AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th September, 2002, 07:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 51

1/6 divider on KT400

Just read overclockers.com article about KT400. I was wondering if Epox tech would be able to confirm that this 1/6 divider would be included on KT400 mbds. I realise i might be setting myself up for the "wait and see" answer but would hope that Epox could reveal if this function would be included. Sorry if i missed smething but was curious.
__________________
Rig 1
Ep8RDA+ v1.1 (Vdd mod 1.85v) XP2500 AQZEA 0332 @ 2460MHz (205x12) Swiftech MCW462H Waterblock in Xaser II ally case
rig2
Ep8RDA+ v2.2 XP2500-M AQYHA 0410 @ 2640MHz, ATI 9800Pro, TwinMOS 3200 ram, LRWW Wb in GW-YCC6XF1 case.
NEW-mbike+rigs
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th September, 2002, 08:04 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

"Wait and see- so you dont get banned" :-\ srry!
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th September, 2002, 09:08 AM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

I am pretty sure the KT400 has 1/6 PCI divider since it can run DDR400 independant of FSB setting. Although DDR400 support is not among the official features, I am pretty sure we'll see some good boards from EPoX and ABIT that will be able to run stable with at least one bank of DDR400.
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th September, 2002, 01:11 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

KT400 is very similar to KT333 in many ways.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th September, 2002, 01:19 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

But surely it must have 1/6 PCI divider since most motherboard manufacturers claim their board supports DDR400.
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th September, 2002, 01:27 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

To support DDR 400 you need a 1.5X memory multiplyer (133x1.5= 200)
In a similar way to KT333 having a multiplyer of 1.25 (133x1.25 = 166)
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th September, 2002, 01:32 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by Alexandrus
But surely it must have 1/6 PCI divider since most motherboard manufacturers claim their board supports DDR400.
Memory support is a completely seperate issue to PCI ratio - they are not linked in any way whatsoever.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 8th September, 2002, 05:00 PM
retrospooty's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Silicon Valley Ca.
Posts: 407
Send a message via Yahoo to retrospooty

Quote:
Originally posted by The Spyder
"Wait and see- so you dont get banned" :-\ srry!
Yes... definatly a "taboo" subject around here.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 9th September, 2002, 12:35 AM
K6-III's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 661

I'll just "wait and see" and hope the 8RDA+ has the 1/6 pci divider or pci lock like the Asus A7N266-C.....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 9th September, 2002, 03:15 AM
nfrenay's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Brazil
Posts: 573
Send a message via ICQ to nfrenay

Something that bothers me is that there isn't any KT400 review right now that really tests maximum FSB... The ones that have unlocked CPUs have crappy memory... The other ones don't even have an unlocked CPU... (Damn, even I unlocked mine :-D ).

Let's "WAIT AND SEE" then...
__________________
- EPoX 8K3A+ rev 1.2 (BIOS 3414)
- XP 1700+ "JIUGB" @ 1979MHz @ 1.65V
- Home-made WaterCooler
- 512Mb Kingston Hyper-X PC2700 @ 2-2-6-2-1 @ 198MHz @ 2.67V
- MSI GF4 Ti4400 VIVO
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 9th September, 2002, 05:16 AM
K6-III's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 661

.....BTW, what ever happened to the SIS745-based Epox 8S7A???
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 9th September, 2002, 09:14 AM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech


Memory support is a completely seperate issue to PCI ratio - they are not linked in any way whatsoever.
So I guess no 1/6 PCI divider ? If that is so, then it really sets the chipset back, because just for AGP 8X the KT400 isn't worth buying, especially with all the DDR400 problems.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 9th September, 2002, 02:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 51

Quote:
Originally posted by Alexandrus


So I guess no 1/6 PCI divider ? If that is so, then it really sets the chipset back, because just for AGP 8X the KT400 isn't worth buying, especially with all the DDR400 problems.
Yes, that's my concern too.
__________________
Rig 1
Ep8RDA+ v1.1 (Vdd mod 1.85v) XP2500 AQZEA 0332 @ 2460MHz (205x12) Swiftech MCW462H Waterblock in Xaser II ally case
rig2
Ep8RDA+ v2.2 XP2500-M AQYHA 0410 @ 2640MHz, ATI 9800Pro, TwinMOS 3200 ram, LRWW Wb in GW-YCC6XF1 case.
NEW-mbike+rigs
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 9th September, 2002, 04:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 190

Speaking "out of school", it has been confirmed that the Abit KD7 (KT400) bios and also in the manual, has a 1/6 divider option, so if the chipset supports it, which it aparently does, I don't see whay Epox wouldn't give us the option.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 9th September, 2002, 05:51 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

I would love to see those two in action, the 8K9A2+ and the KD7-RAID. Now that would be a great clash of the titans.
__________________
Do not push that button, you have no idea what it...BZZZZZT....does !
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 9th September, 2002, 06:26 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by xgman
Speaking "out of school", it has been confirmed that the Abit KD7 (KT400) bios and also in the manual, has a 1/6 divider option, ...
That sounds really cool... Can you provide a link? I'd love to read up on it.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 9th September, 2002, 07:31 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally posted by Alexandrus


So I guess no 1/6 PCI divider ? If that is so, then it really sets the chipset back, because just for AGP 8X the KT400 isn't worth buying, especially with all the DDR400 problems.
Please explain on what bases you make your "guess"? Certiainly not on anything posted in this thread?

Sometimes "waiting" is all that keeps us from our folly.":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 9th September, 2002 at 07:34 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 9th September, 2002, 07:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 190

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveI


That sounds really cool... Can you provide a link? I'd love to read up on it.
I don't have a link right now, but I have seen at least 6 various post re: the abit bios and also those that downloaded the manual from Abit that said it was in there.

Here is one:

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...&threadid=2723
__________________

Last edited by xgman; 9th September, 2002 at 08:16 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 9th September, 2002, 07:59 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

I downloaded the same manual and it does state 1/6
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 9th September, 2002, 09:13 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I've seen other message boards, and everyone is saying that 1/6 is there in the Abit, but not one reviewer.
I think I'll take a look through that manual myself when I have a chance. Thanks.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1.3Ghz Duron on a VIA KT400 MBoard... Afrohorse AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 22nd November, 2002 08:42 PM
Premium KT400 mainboard??? evilernie EPoX MotherBoards 6 16th October, 2002 10:24 PM
KT400 epox board? Memphis Raines EPoX MotherBoards 10 5th October, 2002 06:53 PM
KT400 boards Holst AMD Motherboards & CPUs 24 23rd September, 2002 02:13 PM
KT400 at CeBit? evilernie EPoX MotherBoards 3 6th March, 2002 12:05 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0