AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2007, 10:08 PM
CJE CJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: November 2007
Posts: 1

8K3A+ and 3Gig Ram

Hi,

I've just added 3 x 1gig PC2700 RAM sticks to my 8K3A+ mobo and it's decided not to boot up. I tried one stick at a time and I'm ok up to two - the third one just pushes it over the edge. I tried swapping the sticks around (in case one was faulty) and they all appear to be fine.

The other thing is that I'm only seeing 1GB in System (in the control panel), and when booting up. Now, I assume that this is something to do with the one liner in the book that says ....1GB module using 512mb technology. What does that mean, and am I getting 2GB really???

3rd point - my 3DMark benchmark has gone down - considerably.

Am I missing something here???

No mods done to the board - I know, I know, boring and not what you guys do, but this looked like one of the best forums on this board.

Hope you can help

CJE
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2007, 06:52 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Welcome to AOA Forums, CJE!

"One Gb module using 512 Mb module(s)" means that it was a 1 Gb "kit," comprised of two 512 Mb modules or DIMMs. I hate the way they do that.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th November, 2007, 06:42 AM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

Doesn't seem right. The specs on the 8K3A+ say three gigabytes max, and it has three memory slots. So it should accept three one gigabyte modules. I'd try emailing the memory manufacturer.

My 8K3A+ was a great motherboard, and would be still if I hadn't carelessly killed it by inserting the memory the wrong way after replacing some bad capacitors. I ran it at 209 FSB for over two years.
__________________
AOA Team fah

It is the dull man who is always sure, and the sure man who is always dull.
H. L. Mencken
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
memtest crashing on P4-3gig Allan Intel Motherboards & CPUs 7 20th March, 2004 03:16 PM
3gig Barton WOOOOOT!!!!! Holst EPoX MotherBoards 46 31st May, 2003 06:12 PM
Are the bios file for 8K3A and 8K3A+ the same? up2Tim EPoX MotherBoards 2 30th July, 2002 04:30 AM
Differences Between 8K3A and 8K3A+ Superman EPoX MotherBoards 9 28th May, 2002 09:27 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0