AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2002, 06:57 AM
prophetz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 102

Well here it is!!

Got my new psu. Still cant get it any higher than 190fsb. Get a hard drive boot mount error! Also got a windows XP error about my vid card driver when I try to use fastest or turbo settings. Looks like I am stuck with normal! I can get it up to 2150 MHz but the FSB is much lower as you would know!
Attached Thumbnails
Well here it is!!-cpuid.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2002, 03:29 PM
bldegle2's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 222

Cool FSB

Don't fret over the FSB thing.

Heck, if you take a step back, reduce the FSB to around 184, adjust the x to max your clock, you will find the system will respond better and not have strange little things going on. Plus, you can rely on that ram to run at tight settings without strange probs.

Been there, done that.

Frankly, it is the VIA chipset and it limitations.

You can do what you want, I still like to find out what my chips will do max, but for most day to day stuff and gaming, you got to stick with the 184 or so.

BTW, did I mention your system will be faster and smoother at the 184 and below, no matter what ram you are running.

There are exceptions to this, some of the VIA chipsets run better than most (kinda like a cpu, heh?) and can get incredible clockage, but still AGP tearing above certain levels.

And if you are going to come back with the benches, screw the benches, your VIA system will run better, faster, smoother and solid as a rock at the 184 or below.

But what do i know?, I have been at this for over ten years, so my database knowledge in limited to those just ten years of close observation in MY computer kitchen, so to speak. Been all over the map, Peltiers, exotic etraction setups, and I have always been into fans, lots of air flowage.

But what do I know?

Are we having fun yet?

baldy
__________________
Opty's 939 single and dual, DFI, AsRock, Gskill & Team, clocked of course...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2002, 03:42 PM
bldegle2's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 222

Cool adendum

ran out of time to edit:

There are exceptions to this, some of the VIA chipsets run better than most (kinda like a cpu, heh?) and can get incredible clockage, but still AGP tearing above certain levels. And, when you do get the higher FSB clockage, you will encounter other probs, like memory dumps and strange crud with the OS or probs with recognition of USB items, like my Wingman Force Feedback, did that with every boot @the 206FSB, so I had to recalibrate with every hiccup boot. Pauses and hesitation with the NIC, no matter which brand I throw at it. Strange pauses in rendering with Photoshop at the higher FSB's. Sometimes freezing because you overloaded the system with just too many mouse clicks, yeah, that is a good one. This is a partial list.

And if you are going to come back with the benches, screw the benches, your VIA system will run better, faster, smoother and solid as a rock at the 184 or below.

But what do i know?, I have been at this for over ten years, so my database knowledge in limited to those just ten years of close observation in MY computer kitchen, so to speak. Been all over the map, Peltiers, exotic etraction setups, and I have always been into fans, lots of air flowage.

But what do I know?

Are we having fun yet?

Clock on.

baldy
__________________
Opty's 939 single and dual, DFI, AsRock, Gskill & Team, clocked of course...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2002, 03:53 AM
prophetz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 102

Well I took the fsb down to 184fsb @ 11X. When I play a game like DAOC it will drop at the desktop after about 10 or so min. Any ideas on that one? GF3ti200 with latest drivers.
__________________
Mobo Epox 8KDa3+
Athlon 64 3200+
Crucial DDR400 1 gig
ATI 9800 XT
On board 7.1 sound
on board lan (gig)
37gigRaptor 10K sata
40 gig IBM 7200
Optorite dvd RW
Plextor cdrw
Aopen cdrw
Water cooling by Asetek
AKA: Liquid_cool


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2002, 08:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Colchester
Posts: 5

Your voltage is a stock try upping it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2002, 09:44 PM
prophetz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 102

Tried it again @ 1.8V. Still did it. What is a safe Voltage setting. I stay around 36c and 43c on the cpu under full load!
__________________
Mobo Epox 8KDa3+
Athlon 64 3200+
Crucial DDR400 1 gig
ATI 9800 XT
On board 7.1 sound
on board lan (gig)
37gigRaptor 10K sata
40 gig IBM 7200
Optorite dvd RW
Plextor cdrw
Aopen cdrw
Water cooling by Asetek
AKA: Liquid_cool


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2002, 09:48 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

There isnt a huge danger from high voltage as long as you have good enough cooling.

