AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2002, 10:09 PM
h4nc0's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Seoul, Korea
Posts: 19

8k3a beeping continuously, and no post

system was working fine and suddenly locked up. I've tried rebooting and it just won't even post anymore. When powered up, motherboard beeps continuously (longer beeps). I've tested RAM and video card in another system, and it's working fine. Tried different CPUs, but it isn't working.

Any idea? Do I have a dead motherboard?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2002, 11:06 PM
SPQQKY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Far From Reality
Posts: 747
Send a message via ICQ to SPQQKY Send a message via AIM to SPQQKY

Continuous beeps with the same amount of pauses between them can mean a bad PSU. In other words, if you hear BEEP-BEEP-BEEP-BEEP_Etc., etc.. You could have a bad PSU. Are you certain it is just constant beeps and not a few quicker ones followed by shorter ones.....anyway, try the PSU and if it doesn't work, check back.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ Windsor @ 2.8GHz
DFI Infinity NF UltraII-M2
2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 pc6400C4
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
ENERMAX EG565AX-VEFMA2.0-SLI ATX12V 535W
3 x Seagate Barracuda 300GB SATA150
160 Gig Seagate Barracuda
Asus Ageia PhysX graphics unit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2002, 11:20 PM
h4nc0's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Seoul, Korea
Posts: 19

Hello Spq,

thanks for the help. I've just tried another PSU, and it still beeps (about 1-1.2sec long beeps) continuously. I am pretty sure it's the motherboard, but have no idea what exactly the problem is.

No post at all. No video output at all. Could it be the BIOS gone bad?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2002, 11:43 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

what does the error code read??? did you clear the cmos- do u have a diff videocard to try in this mahine?>
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th August, 2002, 11:44 PM
h4nc0's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Seoul, Korea
Posts: 19

yes, I did try different video card and same thing. Also, my 8k3a doesn't have the error code LED display. So I have no idea.

I've tried clearning CMOS with both jumper and taking out the battery. No go.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th August, 2002, 01:37 PM
h4nc0's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Seoul, Korea
Posts: 19

ack! turned out to be a dead motherboard. Got it fixed at the A/S center. They said it was something to do with DIMM slot.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th August, 2002, 03:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Portugal
Posts: 56
Send a message via ICQ to Frazas Send a message via MSN to Frazas

Maybe the AGP/PCI bus speeds were too high. I had a continuous beep (Beeeeeeeeeeeeeep, not Beep-Beep-Beep) last night when trying to boot at 165FSB. Cleared the CMOS and all was fine.

By the way, what would be the danger zone for AGP/PCI speeds?
__________________
Main Rig
AMD Athlon XP2600+ cooled with a Thermalright SLK900-U | Vantec Tornado | Epox 8RDA | Hercules Prophet 9700 Pro | 2x512Mb OCZ PC3200/PC3500| 2x WD SE 80Gb 8Mb cache| Chieftec AX-01SLD Aluminium Dragoon case | Enermax 350W | Pioneer 16x DVD-115 | LG CDRW 32x10x40 | Creative SBLive! 5.1 & Creative DTT2200 5.1 | Cooling: 8x80mm fans (3 intake; 2 outake; 2 PSU).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th August, 2002, 03:15 PM
h4nc0's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Seoul, Korea
Posts: 19

Not really. It was running at 66/33mhz @166 FSB. It just turned out to be some physical fault.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help w/8k3a+ won't post jklhill EPoX MotherBoards 4 29th August, 2003 12:47 AM
8k3a continuously reboot Nic EPoX MotherBoards 5 30th May, 2003 01:31 AM
8K3A post failure dsio EPoX MotherBoards 4 5th May, 2003 01:44 PM
8K3a+ Post issues kr0m EPoX MotherBoards 5 18th February, 2003 03:14 AM
No post on my 8k3a+ Ozmodiar EPoX MotherBoards 12 30th July, 2002 09:51 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0