AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th September, 2007, 09:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2007
Posts: 12

epx 8rda+ froze and will not boot posting code 25

hello every1 this is quite a long post so if u cba to read, dont =P.

i have a crisis situation with my PC here... and i will try to give thorough explanation on what happened.

yesterday i was playing WoW and listening to music in winamp as i usually do... after 10 minutes of playing, all of a sudden my PC froze (the song was looped in a cca 0,5 sec interval) and monitor went off (was hearing a "soft clicking" sound out of it).. the PC did not respond to shut down button, but it responded to reset button so i reset it and it will not boot anymore, without any sound from sys speaker, and the hdd led being lit constantly.

i put the mb out of the tower, put it on the table with only graphics card and 1 RAM module in slot 1 and observed what codes are being cycled on the 8-segment display. it starts with C1h then goes to C3h (i am not sure if that is correct line up of codes, might be C2h in between) and here it freezes, shows POST code 25 and does not move further.. also the board does not make any beeps while trying to boot.

here are the things i tried so far:
cleared BIOS - no help
cycled 1 RAM module through memory slots, then the other - no help
removed RAM and tried to boot, then it stuck at C1h and started making beeps, but i cannot boot like that

here are the components that i use:

cpu AMD athlon Xp 64 3000+ s.754
2x512 MB Kingmax PC3200 RAM modules
chieftec GPS-500AB-A PSU
club3D radeon x1950Pro gfx card
2 SATA hdd drives (wd raptor 37GB and some other WD 160GB)
2 IDE optical devices (one pioneer 112d DvD-RW, and one TEAC CD-RW)
monitor is hyundai 19˝CRT
any help or suggestion is welcome.

ty in advance

edit: ahh, it is not 8rda+ board, it is 8KDA3+ sorry for wrong info, i am writing this from work
__________________

Last edited by dragecvragec; 20th September, 2007 at 11:29 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th September, 2007, 12:29 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Do you have a pci video card to try?

EDIT:
After looking around. Might need to do a hard clear of the cmos. Disconnect power, remove battery and short clear cmos jumper and leave the way for some time.

Another thing to try is set halt on no errors in the bios. That way if it misses something during the boot up, it will not hang.

These are a couple of things I found.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}

Last edited by Samuknow; 20th September, 2007 at 12:46 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th September, 2007, 02:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2007
Posts: 12

Unfortunately i dont have PCI video card to try.. i will try with another VGA card and also with some different RAM modules later when i come home.

i cannot enter the BIOS because when i plugged my old 15" monitor into graphics card, there was no picture on it when i powered up (it did not come out of standby)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th September, 2007, 02:13 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

If you have another graphics card, that'd be a good thing to try.

You can try without a graphics card, just to see if the port 80 LED gets beyond 25. If it does, it suggests there might be a problem with the graphics card somewhere along the way.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th September, 2007, 02:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2007
Posts: 12

i'll try without gfx card first..

ty for advice
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2007, 06:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2007
Posts: 12

hello again.. here are the news.

i put out the gfx card, and booted the system.. it passed the C3h code and after few more codes it stopped at 7Fh code.

so i went to my friends place and put my gfx card into his PC, and it did not boot. so it is the gfx card that is malfunctioning. luckily it is under warranty =))

only thing i'm affraid that the gfx fried my monitor too, well we'll see that soon.

thanx for the help.. you gave me some fresh ideas
cheers
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2007, 10:03 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I /think/ (but I can't confirm) that the 25 code may mean "about to initialise graphics card".
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2007, 12:05 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

That is kind of what I found. Why is it that the Epox code definitions are are so had to decode?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2007, 01:04 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I think they're actually (award?) standard codes. Award define 25 as 'reserverd', meaning no-one bothered updating the code list I suspect.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2007, 01:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2007
Posts: 12

i also beleive that codes 25 and 26 have to do something with graphics card.

just to say that when i removed graphics card and observed the codes on display, when it passed the C3 code, it went to code 25, then 26, then back to 25 and then some others (4something, 6something) then again code 25 and then some 7something codes untill it stopped at 7F
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EP-8RDA+ (rev 2.x) fails to boot - POST code 66 rpughsley AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 11th July, 2004 08:45 PM
Help:8RDA+ does not boot anymore.Error Code 60. Crool EPoX MotherBoards 4 14th December, 2003 11:28 AM
epox 8rda+ wont boot c1 code raza CRASHED! 4 14th December, 2003 12:37 AM
8rda+ no boot post code 10 knightfal EPoX MotherBoards 10 16th March, 2003 11:07 PM
ep-8rda+ no boot strange post code Keno5net EPoX MotherBoards 0 15th January, 2003 04:41 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0