AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2002, 07:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 25

*Cold Boot and 8K3A+*

I am still occasionally having the cold boot problem, even with the 2415 bios. I thought this was resolved.

It only happens once every fifty times (once a week), I start the computer, the fans spin, led lights up, no post, and no video. I hit the restart button and she fires up fine. I have tried two different PSU's (Antec 400W and Enermax 350W). Different sticks of memory in different dimms, running mainboard out of case, etc. Any idea if this is a concern in the upcoming bios updates or betas?
__________________

Last edited by Srper; 17th May, 2002 at 08:06 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2002, 07:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 25

See components below.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP Barton 2500+ (10.5x200)
Abit NF7 (default voltages)
2x256 Geil PC-3200 3-6-3-3 1T
40GB Maxtor ATA133
Connect3D ATI Radeon 9500
NEC FE950+
Leadtek TV2000XP
Sony CDRW/DVD Combo Drive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2002, 08:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 25

BTW, I am very pleased with the performance of the board. To run 185fsb with turbo settings gets flying. I just want more stability when I am running her at defaults for everyday use.

Another thing I found interesting is that running 133/166, the memory scores are unimpressive. The async feature creates a bottleneck and does not perform. I like to run her at 166/166 (10x166) with fastest settings (not turbo), default voltages, and 66/33 agp/pci. Her memory scores equal the RAMBUS scores (@2500).

http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=3460902
__________________
AMD Athlon XP Barton 2500+ (10.5x200)
Abit NF7 (default voltages)
2x256 Geil PC-3200 3-6-3-3 1T
40GB Maxtor ATA133
Connect3D ATI Radeon 9500
NEC FE950+
Leadtek TV2000XP
Sony CDRW/DVD Combo Drive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th May, 2002, 09:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Land of OZ!
Posts: 168
Send a message via ICQ to MasterPooBaa Send a message via AIM to MasterPooBaa Send a message via Yahoo to MasterPooBaa

cold boot issue.

i got a minor cold boot issue tonite when i came home.

turned on my PC to find that watchdog had for some reason disallowed my current overclock conditions (9x166 @ 1.95v).

wonder why... nothing was wrong with them and the shutdown was nice and orderly like usual the nite before.

ahh well. ill just turn watchdog off
__________________
Why do people put useless PC hardware items into their sig?
I just stick with the important things!
Epox 8K3A+ overclocked.
1Gb PC3200 LL ram.
550W Enermax.
MCX-462 cooler.
nuff said.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2002, 09:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 64

Mime is 8k3a V1.0 so I dont have any led's to look at.
I tried not O/C and stripped down my system but still has the problem. I tried most of the bios (latest offical bios and the last 2 beta bios) but same result.


Below is the cut&paste from Epox Tech:
I am sure that this is not a bug of the BIOS, otherwise we would have had a lot of complaints regarding this.

Provided that your memory is good, setting it to read from SPD should be all that is necessary - there is no need to make unneccessary alterations to the BIOS which may confuse or worsen the issue at hand.

I have Crucial PC2100 256Mb sticks here which we have tested in 8K3A with BIOS from January right through to May with no problems regarding stability or SPD information being gathered by the mainboard. I feel therefore very confident that the mainboard is not the issue here.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2002, 07:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 2

I seem to be having the same issue but its alot more frequent. Has anyone made any progress on this issue?

Krys.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2002, 11:35 AM
Dagalidis's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Patras - GREECE
Posts: 206

Try latest BIOS......


Dimitris.........
__________________
OPTERON 165 UP @ 3300(366×9) 1.425 Vcore
EXOS MODED Watercooling & SOON be Naked CPU

DFI 939 SLI DR
2Χ1GB GSKILL HZ PC4000
Sound Blaster AUDIGY 2
Sound Blaster Megaworks Speakers 2.1 250D THX / 300 WRMS
ALBATRON 7900GTX 512MB@700/900
System Powered By OCZ 600W
===========================
Limits do NOT exist
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2002, 01:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Land of OZ!
Posts: 168
Send a message via ICQ to MasterPooBaa Send a message via AIM to MasterPooBaa Send a message via Yahoo to MasterPooBaa

Talking cold boot probs.

Well its been many months now, and despite trying numerous bios flash versions i still get from time to time my boot freeze problem... but as allways i just fix it with a reset button push while its in warmup phase.

sometimes its at cold boot, once while recovering from a failed OC it was during a warm boot.

Ive just accepted it as part of the computa.
__________________
Why do people put useless PC hardware items into their sig?
I just stick with the important things!
Epox 8K3A+ overclocked.
1Gb PC3200 LL ram.
550W Enermax.
MCX-462 cooler.
nuff said.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2002, 01:39 AM
admajic's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2

I have too noticed this problem with my new Tbred. Didnt have the problem before on my Palamino.

Has cold booted fine a few times but mostly have to hit the reset key, and away she goes. Im useing the BIOS dated 1/11/2002.

Side note: I wish my Corsair RAM was 100% stable at Turbo settings at 185 FSB. It is for say 2 hours of gaming but then hangs!! What Voltage you running through the RAM???
__________________
+ Epox 8K3A + XP1800+ Tbred -> 1920 Mhz @ 1.66 Volts (11.5 X 167) + Antec TruePower 430 + Volcano 7+ +
+ Corsair 512Mb XMS2700 + Gainward 'GS' Ti4200 128MB +
New 3dMark Score of 12898
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2002, 02:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Land of OZ!
Posts: 168
Send a message via ICQ to MasterPooBaa Send a message via AIM to MasterPooBaa Send a message via Yahoo to MasterPooBaa

bug

No, ive had it both with my 1200C, my XP1800+ and my new TbredA XP1700+.

Someone suggest its cauz my video card has got a slow bios or soemthing strange. I dunno.

I have 1 x Corsair 512Mb XMS3200 Cas2.5. And im running at 167Mhz @ Turbo timings everything maxxed out @ 2.6v

Strangely, running the ram with the 1T command rate isn't 100% stable unless i use 2.6v... even down at 133mhz.

but 2.6v... very very good.
__________________
Why do people put useless PC hardware items into their sig?
I just stick with the important things!
Epox 8K3A+ overclocked.
1Gb PC3200 LL ram.
550W Enermax.
MCX-462 cooler.
nuff said.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with COLD BOOT! JeffPh EPoX MotherBoards 4 13th May, 2003 12:38 PM
C26 cold boot issue VASkO EPoX MotherBoards 0 23rd February, 2003 12:07 PM
4PEA+ cold boot Ganondorf EPoX MotherBoards 0 16th February, 2003 09:29 AM
*Cold Boot Problems 8K3A+* Srper EPoX MotherBoards 45 1st June, 2002 03:57 AM
No cold boot :( LutaWicasa Hardware Hacking 6 31st December, 2001 10:14 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0