AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2002, 07:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: California
Posts: 25

8K3A+ BIOS Setting to get 166/166

I have a need for speed yet I am clueless to how to get into overclocking. I know there are a ton of web sites that deal with overclocking, but I would like to just get the facts on my 8K3A+. I know that the 1st thing I need to do is get rid of the retail AMD heatsink & fan. I am between the Alpha PAL 8045 & the Swiftech mcx 462. I know that to get the memory scores higher I need to get the board to run Synchronous at 166/166. At one web site I read a review where the board was running 166/166 and the Sandra results were 2535/2336 at 166/166(333/333)


So after I get a good cooling device, what should my setting be set to? Can someone point me in the right direction? Or does anyone have a copy of their BIOS to get their board to run 166/166.

Thanks for any input or info.

Glee
__________________
My System:
Epox 8K3A+ (BIOS: 03/28/2002)
Athlon XP 1800+ AGOGA OC’ed to 1900+
Swiftech MCX462 – 44c to 46c Temp.
ATI 8500DV 64MB
512 MB OCZ PC-2700 CAS 2
(2) Maxtor 40.0GB ATA/133 - 6L040J2
(1) 13.6 Gig ATA/66
Hewlett Packard CD-Writer 9100i
Antec 1080 w/430 True Power
Linksys LNE100Tx Ethernet PCI Card
Windows XP Pro Full OEM - Version 5.1.2600
All the latest VIA drivers & Microsoft Updates
All New Round ata/133 & Floppy cables
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2002, 12:52 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Unfortunately things are never as simple as you expect.

Running 166/166 means that your CPU and memory are both running at 166fsb.

This means you will be overclocking your CPU.

The speed your CPU runs at is FSB X CPU multiplyer.

The multiplyer on your chip is 11.5, so it normally runs at 11.5x133 = 1533mhz.

If you increase the FSB to 166 you chip will have to run at 166 x 11.5 = 1933mhz
Unless you buy yourself watercooling your chip wont clock that far.

But, as allways there is a solution.
You can modify your CPU to allow multiplyer ajustment. But its a bit awquard and you loose your warranty.
The best place to find out how to do it is here

http://www6.tomshardware.com/column/...124/index.html

Theres even a video to explain.

Once your CPU is unlocked you have allot more freedom in how you overclock, you can drop the multiplyer and increase your FSB untill your memory is at its maximum then increase the multiplyer back up again to overclock the CPU.

Im currently running my XP-1700 (11xmulti) at 9.5x170, the highest fsb I could run before I unlocked was 150.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2002, 07:21 PM
UpAllNight's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: hillbilly land
Posts: 48

i unlocked mine useing the thermal grease then if something goes wrong u can just whip it off and start over heres a link to it with detailed instructions on how to use it

http://www.highspeedpc.com/index.htm?item106.htm

once u get over the fear of it its easy...i can now unlock one in 5 min.
__________________
XP1800 @172x10.5
Maze 3..Ehiem 1250..Chevette Rad
1 120mm panaflo @7v 1" shroud
All fits nicely inside my case
ambient(26c) 2.0v Core(33.5) Loaded
idle(31.5c)
Enermax 431 watt
Antec 1030B
Gainward Geforce 3 TI200 241/548
Sony CDRW
Creative 52x CD
Soundblaster Live
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 09:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: California
Posts: 25

I downloaded the video of Tom's Hardware guide to unlocking and all it plays is music. No video at all. Anyone know why?

Thanks
glee
__________________
My System:
Epox 8K3A+ (BIOS: 03/28/2002)
Athlon XP 1800+ AGOGA OC’ed to 1900+
Swiftech MCX462 – 44c to 46c Temp.
ATI 8500DV 64MB
512 MB OCZ PC-2700 CAS 2
(2) Maxtor 40.0GB ATA/133 - 6L040J2
(1) 13.6 Gig ATA/66
Hewlett Packard CD-Writer 9100i
Antec 1080 w/430 True Power
Linksys LNE100Tx Ethernet PCI Card
Windows XP Pro Full OEM - Version 5.1.2600
All the latest VIA drivers & Microsoft Updates
All New Round ata/133 & Floppy cables
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 11:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Northants - UK
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to Darkhorse Send a message via Yahoo to Darkhorse

You need to make sure you have the divx codec from http://www.divx.com
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 12:48 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Alternatively purchase an Athlon MP
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 12:56 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

I would advise you aquire more experience before overclocking because you could damage something and I am sure you don't want that. Is 1800+ not fast enough for you ?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2002, 07:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: California
Posts: 25

I guess I need to download the divx codec again. I had the newest just a few days ago. hmm.

