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:58 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0