AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2002, 12:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4

Using all dimm slots = cas 2.5? (8k3a)

Is it true that if you use up all of the dimm slots on the 8k3a mb, you'll be forced to run your dimms @ cas 2.5? http://www.plaudersmilies.de/party/bdayfrown.gif If so, Why?

Im planning on buying 3x256 PC2700 Samsung (single-sided), but now it might be better buying only 2x?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2002, 04:50 PM
K6-III's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 661

Instead of 2x, why not just get a single 512mb stick???
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2002, 05:15 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

This is in order to raise stability of system with multiple dimms.

We all know of the problems that can be faced with multiple dimms unfortunatley.

I believe the SPD data of all PC2700 Samsung is for CAS2.5 if I am right. I think only their PC3200 can have 2T CAS at 166MHz memory clock.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2002, 05:50 PM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

Is that Samsung pc3200 true 400MHz DDR 5ns o is it just overclock rating?
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2002, 09:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4

But i want to play with the memory settings

Are there 512Mb Samsung PC2700 that will overclock aswell as the 256Mb single-sided?

I wanna run my babies in cas2

What should i do?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2002, 08:11 AM
skatan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
This is in order to raise stability of system with multiple dimms.

We all know of the problems that can be faced with multiple dimms unfortunatley.

I believe the SPD data of all PC2700 Samsung is for CAS2.5 if I am right. I think only their PC3200 can have 2T CAS at 166MHz memory clock.

it is also the case 3 dimms = 2t time comand is forced



it´s sad


i just dont understand we have the option on the bios to set 2.5 and 2 cas or 1t or 2t time comand

if it´s unstable for us , we will change it to 2.5 cas and 2t , the forcing is so frustrating


what´s the point for settings like 1t/2t/AUTO in the bios
if they are forced anyway

I mean it makes no sense what so ever in a mobo with such overclocking features and aimed for performance

really sad
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2002, 08:50 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Actually if you think of this (The creation of a motherboard and it's BIOS's) as a development "process" it makes perfect sense. Each Manufacture tries to put EVERYTHING they can into each motherboard in order to be competitive with every other Board maker.

Along the way they of course run into difficulties and pare-down these aspirations to find a "Happy medium" between what they would like to accomplish and what is attainable in the moment.

Stability and speed will ALWAYS be at logger-heads in ANY development process. Therefore a board and it's BIOS's can only be judged by how well this balance is effected.

Look at how much more we are asking a Motherboard to do than just 2 years ago! This was not and cannot be attained with out a few bumps along the way. Everyone wants what they want when they want it..... But not everyone wants the same thing.

Trying to understand consumer preference and meet it in a timely fashion is the name of the game.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 21st May, 2002 at 08:52 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Epox 8K3A + Use of raid ide slots asp EPoX MotherBoards 2 17th October, 2003 03:40 PM
Burning in your DIMM slots... Kameleon EPoX MotherBoards 0 7th September, 2003 02:16 PM
Will you still get the benefits of DUAL-DDR if you populate all 3 DIMM slots? JayJay AMD Motherboards & CPUs 60 12th August, 2003 01:07 AM
Which dimm slot on 8k3a+? mirus EPoX MotherBoards 0 17th March, 2003 01:45 PM
2 sticks of ram on the 8K3A - which slots work best for you? ablaze EPoX MotherBoards 5 20th April, 2002 12:12 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0