I do plan on spending a great deal of time learning how to overclock before I make any changes to my cpu or system.

My last rig was a K-6 III 450+. The speed difference is more then I expected. It is great. However, in reply to your question, "Is 1800+ not fast enough for you ?" I will borrow this quote from another web site as to why people overclock, " Enough is never Enough". Thanks for all of the input and info.

Thanks
Glee
__________________
My System:
Epox 8K3A+ (BIOS: 03/28/2002)
Athlon XP 1800+ AGOGA OC’ed to 1900+
Swiftech MCX462 – 44c to 46c Temp.
ATI 8500DV 64MB
512 MB OCZ PC-2700 CAS 2
(2) Maxtor 40.0GB ATA/133 - 6L040J2
(1) 13.6 Gig ATA/66
Hewlett Packard CD-Writer 9100i
Antec 1080 w/430 True Power
Linksys LNE100Tx Ethernet PCI Card
Windows XP Pro Full OEM - Version 5.1.2600
All the latest VIA drivers & Microsoft Updates
All New Round ata/133 & Floppy cables
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2002, 09:03 AM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

Usualy, when users don't have experience overclocking, it is safer that they do not try to experience on their own PC but rather learn from others(and their mistakes). That way you can't damage your PC and still get some experience.
Anyway, if you deicde to overclock, good luck and be carefull.
__________________

Last edited by Alexandrus; 12th May, 2002 at 09:08 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2002, 11:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: California
Posts: 25

I agree with you that it would be better to work on a cpu other then my own. However, not many are offering up there cpu for me to practice on. I have spend the night reading about 20 reviews on unlocking. I plan on spending time reading each one over a few more times. I will keep ya posted on how things turn out.

Glee
__________________
My System:
Epox 8K3A+ (BIOS: 03/28/2002)
Athlon XP 1800+ AGOGA OC’ed to 1900+
Swiftech MCX462 – 44c to 46c Temp.
ATI 8500DV 64MB
512 MB OCZ PC-2700 CAS 2
(2) Maxtor 40.0GB ATA/133 - 6L040J2
(1) 13.6 Gig ATA/66
Hewlett Packard CD-Writer 9100i
Antec 1080 w/430 True Power
Linksys LNE100Tx Ethernet PCI Card
Windows XP Pro Full OEM - Version 5.1.2600
All the latest VIA drivers & Microsoft Updates
All New Round ata/133 & Floppy cables
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2002, 01:12 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

I didn't say to ask someone to let you practice on their CPU, but if you have a friend with more experience, just spend some time with him and learn. As far as unlocking goes, I have also read a lot of reviews but still I had no success with mine so I had to go have it unlocked at a jewelry store.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2002, 03:15 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

I practiced the glue part of the unlocking on a bare bit of the CPU before I did it over the bridges.

The masking is the most difficult part a little practice is very usefull.

If you have read everything and looked at the videos then you should have a problem.

Good luck.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2002, 01:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: California
Posts: 25

Well I got it unlocked. I won't go into what it took to get it done. So now I need some setting. I want to try running the board Synchronous at 166/166. Could someone give me some setting in the BIOS or point me in the right direction.

Thanks
Glee
__________________
My System:
Epox 8K3A+ (BIOS: 03/28/2002)
Athlon XP 1800+ AGOGA OC’ed to 1900+
Swiftech MCX462 – 44c to 46c Temp.
ATI 8500DV 64MB
512 MB OCZ PC-2700 CAS 2
(2) Maxtor 40.0GB ATA/133 - 6L040J2
(1) 13.6 Gig ATA/66
Hewlett Packard CD-Writer 9100i
Antec 1080 w/430 True Power
Linksys LNE100Tx Ethernet PCI Card
Windows XP Pro Full OEM - Version 5.1.2600
All the latest VIA drivers & Microsoft Updates
All New Round ata/133 & Floppy cables
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2002, 02:20 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

first to into your the Dram timings menu and choose "normal" and by SPD

Then go to the Speed/Voltage menu in the bios and set the Fsb to 166 and the CPU multiplyer to 9.5.