Ive been runing my CPUs at 2.2v for a long time with no ill effects, but I have watercooling.

Try increasing the voltage if there is a benefit, if you start to have crashes after periods of high load (overheating) then you will have to drop back.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2002, 09:50 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

if you are crashing after 10 minutes high load then you might be overheating.

Try running a windows benchmark such as toast and keep an eye on temperatures with MM5, if you find that you crash once you hit a specific temperature then that might be your problem.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2002, 10:44 PM
prophetz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 102

Highest I have had it was 1.8V And it go no ware near 50 deg. I dont think my tmps are an issue. I keep close tabs on the tmps when I start to overclock a system. I will try a higher V later on when I get home. Highest the cpu has ever gone heat wise is 46 deg. I had no case fans on at the time, but the side was off of the case! The other thing is I cant run my mem at anything but normal settings! Any ideas there?
__________________
Mobo Epox 8KDa3+
Athlon 64 3200+
Crucial DDR400 1 gig
ATI 9800 XT
On board 7.1 sound
on board lan (gig)
37gigRaptor 10K sata
40 gig IBM 7200
Optorite dvd RW
Plextor cdrw
Aopen cdrw
Water cooling by Asetek
AKA: Liquid_cool


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 4th October, 2002, 12:28 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

if you have no case fans your memory or northbridge may be getting too hot. Try blowing some air directly onto the board and see if you can get any better results.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 4th October, 2002, 01:25 AM
prophetz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 102

I have a 120 mm intake fan and 3 80 mm exhaust fans. I have a delta on my pep66 keeping my cpu real cool. When I did it the first time I didnt have fans installed cuz of a case switch! I also have a fan on my north bridge!
__________________
Mobo Epox 8KDa3+
Athlon 64 3200+
Crucial DDR400 1 gig
ATI 9800 XT
On board 7.1 sound
on board lan (gig)
37gigRaptor 10K sata
40 gig IBM 7200
Optorite dvd RW
Plextor cdrw
Aopen cdrw
Water cooling by Asetek
AKA: Liquid_cool


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 4th October, 2002, 12:39 PM
prophetz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 102

Took the multi up to 11 @ 184 FSB and 1.85V. Still throws me back to the desk top. Maybe tomarrow I will remove everything but what I need in the computer and try it again.
__________________
Mobo Epox 8KDa3+
Athlon 64 3200+
Crucial DDR400 1 gig
ATI 9800 XT
On board 7.1 sound
on board lan (gig)
37gigRaptor 10K sata
40 gig IBM 7200
Optorite dvd RW
Plextor cdrw
Aopen cdrw
Water cooling by Asetek
AKA: Liquid_cool


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 4th October, 2002, 12:43 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

the PEP66 is doing a damn fine job of cooling that CPU! didnt know they were still competetive sinks!
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 4th October, 2002, 01:33 PM
prophetz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 102

I have always liked my pep66! I can see no reason to go and buy another one. I talked to my friend bart lane at 1coolpc, he told me the same thing. Stay with what you have! I laped it, keep it clean, and use a delta 60mm on it. Works real nice! I have over clocked every machine I have ever owned. My last 2 I had for well over a year with ZERO problems. After I got this rig, It seems that I have a learning curve to get over. I am getting there. Just going to take a lil more time!
__________________
Mobo Epox 8KDa3+
Athlon 64 3200+
Crucial DDR400 1 gig
ATI 9800 XT
On board 7.1 sound
on board lan (gig)
37gigRaptor 10K sata
40 gig IBM 7200
Optorite dvd RW
Plextor cdrw
Aopen cdrw
Water cooling by Asetek
AKA: Liquid_cool


