AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2002, 01:15 PM
*JeSuS*'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: GunCheSter
Posts: 15
Send a message via ICQ to *JeSuS* Send a message via AIM to *JeSuS* Send a message via Yahoo to *JeSuS*

8K3A+.....Bios Settings Peeps ???

Hi

anyone got any decent (recommended) bios settings for this m/b ??

bios is latest (6.00) i think.

Full spec:-

2200xp
Gainward4600
256mb of Winbond 2700
Aureal Vortex 2
3com nic
Maxtor ata133 20gig


Just lookin at all the AGP and MEMORY settings....and i know nout about em
Apperture size ?
me been playin around with it all as i been getting NVOGNT.DLL crashes in XP vs Halflife.

i changed a couple of things in bios(lowered apperture rate)....also changed to latest Omega drivers...
but when im in servers(not all, my lan server is fine)im getting drops of frames down to 50fps.......FeCKtHAT....with my setup i NEVER want to see my fps go under 100.

Please any help or addvice would be spinky

TIA
__________________
Check The Worlds Best Comps

reko02@ntlworld.com
ICQ: 95667278
-=HLDM Clan Since 2000=-
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2002, 01:29 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Firstly your not allowed non allied site links or pictures in your sig.
You can upload that Pic as an avatar though.

AGP settings - set appeture to 128 and enable everything else.
Memory - choose turbo timings, if your PC is unstable drop back to fastest or increase VDIMM.

Dont use those omega drivers just get the latest from www.nvidia.com

Than go into openGl/directX settings in display settings and disable Vsync that will stop your FPS halving in games.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2002, 02:39 PM
*JeSuS*'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: GunCheSter
Posts: 15
Send a message via ICQ to *JeSuS* Send a message via AIM to *JeSuS* Send a message via Yahoo to *JeSuS*

Thx M8.....But No Vsync ????

i didnt pay £300 for a choppy screen....aint no way m8
__________________
Check The Worlds Best Comps

reko02@ntlworld.com
ICQ: 95667278
-=HLDM Clan Since 2000=-
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2002, 02:43 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

Vsync actually lowers your frame rate, it essentially forces the graphics card refresh rate to match the monitors. As far as i understand it.

50FPS is perfectly fine by the way!

Oddly back in the early days, when I had a K7-500 and GF256DDR i was getting 700fps :S now on my XP1466 and radeon 8500, i get 70! wierd!
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2002, 02:54 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
Oddly back in the early days, when I had a K7-500 and GF256DDR i was getting 700fps
I assume fps here is the old skool Frames Per Solar Cycle
not the modern frames per second.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2002, 02:18 AM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

If VSYNC is enabled you'll have to set refresh rate to 100hz to get 100fps, also you may have to put the FPS_MAX 99 or FPS_MODEM 99 commands into the half life console.
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8K3A+ RAM Settings Draqo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 21st July, 2003 03:00 PM
[8k3a+] UDMA settings in HighPoint controller nfrenay EPoX MotherBoards 8 17th April, 2003 04:40 PM
Mem Bios Settings mcentee EPoX MotherBoards 0 6th March, 2003 10:35 PM
8k3a+ / fastest timing settings for Samsung PC2700 CAS3 memory ? arosene EPoX MotherBoards 1 25th February, 2003 07:50 AM
8k3a irq settings shroomalistic EPoX MotherBoards 1 8th November, 2002 10:36 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:32 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0