That shouldt be overclocking your CPU or memory, run a few games and benchmarks like that to be sure all is ok.

Once you happy running at 166 you can make your memory timings more agressive and try for higher speeds than 166mhz.
once you have found the fastest speed your memory can go you can try overclocking your FSB.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2002, 05:05 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by glee46
However, in reply to your question, "Is 1800+ not fast enough for you ?" I will borrow this quote from another web site as to why people overclock, " Enough is never Enough".
Hell ya, that's the bank breaking spirit!!

"If it's aint broken, fix it until it is!!"
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2002, 05:08 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by Pinky
"If it's aint broken, fix it until it is!!"
Come on Pinky, Get the OCer's motto correct, it should be:

"If it ain't broke, OC it 'til it is!"
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2002, 02:12 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 70

ATM i am on a swiftech and i have my Epox on a swiftech too!

What CPU do u have? and is it unlocked?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2002, 07:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: California
Posts: 25

I tried the
"Dram timings menu and choose "normal" and by SPD
Then go to the Speed/Voltage menu in the bios and set the Fsb to 166 and the CPU multiplyer to 9.5."

It was a no go.. I guess I need to play around with it to see if I can it oc'ed by other method.

Thanks
Glee
__________________
My System:
Epox 8K3A+ (BIOS: 03/28/2002)
Athlon XP 1800+ AGOGA OC’ed to 1900+
Swiftech MCX462 – 44c to 46c Temp.
ATI 8500DV 64MB
512 MB OCZ PC-2700 CAS 2
(2) Maxtor 40.0GB ATA/133 - 6L040J2
(1) 13.6 Gig ATA/66
Hewlett Packard CD-Writer 9100i
Antec 1080 w/430 True Power
Linksys LNE100Tx Ethernet PCI Card
Windows XP Pro Full OEM - Version 5.1.2600
All the latest VIA drivers & Microsoft Updates
All New Round ata/133 & Floppy cables
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 26th May, 2002, 09:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: California
Posts: 25

It seems like every time that I shutdown and start the computer, the multiplier goes to 11 which turns my XP 1800+ into a XP1700+. Any ideas why this is happening?

Thanks
Glee
__________________
My System:
Epox 8K3A+ (BIOS: 03/28/2002)
Athlon XP 1800+ AGOGA OC’ed to 1900+
Swiftech MCX462 – 44c to 46c Temp.
ATI 8500DV 64MB
512 MB OCZ PC-2700 CAS 2
(2) Maxtor 40.0GB ATA/133 - 6L040J2
(1) 13.6 Gig ATA/66
Hewlett Packard CD-Writer 9100i
Antec 1080 w/430 True Power
Linksys LNE100Tx Ethernet PCI Card
Windows XP Pro Full OEM - Version 5.1.2600
All the latest VIA drivers & Microsoft Updates
All New Round ata/133 & Floppy cables
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2002, 05:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: California
Posts: 25

Of course once I posted the last message it stops dropping the speed down and now is working fine...
__________________
My System:
Epox 8K3A+ (BIOS: 03/28/2002)
Athlon XP 1800+ AGOGA OC’ed to 1900+
Swiftech MCX462 – 44c to 46c Temp.
ATI 8500DV 64MB
512 MB OCZ PC-2700 CAS 2
(2) Maxtor 40.0GB ATA/133 - 6L040J2
(1) 13.6 Gig ATA/66
Hewlett Packard CD-Writer 9100i
Antec 1080 w/430 True Power
Linksys LNE100Tx Ethernet PCI Card
Windows XP Pro Full OEM - Version 5.1.2600
All the latest VIA drivers & Microsoft Updates
All New Round ata/133 & Floppy cables
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Setting up a 8K3A BUMBLE EPoX MotherBoards 4 28th September, 2003 11:33 AM
2100+ Tbred and 8K3A unable to use multiplier setting other than AUTO h4nc0 EPoX MotherBoards 11 23rd March, 2003 03:22 PM
Bios APIC setting on 8RDA+ Aristidis EPoX MotherBoards 0 27th February, 2003 04:40 PM
8K3a AGP Divider Setting in NEXT bios update? EUPHORiA EPoX MotherBoards 9 3rd June, 2002 12:55 AM
Problems setting up 8k3a+ moedank EPoX MotherBoards 1 20th March, 2002 08:35 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0