AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2001, 10:27 PM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
Hehe, I don't think he needs to worry 'bout that one. Between EPoX Tech and all the other knoledgable folks around here, he is garenteed support. And he will most likely have a great OC to boot.
Support is what you need when you don't know what you're doing or you broke something. I do neither.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2001, 02:12 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Hey EPoX Tech,

Best I can get my board to do is 154FSB with all the memory setting set to "balls to da wall". I can post at 155-160, but win2K will not load. And it will not post beyond 160. I'm thinking it has to be my power supply, as I can't keep the 5v rail were it needs to be and it bounces all over the place. The fact that it will run 154 stable as a rock, and not even load windows at 155(no matter what memory settings are used) seems to also indecate a voltage problem to me.

What are your thoughts? I'm going to buy a better PSU regardless, but your thoughts are appreciated.

Think a VIO mod might help too?
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2001, 04:24 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by Wa11y


Support is what you need when you don't know what you're doing or you broke something. I do neither.
There is no need to offer quip to your forum friends, they are right in suggesting that you do need advice since a lot of your advice is perhaps a little off target.

If everyone accepts help that is correct, and then offers that help on to lots of others, this forum will be a great place for people to come for good advice.

This area here is for myself with the help of my colleagues to assist owners of EPoX products with a view to the forum area being a resource for all EPoX product owners to use it as a live resource.

Others instilling incorrect theory and quipping may only stand to harbour this effort.

Please do not take this as an adverse attack, as it is merely meant to serve as a marker by which we can all make the most of this service which we are offering and make these threads a most rich oasis of current and valid information.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2001, 04:26 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
Hey EPoX Tech,

Best I can get my board to do is 154FSB with all the memory setting set to "balls to da wall". I can post at 155-160, but win2K will not load. And it will not post beyond 160. I'm thinking it has to be my power supply, as I can't keep the 5v rail were it needs to be and it bounces all over the place. The fact that it will run 154 stable as a rock, and not even load windows at 155(no matter what memory settings are used) seems to also indecate a voltage problem to me.

What are your thoughts? I'm going to buy a better PSU regardless, but your thoughts are appreciated.

Think a VIO mod might help too?
A better PSU would definatley help. I have the HEC power supply coming to test today. Would you belive that I was only using a 300W Deep supply for those tests above, otherwise I'd have broken 1600Mhz and 166Mhz FSB as I have done on numerous occasions before.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2001, 05:36 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Remember guys that I'm only using 8KHA (on which the Clock Generator isn't so strong), so my 165MHz was hard fought.

Remember that you may have to drop the multiplier right down to begin with and use VDimm of anyhting upto 3volts to achieve that kind of speed.

8KHA+ has improved capacitation and Clock Generation to 8KHA and as such will surpass 166Mhz more easily.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2001, 06:41 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
8KHA+ has improved capacitation and Clock Generation to 8KHA and as such will surpass 166Mhz more easily.
Can you be specific as to how the capacitation(is that even a word?) was improved. For example was more capacitance added, were capacitor locations optimized, or what? I'll understand if you can't exactly say, but it would be nice to know.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2001, 06:52 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
Can you be specific as to how the capacitation(is that even a word?) was improved. For example was more capacitance added, were capacitor locations optimized, or what? I'll understand if you can't exactly say, but it would be nice to know.
There were improvements made.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2001, 02:44 PM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
Please do not take this as an adverse attack, as it is merely meant to serve as a marker by which we can all make the most of this service which we are offering and make these threads a most rich oasis of current and valid information.
None taken. I admit I'm not Einstein.

I usually don't need "support" in the typical sense, as much as I need "advanced knowledge." Most manuals are enough to get me to where I need to be for the basics. It's just when I get to doing things more advanced than most home users do that I might need some backup. Which is why I'm glad these forums are here.

As for my answers not always being the right ones, all my knowledge has been gained through trial and error not actual schooling, which I hope to be able to fix before too long. So if I post something that doesn't seem right, it's only because I've tried it and it's worked for me. Not to say it's the right answer or a good one, but it's a hack job that I've gotten to work before.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2001, 03:09 PM
WhoBeDaPlaya's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 49
Send a message via ICQ to WhoBeDaPlaya Send a message via AIM to WhoBeDaPlaya

Nice to hear talk of the KT266A. Funny, but other manufacturers (at the moment) seem to be more concerned with their Pentium IV products. Just got an ASUS P4B and an ECS P4IBA in house, and boy are those P4 processors expensive (well, relatively anyway ).

BTW : Is there any way I can correspond with you in private, EPoX Tech? TIA
__________________
JW
www.BlueSmoke.net
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2001, 04:01 PM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

Quote:
Originally posted by WhoBeDaPlaya
Nice to hear talk of the KT266A. Funny, but other manufacturers (at the moment) seem to be more concerned with their Pentium IV products. Just got an ASUS P4B and an ECS P4IBA in house, and boy are those P4 processors expensive (well, relatively anyway ).

BTW : Is there any way I can correspond with you in private, EPoX Tech? TIA
PIV = SUXXORZ!

I'm actually looking for more KT266A boards. I'm impressed that EPoX got theirs out so quickly after the new chip was announced. I think there's only EPoX and MSI, and maybe one other right now. But I'm also glad that the 8KHA+ seems to be such a cherry of a board.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2001, 05:34 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally posted by Wa11y


None taken. I admit I'm not Einstein.

I usually don't need "support" in the typical sense, as much as I need "advanced knowledge." Most manuals are enough to get me to where I need to be for the basics. It's just when I get to doing things more advanced than most home users do that I might need some backup. Which is why I'm glad these forums are here.

As for my answers not always being the right ones, all my knowledge has been gained through trial and error not actual schooling, which I hope to be able to fix before too long. So if I post something that doesn't seem right, it's only because I've tried it and it's worked for me. Not to say it's the right answer or a good one, but it's a hack job that I've gotten to work before.
Very well said Wally!
Nice to know I'm not the only "mess with it until it works" guy out here.
I also agree that having someone who KNOWS why it works as well as the MOST efficient path to making it work is a real eye opener.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 18th October, 2001 at 06:20 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2001, 05:39 PM
irsquirt's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Maistone, Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 46

Socket have one out as well.

EPoX Tech - can you give us any tips as to when the 8KHA2 will appear?
__________________
Researching a new machine - looks like it will be an Athlon XP 1800+ and EPoX EP-8KHA+ with lots of bells and whistles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2001, 05:39 PM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

Quote:
Originally posted by Daniel ~
Very well said Wally!
Nice to know I'm not the only "mess with it until it works" guy out here.
I also agree that having someone who KNOWS why iy works as well as the MOST efficient path to making it work is a real eye opener.
All my education has been at the school of broken computers, where the motto is "Play with it until it breaks, then don't play with it so much next time!" Trial and error is my teacher, and time is my tuition! And working computers are my certifications. Which really doesn't look as impressive on a resumé as you'd think it would.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2001, 05:55 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by irsquirt
Socket have one out as well.

EPoX Tech - can you give us any tips as to when the 8KHA2 will appear?
Soon ......

At this moment you guys know as much as me on this one.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pretty ill Toro Random Nonsense! 15 22nd April, 2007 12:14 PM
Pretty Picture SteveI ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 8 6th February, 2005 06:44 AM
They did pretty well dod Random Nonsense! 2 20th October, 2003 04:38 PM
I'm pretty sure someone wnated this.. Spode Random Nonsense! 29 21st September, 2002 08:34 PM
my HDD is pretty slow.... AMD FANZ EPoX MotherBoards 8 29th August, 2002 06:26 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0