AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2002, 01:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 25

*Cold Boot Problems 8K3A+*

Occasionally, I will start the computer after it has been off for a while. The LED will light up, the fans will spin, but no video or post. Also to note, the led on the mainboard (led3) will light, but the POST CODES Led (led4) will not light up. I simply hit the restart button and it will boot up fine.

Like I said, it only happens once and while and it is solved by simply hitting the reset button. I have tried the latest 2508 bios, as well as others. I have tried two seperate PSU's, video cards, memory sticks, etc. I think if the led3 lights up, but led4 does not, then it is a problem with the mainboard.

Tell me if anyone else has ever had cold boot problems with the 8K3A+.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP Barton 2500+ (10.5x200)
Abit NF7 (default voltages)
2x256 Geil PC-3200 3-6-3-3 1T
40GB Maxtor ATA133
Connect3D ATI Radeon 9500
NEC FE950+
Leadtek TV2000XP
Sony CDRW/DVD Combo Drive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2002, 02:07 AM
K6-III's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 661

Which revision do you have???
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2002, 04:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 25

I am not sure, but it has the 6 channel audio. Its only a month old.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP Barton 2500+ (10.5x200)
Abit NF7 (default voltages)
2x256 Geil PC-3200 3-6-3-3 1T
40GB Maxtor ATA133
Connect3D ATI Radeon 9500
NEC FE950+
Leadtek TV2000XP
Sony CDRW/DVD Combo Drive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2002, 06:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 81

well...

I had a problem once where my ram wasn't in all the way...I pushed em in correctly...
but it was loose somhow.... try there?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2002, 06:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 25

If it were a problem like that, then I would get an error on the led#4. The cold boot problem lights led#3 and powers up fans, but led#4 (diagnostic led) does not light, as well as no video or post. Anyway, I tried the memory in multiple slots but it still happens occasionally.

Plus if the memory was not installed right, then by simply pressing the reset button would not work.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP Barton 2500+ (10.5x200)
Abit NF7 (default voltages)
2x256 Geil PC-3200 3-6-3-3 1T
40GB Maxtor ATA133
Connect3D ATI Radeon 9500
NEC FE950+
Leadtek TV2000XP
Sony CDRW/DVD Combo Drive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2002, 08:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 64

Angry

I am glad someone else also has the same problem ;-( )
According to Epox Tech, it was the NOT fault of the mb and the bios and therefore must be my fault and your fault.
Sorry I cannot be more helpful.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2002, 08:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 25

So Epox says it not the motherboard? Then why does one of their bios updates state:

Solved motherboard cold boot issue

I took my mainboard out of the case and ran it for a while with minimal components. It still happened. It only happens about once a week and is solved by hitting the reset button.

Next time it happens, look at the mainboard lights. LED3 will light up for me, but LED4 (diagnostic) will not light. Tell me what lights light up for you when this happens.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP Barton 2500+ (10.5x200)
Abit NF7 (default voltages)
2x256 Geil PC-3200 3-6-3-3 1T
40GB Maxtor ATA133
Connect3D ATI Radeon 9500
NEC FE950+
Leadtek TV2000XP
Sony CDRW/DVD Combo Drive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2002, 08:26 AM
skatan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

try setting the dram clock to SPD



is your system overclocked?



I´m on my third Epox motherboard (all diferent)

and not one of them gave me problems at default configuration :devil:

they have their issues OCed but at default they are mucho stable

and im running Oced 8k3a , and superstable , the limiting factor in my case is the ram and the cpu
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2002, 09:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 64

Mime is 8k3a V1.0 so I dont have any led's to look at.
I tried not O/C and stripped down my system but still has the problem. I tried most of the bios (latest offical bios and the last 2 beta bios) but same result.


Below is the cut&paste from Epox Tech:
I am sure that this is not a bug of the BIOS, otherwise we would have had a lot of complaints regarding this.

Provided that your memory is good, setting it to read from SPD should be all that is necessary - there is no need to make unneccessary alterations to the BIOS which may confuse or worsen the issue at hand.

I have Crucial PC2100 256Mb sticks here which we have tested in 8K3A with BIOS from January right through to May with no problems regarding stability or SPD information being gathered by the mainboard. I feel therefore very confident that the mainboard is not the issue here.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2002, 06:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 81

oh!

so you still have the problem when you only have your agp card in it? cause if I have devices on the same irq share slot's, I'll have problems.....so like.... look in your manual page 4-22 and look at all the slot's that are shared, and mix up your cards so the right ones, <or no cards> share the same irq.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2002, 06:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 25

This is a problem with the mainboard. I run the bios at default and memory set to SPD. No overclocking or increased voltage. I have a 400W PSU Antec, so I am not underpowered. Like I said, it only happens once every 30 starts of a cold computer. The problem is resolved by hitting the reset button. COLD BOOT PROBLEM.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP Barton 2500+ (10.5x200)
Abit NF7 (default voltages)
2x256 Geil PC-3200 3-6-3-3 1T
40GB Maxtor ATA133
Connect3D ATI Radeon 9500
NEC FE950+
Leadtek TV2000XP
Sony CDRW/DVD Combo Drive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2002, 08:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 25

