AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2002, 09:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Portugal
Posts: 56
Send a message via ICQ to Frazas Send a message via MSN to Frazas

Lower benchmark scores with higher FSB?? (8K3A)

You guys have to check this out because what I tested last night doesn't make any sence.

Out of curiosity I wanted to see what was the difference of having higher FSB speeds by benching my CPU at the same frequency (1922mhz) but at different FSB speeds (167*11.5 and 183*10.5).

I used 3DMark, Codecreatures, VulpineGL and Aquamark.

Here are the scores:
3DMark2001

167*11.5
10336 3DMarks
183*10.5
9679 3DMarks

Codecreatures
167*11.5
http://pwp.netcabo.pt/0228435401/codecreatures166.jpg

183*10.5
http://pwp.netcabo.pt/0228435401/codecreatures183.jpg

VulpineGL

167*11.5
http://pwp.netcabo.pt/0228435401/vgl166.jpg

183*10.5
http://pwp.netcabo.pt/0228435401/vgl182.jpg

With Aquamark I didn't take any pictures but I can tell you tha I had lower scores with higher FSB.

I am using the latest 2815 BIOS.

Can you guys explain this?
__________________
Main Rig
AMD Athlon XP2600+ cooled with a Thermalright SLK900-U | Vantec Tornado | Epox 8RDA | Hercules Prophet 9700 Pro | 2x512Mb OCZ PC3200/PC3500| 2x WD SE 80Gb 8Mb cache| Chieftec AX-01SLD Aluminium Dragoon case | Enermax 350W | Pioneer 16x DVD-115 | LG CDRW 32x10x40 | Creative SBLive! 5.1 & Creative DTT2200 5.1 | Cooling: 8x80mm fans (3 intake; 2 outake; 2 PSU).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2002, 10:39 AM
baller02's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: swiss
Posts: 113

i have the same problem look here 8k3a 2812 bios is FAST, It appears to have CPU fast decode enabled !

over 179 fsb some hidden timings changed.
check the link, i wrote a tweak.

i guess that only poeple with max mem timings have this problem.
poeple with low mem timings don't recognize a change in performance.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2002, 10:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Portugal
Posts: 56
Send a message via ICQ to Frazas Send a message via MSN to Frazas

Does this happen with every BIOS?

PS: I have tried some of the setting that you posted in that thread and they hosed my system... I'll have to check on them again.
__________________
Main Rig
AMD Athlon XP2600+ cooled with a Thermalright SLK900-U | Vantec Tornado | Epox 8RDA | Hercules Prophet 9700 Pro | 2x512Mb OCZ PC3200/PC3500| 2x WD SE 80Gb 8Mb cache| Chieftec AX-01SLD Aluminium Dragoon case | Enermax 350W | Pioneer 16x DVD-115 | LG CDRW 32x10x40 | Creative SBLive! 5.1 & Creative DTT2200 5.1 | Cooling: 8x80mm fans (3 intake; 2 outake; 2 PSU).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2002, 10:59 AM
baller02's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: swiss
Posts: 113

it happens with all bios versions i tried.
you must have good ram to use this registers.
i have samsung pc 2700 ctl cb3.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2002, 11:00 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

If you use WPCRedit you can get the performance back, but you need good memory to do it. I drop about 15-20 max fsb by using those tweaks, but its faster.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2002, 11:01 AM
baller02's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: swiss
Posts: 113

trie bios version 2812
this bios version has the same performance as 2312 and for me these registers work on this too
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2002, 11:04 AM
baller02's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: swiss
Posts: 113

if epox people read this, please give us bios version that don't change hidden timings when fsb increase.

thx
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2002, 11:27 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Memory that can handle such features at such clock rates is very rare at this point in time.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2002, 11:50 AM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

I dont blame epox at all for the low performance at high FSB, makes more sense to make it run at those speeds, and have a few complain that its not running to potential, and those that care will do the tweaks so all is well. But if they allowed the whole shebang out of the box, they would have loads of "your board sucks i cant get 180fsb" type emails. which we all know are a load of cobblers
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2002, 12:15 PM
baller02's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: swiss
Posts: 113

epox may release overclocker bios versions like this bios for the 8kha+ and post it on other sites like k7jo.
all bios versions apart from 2312 and 2812 have bad performance but when i need another bios version if a new processor is released i don't wonna tweak everything to get performance where it should be.
when i set max timings in a bios, i must have good quality ram and this should overtaken into real performance gain.
if i have low quality ram i set ram timings to normal or fast.
but with epox bios version people with good quality ram can't get the maximum perfomance they coulfd have.
i don't wanna push my system over 200 mhz to get the same performance with a good bios at 180 mhz.
180 mhz fsb gives me also a better chance that pci cards can handle this speed.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2002, 12:19 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

RN - ever unjumbled the phrase Wall Head Bick Up Banging Like !!!
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2002, 12:27 PM
baller02's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: swiss
Posts: 113

if people don't reach high fsb because they have low qualitiy hardware it is not epox fault, but overclocker buy high quality hardware to reach maximum performance.
what sense did it made when i overclock my system and performance is bad.
don't change timings at higher fsb and only poeple with quality ram could reach high fsb.
poeple with low quality ram now reach high fsb but don't get a performance boost what sense did that make.
if theire ram can't handle this speeds it isn't epox fault.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2002, 01:13 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

If you are a true performance user who needs every last bit of performance then you will allready be running WPCRset to tweak your board, so adding a few other registers to change shouldt be an issue.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 4th September, 2002, 12:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Portugal
Posts: 56
Send a message via ICQ to Frazas Send a message via MSN to Frazas

Well, my RAM can'r handle those setting, and if I have better performance with a lower fsb, you can bet I won't raise it just for "bragging". If I get better performance with lower FSB's I will use lower FSB's.
__________________
Main Rig
AMD Athlon XP2600+ cooled with a Thermalright SLK900-U | Vantec Tornado | Epox 8RDA | Hercules Prophet 9700 Pro | 2x512Mb OCZ PC3200/PC3500| 2x WD SE 80Gb 8Mb cache| Chieftec AX-01SLD Aluminium Dragoon case | Enermax 350W | Pioneer 16x DVD-115 | LG CDRW 32x10x40 | Creative SBLive! 5.1 & Creative DTT2200 5.1 | Cooling: 8x80mm fans (3 intake; 2 outake; 2 PSU).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why does "faster" PC have lower Sandra memory scores? TrevorS AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 6th June, 2005 06:58 AM
Higher speed..lower score...wha.? Rondog AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 30th March, 2005 03:17 AM
Benchmark Scores WAY down disneyland AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 7th November, 2003 11:11 AM
Lower Mem Scores with faster FSB? tellis100 EPoX MotherBoards 6 18th June, 2002 01:51 PM
8K3A+ - What? Low mem scores? What? AudiMan EPoX MotherBoards 31 28th April, 2002 02:54 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0