AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2002, 08:38 PM
AudiMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to AudiMan Send a message via Yahoo to AudiMan

8KHA+ Reboots at 148+ FSB

Hey people, I am using the 8khi2116.bin bios on my 8KHA and am getting reboots right after the desktop loads at above 148 FSB.

My specs:
330 Watt Enermax (My 5v rail is about 4 .75 to 4 .85)
256 MB PC-2100 Micron 2-2-2
Radeon 7500 64MB Retail
Ovislink 10 .100 NIC



Could this be fixed with a bios?
I did after all reach 200 mhz FSB with this same BIOS on an unlocked T-BIRD, but now I have an xp-1700 in there. I also tried the 3/4 Memory Divider with no luck.

I saw another POST in the forums about someone who had the same issue with random reboots at 150 FSB, and I'm not too certain as to which BIOS that was being referred to when someone stated "The newest BIOS should fix that".

I'm thinking of upgrading to the 8khi2205.zip. Any reccomendations?

Thank people.
__________________
Asus A7N8X - XP 2100 - @ 2.300 - 200 FSB - 512MB Xtreme DDR PC-3700
Asus P4C800 - P4 2.4C - @ 3.30 - 275 FSB(5:4) - 1024MB Corsair PC-3500 C2
Asus P4P800 - P4 2.6C - @ 3.20 - 246 FSB(1:1) - 512MB OCZ PC4000 Gold EL
Abit KX7-333 - XP 2100 - @ 2.171 - 167 FSB - 512MB KingMax PC-2700
Abit NF7-S - XP 2500 - @ 2.153 - 205 FSB - 512MB Xtreme DDR PC-3500
Abit IC7 - P4 2.4C - @ 3.12 - 260 FSB(5:4) - 512MB Mushkin Lev 2 PC-3500
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2002, 09:11 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

There is newer official BIOS than 2205 - nameley 2304.

The PSU may well be the causant factor here. A balance of components is required to get a all round good stability.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2002, 09:20 PM
AudiMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to AudiMan Send a message via Yahoo to AudiMan

I've got an Antec 400Watt on the way, so hopefully that will help along with the new BIOS.

Thanks Epox guy.

By the way, do you know when the 8K3A+ will be out in Canada?
With the second revision of the 333 chipset. I think it's the 333 CE or something.

I'm planning on doing a crazy overclock with watercooling/peltier.
Either a T-Bred or an AGOIA stepping XP. I need to figure out which board will be better.
__________________
Asus A7N8X - XP 2100 - @ 2.300 - 200 FSB - 512MB Xtreme DDR PC-3700
Asus P4C800 - P4 2.4C - @ 3.30 - 275 FSB(5:4) - 1024MB Corsair PC-3500 C2
Asus P4P800 - P4 2.6C - @ 3.20 - 246 FSB(1:1) - 512MB OCZ PC4000 Gold EL
Abit KX7-333 - XP 2100 - @ 2.171 - 167 FSB - 512MB KingMax PC-2700
Abit NF7-S - XP 2500 - @ 2.153 - 205 FSB - 512MB Xtreme DDR PC-3500
Abit IC7 - P4 2.4C - @ 3.12 - 260 FSB(5:4) - 512MB Mushkin Lev 2 PC-3500
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2002, 08:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 500

Quote:
Hey people, I am using the 8khi2116.bin bios on my 8KHA and am getting reboots right after the desktop loads at above 148 FSB.

I agree with EPOX TECH.....the PSU might be the problem.....I had the same problem with my 350watt ENERMAX......

When it comes to overclocking, the ENERMAX PSUs below 400watts seem to be struggling if paired with the EPOX8KHA+

Have you also tried the 8KHAL00 bios.......its suppose to be very stable at high FSBs
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2002, 05:22 PM
AudiMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to AudiMan Send a message via Yahoo to AudiMan

I just tried a few of the newer BIOS's last night, and they weren't quite as good as the 8khi2116.bin BIOS that I'm used to using.

I'll stick with his one and see what happens when my PSU comes in.

Now that I think of it, when I hit 200 FSB with my old T_BIRD, the only thing different on my system was that I was using a Deer 300 Watt PSU.
__________________
Asus A7N8X - XP 2100 - @ 2.300 - 200 FSB - 512MB Xtreme DDR PC-3700
Asus P4C800 - P4 2.4C - @ 3.30 - 275 FSB(5:4) - 1024MB Corsair PC-3500 C2
Asus P4P800 - P4 2.6C - @ 3.20 - 246 FSB(1:1) - 512MB OCZ PC4000 Gold EL
Abit KX7-333 - XP 2100 - @ 2.171 - 167 FSB - 512MB KingMax PC-2700
Abit NF7-S - XP 2500 - @ 2.153 - 205 FSB - 512MB Xtreme DDR PC-3500
Abit IC7 - P4 2.4C - @ 3.12 - 260 FSB(5:4) - 512MB Mushkin Lev 2 PC-3500
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2002, 03:19 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

If your XP cpu is not unlocked, about 148 is the max fsb allowed on some of these processors.
If you want more, you will have to unlock the multiplier and then you can go to the 200's.

The XP1700+ has a multiplier of 11. So you take 11x180=1980
11x200=2200.

I don't think the XP1700+ will go that high unless you are using extreme cooling.
If you unlock the multiplier you can esaily go 9x180=1620, 8x200=1600 this is easily attainable w/normal cooling and also will push benchmark scores way up.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS

Last edited by BobyJo; 27th March, 2002 at 03:24 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2002, 03:57 PM
AudiMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to AudiMan Send a message via Yahoo to AudiMan

Yes, I understand that. I did the same with my T-Bird, but I mesed up the L1's when ulocking my XP, because the tape didn't seal it off properly and the nail polish covered the metal posts. I tried cleaning it off and unlocking it again, but it didn't work.

My new power supply and my volt mod kit has already been shipped. I'll pair it up with my alpha 8045 for now and see if it will make a difference. But first I will test it out with only the new PSU and see if that helps it.

My favourite BIOS so far is the 8khl8112.bin
__________________
Asus A7N8X - XP 2100 - @ 2.300 - 200 FSB - 512MB Xtreme DDR PC-3700
Asus P4C800 - P4 2.4C - @ 3.30 - 275 FSB(5:4) - 1024MB Corsair PC-3500 C2
Asus P4P800 - P4 2.6C - @ 3.20 - 246 FSB(1:1) - 512MB OCZ PC4000 Gold EL
Abit KX7-333 - XP 2100 - @ 2.171 - 167 FSB - 512MB KingMax PC-2700
Abit NF7-S - XP 2500 - @ 2.153 - 205 FSB - 512MB Xtreme DDR PC-3500
Abit IC7 - P4 2.4C - @ 3.12 - 260 FSB(5:4) - 512MB Mushkin Lev 2 PC-3500
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8KHA+ reboots randomly w. CD in drive(s) coton EPoX MotherBoards 1 23rd April, 2003 11:19 PM
Problems with sudden reboots on 8kha+.... gbonas EPoX MotherBoards 4 9th May, 2002 12:22 AM
8kha+ reboots with halt dejo EPoX MotherBoards 0 16th March, 2002 02:57 AM
Reboots !!! Why ??? joehammy CRASHED! 7 12th February, 2002 03:18 AM
8KHA+ and sudden reboots kricys EPoX MotherBoards 3 9th February, 2002 04:50 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0