I just got an email from Epox stating that it might be the Gal chip. This makes sense, except for those of you without LED4 (diagnostic led). If it happens once every 30 cold boot attempts, then something is faultering intermittently. I wonder what the actual problem was that Epox addressed when they fixed the cold boot problem?
__________________
AMD Athlon XP Barton 2500+ (10.5x200)
Abit NF7 (default voltages)
2x256 Geil PC-3200 3-6-3-3 1T
40GB Maxtor ATA133
Connect3D ATI Radeon 9500
NEC FE950+
Leadtek TV2000XP
Sony CDRW/DVD Combo Drive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2002, 08:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 25

One thing I must say: Epox has one of the best support systems available. I recieve replies, sometimes within minutes. They always reply to inquiries and seem helpful. I will stay with Epox due to this great service.

To note: I was told that if the Gal chip wasn't working properly, then it would cause some instability.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP Barton 2500+ (10.5x200)
Abit NF7 (default voltages)
2x256 Geil PC-3200 3-6-3-3 1T
40GB Maxtor ATA133
Connect3D ATI Radeon 9500
NEC FE950+
Leadtek TV2000XP
Sony CDRW/DVD Combo Drive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 22nd May, 2002, 12:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 64

What is a Gal chip ?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 22nd May, 2002, 06:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 25

The Gal chip controls the LED4 I believe. I do not know if the non-led4 boards have one.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP Barton 2500+ (10.5x200)
Abit NF7 (default voltages)
2x256 Geil PC-3200 3-6-3-3 1T
40GB Maxtor ATA133
Connect3D ATI Radeon 9500
NEC FE950+
Leadtek TV2000XP
Sony CDRW/DVD Combo Drive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 22nd May, 2002, 06:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 64

Then Gal chip is not the casue of my 8k3a cold boot problem as it probably does not has it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2002, 04:10 AM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

The 8K3A+ I had became so bad with cold and warm boots.
I RMA'd it and returned to NewEgg.
I am getting credit for the mobo, and will not purchase another probably until the KT400's are available.
At first it had a warm boot problem, had to press the reset button several times to get the mobo to start over.
At first it always cold booted.
I contacted Epox tech and requested a new bios chip for the v1.2 mobo.
They sent a bios chip for the v1.1 mobo.
It did fit OK, the bios was the 2312 version.
It did startup but W2k went beserk stating the config was not found to be correct.
I did a repair of the OS, only to find the repair did a new install on the Data end of the hd. NOT the boot drive.
But it did make the data end a bootable drive and even changed all the drive letters in the system.
Then nothing would work. I replaced the chip with the original bios chip and reformatted the OS part in reinstalled.
After this the mobo would not cold boot, or warm boot. So I returned it.
I don't think the 8K3A+ is as good as the 8KHA+ that I have.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2002, 07:03 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by BobyJo
The 8K3A+ I had became so bad with cold and warm boots.
I RMA'd it and returned to NewEgg.
I am getting credit for the mobo, and will not purchase another probably until the KT400's are available.
At first it had a warm boot problem, had to press the reset button several times to get the mobo to start over.
At first it always cold booted.
I contacted Epox tech and requested a new bios chip for the v1.2 mobo.
They sent a bios chip for the v1.1 mobo.
It did fit OK, the bios was the 2312 version.
It did startup but W2k went beserk stating the config was not found to be correct.
I did a repair of the OS, only to find the repair did a new install on the Data end of the hd. NOT the boot drive.
But it did make the data end a bootable drive and even changed all the drive letters in the system.
Then nothing would work. I replaced the chip with the original bios chip and reformatted the OS part in reinstalled.
After this the mobo would not cold boot, or warm boot. So I returned it.
I don't think the 8K3A+ is as good as the 8KHA+ that I have.
There is no difference between a BIOS chip supplied for any of the three revisions of the 8K3A mainboard planar.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2002, 08:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 64

to Epox Tech,

Do you have any solution to the actual problem ?
There are quite a few people reporting the problem already.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2002, 12:54 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

I agree with Epox Tech.
The chip was an exact same design as the chip that came in the mobo.
I don't know why W2k refused to startup. I don't know why it installed a different installation of the OS in the data end of the hd.
The repair never asked me about performing this proceedure.
I do know what happened, I don't know why.
It could have been a defective mobo to start with, but the system did perform great at first, if overlooking the soft boot problem. When it refused to start cold, and warm I knew that the board had to go back.
I just didn't want to return it, and thought I could get it going with a bios chip replacement.
In this case evidently the problem was not the bios chip.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8k7a rev 1.1 2400xp cpu......cold boot problems need some help omega man EPoX MotherBoards 3 26th June, 2003 08:51 PM
Weird 8RDA+ Cold boot problems Beefcake EPoX MotherBoards 8 18th May, 2003 06:10 PM
Help with COLD BOOT! JeffPh EPoX MotherBoards 4 13th May, 2003 12:38 PM
Cold Boot and 8K3A+ Srper EPoX MotherBoards 9 24th December, 2002 02:21 AM
8K3A+ Boot Problems TheImp EPoX MotherBoards 0 12th June, 2002 01:00 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0