AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2002, 10:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Pacific NorthWest
Posts: 13

Question 8KHA+ will it fit in an Antec SX830 case?

Hello all,

Thanx 4 having me.....I look 4ward 2 interacting w/ all of u!!!

I just recently purchased a 8KHA+ mobo and was wondering if this board will fit into an "Antec" SX-830 Mid-Tower case.....I just ordered one and hope I didn't make a mistake. The owner's manual 4 the mobo states the case must be 2.01 ATX compliant. I'm having difficulties confirming whether or not this case will meets the criteria, Antec's web-site is not loading 4 whatever reason. Also, will the 300 watt ps b enough to juice an 8500 radeon w/my XP 1700+ or will it be doing cartwheels when I play Q3 and other demanding applications?

Ty 4 your time......
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2002, 10:51 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

welcome to the forums!

good news: the case will definately accept the motherboard, no trouble at all. the PSU will probably not be up to the job though, as a powerful system such as the one you are planning really do suck up power! Antec make great PSU's too, so if you can get hold of a 400 watt antec PSU you will have no problems at all, 350 would probably cope, but If you plan to overclock, the powersupply can make all the difference!

dont worry about having a "wasted" 300 watt PSU, as they can come in useful for all sorts of things!
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2002, 06:30 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Glad to see u in the forums-
The epox board should fir just fine into the antec case- u personaly use the antec 1040 and 1030- i seem to have no problems with the antec 303xp powersupply 300w ps running a xp 1800 at 2100+ equvilent and gf3 ti-200
Where are u in the pacific northwest?
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2002, 01:30 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Case yes
PSU no.

Look around, if you haven't ordered yet, you can get the case with a beefed up PSU.
Newegg, carries a chiftec models which are identical to Antecs. The only difference is no fans, and much cheaper.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2002, 05:48 PM
LutaWicasa's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 508

As stated by others, no prob with fit. The PSU however could be problematic. Depending on how hard you'll push your system and just plain dumb luck, you may not experience any probs. But, as we have all seen, this mobo can be a bit finicky about it's power. I happen to be one of the very lucky one's. I have an Antec 830 w/300W PSU that have been extremely stable. I've just not been able to oc as high as I beleive would be possible with a beefier high quality supply.
__________________
My heroes have always killed cowboys.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th March, 2002, 07:31 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Ok, I did some digging. I think the PSU that comes with that Case is the Antec PP303XP, which is actually a rebadged HEC-300AR-T... If yes, is has 180W @3.3 &5v rail. This should be enough to power the 5v line for your board (barely).

good luck.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by SteveI; 18th March, 2002 at 09:59 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2002, 05:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Pacific NorthWest
Posts: 13

Thanx 4 all da input....

I'm not going to do much o'clockin' at first, break the XP 1700+ in gradually.....This whole package that I'm getting is part of an early b-day present from my brother. He's actually matching my investment, dollar for dollar, which is really nice of him. I just couldn't see paying the xtra 40 bones for the SX 840, which has the PP-412XP, which is actually the very PS that amd recommended for my CPU....Down the road I will eventually have to break out some more hard earned dough & do the upgrade for a better PS...but for now I should be alright, If I don't push this puppy too much right??!??!

btw....

Here is the system I'm putting together with help from the bro....

EPoX 8KHA+
AMD XP 1700+
Antec SX 830/PS-PP303XP, will upgrade to the PP-412XP in time..
Crucial DDR 256 megs PC 2100, Does Corsair 2400 work on this?
ATI Radeon(retail) 8500
Plextor CD-R PX-W1210A (carry over from existing system)
Creative Labs Audigy Platinum Sound Blaster SB0090PE
Creative Labs DesktopTheater 5.1 DTT2200 5 Satellite/Subwoofer
IBM Deskstar 120GXP 40GB ATA100 7200RPM
AOpen DVD-ROM DVD-9624 (carry over from existing system)

Any ideas on which monitor to consider, 19-incher would be optimal.....an Iyama? Mitsubishi? Hitachi? NEC? Samsung? or a Fry's (Outpost) rebate special..?!?!?! lol, I still didn't get my rebate from the Fry's 17-incher I got a few years back.....rebates sucketh.....unless there on-da-spot rebates at the register....

So long all!!

Peace, pULV.....
__________________

Last edited by Pulveriser; 19th March, 2002 at 05:48 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Antec P182 case review danrok Case Modifications 1 28th April, 2007 09:05 PM
Antec SOnata Case sho0sh General Hardware Discussion 1 26th June, 2005 06:09 PM
I got this sharp new Antec case LP ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 13 26th August, 2004 11:08 PM
Cool Looking Antec knockoff case for $52 mookydooky Online Deals, and Steals 3 25th May, 2002 07:06 AM
Antec PP-412X vs Antec PP-403X on the 8KHA+ 5150Joker EPoX MotherBoards 23 26th February, 2002 06:26 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0