AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th August, 2002, 10:33 PM
Hygge's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 20
Send a message via ICQ to Hygge

Question Northbridge "juice"...

Hey All.

Do any of you guy's, know how to volt-mod the northbridge?
My AGP is allready volt-modded to 1,615 V.
Maybe more volt for the northbridge would give me a increase in FSB!
Mine craps out at 179Mhz FsB, with the 2815 bios . Agp tearing starts at 196Mhz. Done with 2719.

My sys:
Epox 8K3A+ w. XP1600 "agoia" *H2O*
2x256mb Samsung PC2700 ctl3
Radeon 8500 w. G-Orb 'N' T&T heatsinkz
WinXP Eng.
__________________
A CPU works on smoke! let it out and the chip stops working...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th August, 2002, 11:59 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Can you please detail how you Vmodded your AGP, and did you see any appreciable gains from doing so ?
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th August, 2002, 01:20 AM
WyrmMaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 253

On my board it involves soddering a resistor accross a chip on the upper right hand corner. Didnt notice much difference, but it may have helped some.
__________________

Watercooled Barton 2500+ AGOIA-Y @ 2300 (11.5x200) 1.85v
Epox 8RDA
1gb OCZ PC3200, 2-2-2-6
eVGA Geforce 4 TI4400
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th August, 2002, 09:44 PM
Hygge's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 20
Send a message via ICQ to Hygge

WyrmMaster>>>Your board are not the same, so no go there. On yours it's pretty easy!

Holst>>> I had a friend, doing it for me. SMD soldering is not my specialty! If I remember correctly: resistants was upped from 1500 to 1720 Ohm. The resistor is right under the Dimm-slots, nr.: R469
One thing I do remember, 1800Ohm and you get 2,54Volts on the AGP. The Geforce 4, we used survived! We will re-solder it with a pot-meter. I think you should do that to.

I still need that "mod" For the Northbridge
__________________
A CPU works on smoke! let it out and the chip stops working...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2002, 12:45 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Is there a guide to 8k3a+ AGP mod (I cant find one)

If not would you or your friend be kind enough to write one (or give me detailed instructions and I will)
It would be very helpfull to AOAmembers.

Welcome to the forum.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2002, 02:49 AM
nfrenay's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Brazil
Posts: 573
Send a message via ICQ to nfrenay

Hey, where did that guy go ?

I would like to know how he did that too...
__________________
- EPoX 8K3A+ rev 1.2 (BIOS 3414)
- XP 1700+ "JIUGB" @ 1979MHz @ 1.65V
- Home-made WaterCooler
- 512Mb Kingston Hyper-X PC2700 @ 2-2-6-2-1 @ 198MHz @ 2.67V
- MSI GF4 Ti4400 VIVO
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2002, 04:22 AM
WyrmMaster's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Posts: 253

Yah, i know its a different board, i was more posting to answere holsts question about any gains from it. I didnt up the voltage very much though.
__________________

Watercooled Barton 2500+ AGOIA-Y @ 2300 (11.5x200) 1.85v
Epox 8RDA
1gb OCZ PC3200, 2-2-2-6
eVGA Geforce 4 TI4400
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2002, 05:36 PM
Hygge's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 20
Send a message via ICQ to Hygge

Okay, WyrmMaster.

Holst ,I will try to send some details about the "AGP Mod". See up I can get some pictures of it to! It will properly be without the pot soldered on to it. Give me a few days

Btw. Thanks for the welcome!
__________________
A CPU works on smoke! let it out and the chip stops working...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2002, 06:08 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Increase VDimm perhaps ???
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2002, 07:00 PM
Hygge's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 20
Send a message via ICQ to Hygge

I have tryout 3,1V on the ram and they just don't give a ****. The first board I had, ran 215FsB with the ram all the way. But then 3 of the 6 mosfet transistors blew up(puff)! Got the RMA board that I have now, but it can't even go over 196Mhz Fsb without tearing,sucks! 193Mhz without Agp-Mod.
I need more.
__________________
A CPU works on smoke! let it out and the chip stops working...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 29th August, 2002, 07:21 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

what bios is this with ?

the newer bios are much more agressive so FSB clocks are lower.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fresh from it's "sucess?" with Vista, MS introduces "Milan!" Daniel ~ OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 1 30th May, 2007 04:11 PM
Fresh from it's "sucess?" with Vista, MS introduces "Milan!" Daniel ~ OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 30th May, 2007 03:48 PM
"AMD: Bringing "Torrenza" and "Fusion" Together" Daniel ~ AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 20th March, 2007 02:59 AM
Latest ATI "R600," "R610" and "R630" details danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 9th January, 2007 10:44 AM
"Fail-safe" or "Optimized-defaults" for flashing? Frazas EPoX MotherBoards 16 12th March, 2003 06:25 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0