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 4th October, 2002, 09:23 PM
prophetz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 102

Got one question. Does the beta bios 2909 I think it is. Does it set the mem timings to agressive automaticly? Although it says normal in the bios, I thought I read on here that the beta bios did that. Just wondering and trying to get an idea on my system. Thanks
__________________
Mobo Epox 8KDa3+
Athlon 64 3200+
Crucial DDR400 1 gig
ATI 9800 XT
On board 7.1 sound
on board lan (gig)
37gigRaptor 10K sata
40 gig IBM 7200
Optorite dvd RW
Plextor cdrw
Aopen cdrw
Water cooling by Asetek
AKA: Liquid_cool


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2002, 01:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 35

prophetz:

I had the same problem with my GF3 Ti500 and 8K3a+ eg. if I set my memory timing at anything higher than NORMAL, my comp would freeze as soon as it had gotten to Welcome screen. I did a little digging on that in forums and found a solution:

In your WPCRSET add new register and add these settings to the fields: Bus 0, Device 1, Function 0; Register 40, Data 81...
Reboot and voila, you can sett your memory timings as high as your sticks allow you. Mine for example run smoothly at FASTEST and CL 2.

If you know WPCRSET very well than please accept my apologies for the way I wrote how to add the setting, it seemed to be a safer way in case you've never heard of it.

One last thing: this workaround was presented to the public by a guy called SKATAN and I think he deserves a credit for that.

Have a nice day and good luck.

-Zilla-
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2002, 01:48 PM
prophetz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 102

Zilla, Thank you so much. I cant wait to try it! I will let you know how it goes!
__________________
Mobo Epox 8KDa3+
Athlon 64 3200+
Crucial DDR400 1 gig
ATI 9800 XT
On board 7.1 sound
on board lan (gig)
37gigRaptor 10K sata
40 gig IBM 7200
Optorite dvd RW
Plextor cdrw
Aopen cdrw
Water cooling by Asetek
AKA: Liquid_cool


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2002, 01:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 35

prophetz:

I sincerely hope it WILL work...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2002, 02:16 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by Zilla
prophetz:

I had the same problem with my GF3 Ti500 and 8K3a+ eg. if I set my memory timing at anything higher than NORMAL, my comp would freeze as soon as it had gotten to Welcome screen. I did a little digging on that in forums and found a solution:

In your WPCRSET add new register and add these settings to the fields: Bus 0, Device 1, Function 0; Register 40, Data 81...
Reboot and voila, you can sett your memory timings as high as your sticks allow you. Mine for example run smoothly at FASTEST and CL 2.

If you know WPCRSET very well than please accept my apologies for the way I wrote how to add the setting, it seemed to be a safer way in case you've never heard of it.

One last thing: this workaround was presented to the public by a guy called SKATAN and I think he deserves a credit for that.

Have a nice day and good luck.

-Zilla-
Thanks as well, both you and SKATAN!
I will try it as I have and still do experience exactly what you describe. My 8K5A2 seems great at highest timings but the 8K3A doesn't.
I'll cop to never having used WPCRSET, so I appreciate any info you put.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2002, 02:18 PM
prophetz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 102

Wow, what can I say it worked!!!! And like a charm at that. Thank you Zilla, and welcome to Aoaforums! Got it running in turbo now. Going to play with it some more Thanks again!!!
__________________
Mobo Epox 8KDa3+
Athlon 64 3200+
Crucial DDR400 1 gig
ATI 9800 XT
On board 7.1 sound
on board lan (gig)
37gigRaptor 10K sata
40 gig IBM 7200
Optorite dvd RW
Plextor cdrw
Aopen cdrw
Water cooling by Asetek
AKA: Liquid_cool


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:05 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0