AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th September, 2002, 07:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 16

Unhappy Problem with 8kta3+

Hi there

I'm having some problems with this sys:

Epox 8kta3+
AMD Duron 800mhz (FOP 38+AS3)
512 mb RAM pc133
Asus V7700 32mb pure
Sb Live!
Realtek NIC
Hd 40gb Seagate
HP 9100i CDRW

Nothing is OC'ed


I was using WindowsME perfectly for about a year or so.
Then I decided to upgrade to XP.
First, i downloaded the latest BIOS from Epox's website for my board and tried to flash it. This is where the problems began ( i think).
When atempting to flash (reboot with a minimal boot floppy), i got a msg saying something about a checksum error and that the bios i was trying to flash wasn't an original one. But it flashed ok (i guess).

NOTE : My mobo came with the infamous locked BIOS chip. I contacted epox and they sent me a working one pronto.

Ok. Then i installed windows XP.

Everything was ok during the installation but if i turned off my computer for a long time (overnight) and tried to turn on again i'd always get an BSOD saying IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL a couple of times before XP could load itself properly. Once in there, everything was ok.

I learned to live with that error (i couldn't fix it no matter what i tried) and everything was fine for about 4 months.
Then other day, i was playing Operation flashpoint and the game crashed to desktop. I decided to restart the machine. When windows was turning off the BSOD came up with the same error (it never appeared when shutting down, only at start up). I restarted manually and it never got in to Windows anymore. It gives me the BSOD everytime when loading even if i restart 50 times.

Since i didn't want to loose any files i had in my windows xp HD, i installed other HDD and attempted to install XP there so i could access the other HDD (NTFS) from it. This is the weirdest part. When trying to install, after the first boot during installation i get that BSOD. Always. Sometimes with a different msg.

So i installed Windows ME again on this other HDD. It installed fine, but sometimes (3 out of 4 attempts) it gives me a BSOD when loading, just like Windows XP used to.

Here's what i tried:
A LOT of different BIOS settings;
Tried installing with only the basic system (vid card, one memory module, cpu, hdd floppy and cd);
Flash to an older bios (i also get the same checksum error, no matter what bios version i try).

By elimination, it must be either the vid card or the mobo. Am i right?
What does that checksum error means? Could my BIOS be corrupted?

Any suggestion would be great.

Thanks and sorry for the long text.
Spilson
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th September, 2002, 01:23 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

What version of Highpoint BIOS was supplied on the BIOS chip that you were sent in replacement ?

What version of Highpoint drivers have you applied by floppy disk during XP setup ??
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th September, 2002, 08:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 16

Unhappy

Thanks for the awnser

I belive it was version 2.01019

Since i wasn't using RAID nor any of the highpoint controlled IDE ports, i turned it off in the BIOS before installing Windows XP, so i didn't used any driver for it.

Thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th September, 2002, 09:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 16

Any other suggestions?

Thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th September, 2002, 09:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 16

Some more info:

The BSODs i get in WinME is always about VxD stuff.
Someone told me that these VxD problems are usually related to power issues.

I checked my BIOS and my voltages are as the following (at idle):

3.3V at 3.3V
12V at 12V
5V at 4.73V

I have a cheap 300W PSU

Since the 5V line is low, i was wondering if this could be a power issue indeed.

?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with 8KTA3+ kosmo42o EPoX MotherBoards 0 22nd January, 2004 06:32 PM
8kta3+pro bios-problem boomboom EPoX MotherBoards 3 3rd May, 2003 09:41 AM
8kta3 Pro and XP2400 problem Legin76 EPoX MotherBoards 9 24th April, 2003 12:13 PM
EP-8KTA3+pro BIOS upgrade problem donald OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 17th March, 2003 03:45 PM
EP-8KTA3+pro BIOS upgrade problem donald EPoX MotherBoards 1 17th March, 2003 12:54 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0