AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2002, 03:49 AM
Evc's Avatar
Evc Evc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 211
Send a message via AIM to Evc

Question Odd boot problem

I installed a BIOS I found here for my 8K3A, the 2912, and it went fine, but now when I boot, it says "Verifying DMI Pool......." and sits there for about 30sec to a min, then it continues on.

Any idea what is causing this problem?
__________________
CPU:Intel Core2Duo E6600 @ 3.1GHz / MoBo:Gigabyte N650SLI-DS4 / RAM:2GB PC2-5300 / Graphics:BFG GeForce 780GT OC SLI / / Storage 1&2:Twin 250GB WD SATA2 16MB Cache / Storage 3:WD 160GB 7200RPM / Storage 4: WD 320GB SATA2 16MB Cache + 400GB and 250GB IDE in USB / DVD-Writer:Samsung SATA Lightscribe Multi-drive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2002, 12:11 PM
Harryc's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: New York, U.S.A.
Posts: 225

I didn't have that problem after flashing to 2912. Did you try a CMOS reset, and did you load Optimal defaults after flashing?. Try reflashing 2912 or flashing to an older BIOS. I've also had some success with BootVis in these situations.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2002, 11:25 PM
Evc's Avatar
Evc Evc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 211
Send a message via AIM to Evc

Quote:
Originally posted by Harryc
I didn't have that problem after flashing to 2912. Did you try a CMOS reset, and did you load Optimal defaults after flashing?. Try reflashing 2912 or flashing to an older BIOS. I've also had some success with BootVis in these situations.
I cleared CMOS 2 times, still does that.

 

I got minimal memory increases, and everythign else stayed the same.

 

I just flashed back to the one I was using before I flashed it.
__________________
CPU:Intel Core2Duo E6600 @ 3.1GHz / MoBo:Gigabyte N650SLI-DS4 / RAM:2GB PC2-5300 / Graphics:BFG GeForce 780GT OC SLI / / Storage 1&2:Twin 250GB WD SATA2 16MB Cache / Storage 3:WD 160GB 7200RPM / Storage 4: WD 320GB SATA2 16MB Cache + 400GB and 250GB IDE in USB / DVD-Writer:Samsung SATA Lightscribe Multi-drive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2002, 11:42 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I'd reflash, just to see....
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2002, 11:52 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Helpful info

The problem is most likely to be found in PCI/PnP section of BIOS.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2002, 03:23 AM
Evc's Avatar
Evc Evc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 211
Send a message via AIM to Evc

Reflashed, same thing happened.

The HD isnt bad, could have been the image file posted here, who knows.
__________________
CPU:Intel Core2Duo E6600 @ 3.1GHz / MoBo:Gigabyte N650SLI-DS4 / RAM:2GB PC2-5300 / Graphics:BFG GeForce 780GT OC SLI / / Storage 1&2:Twin 250GB WD SATA2 16MB Cache / Storage 3:WD 160GB 7200RPM / Storage 4: WD 320GB SATA2 16MB Cache + 400GB and 250GB IDE in USB / DVD-Writer:Samsung SATA Lightscribe Multi-drive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2002, 06:08 AM
Ikester7579's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 153

Sounds like like your bios is holding on to some info from the old bios and is conflicting with something. Try disconnecting all hardware except your video card and your floppy(Being that your bios is on floppy I hope). Then reflash your bios and hook your hardware back up. This should fix it. If not you may have got a bug or error in the bios program you downloaded. It very rarely happens so I don't think that's your problem. Also after flashing disconnect your bios battery and unplug your power cord for 24 to 48 hours. This can clear out glitches sometimes.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2002, 07:52 PM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

I had this problem and it all came back to a corrupt HDD not being recognised had to re partition and format the bugger.

My own fault for taking the FSB upto 186, my old WD HDD didnt like it above 36mhz
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xp pro boot problem PIP67 CRASHED! 7 23rd January, 2006 11:23 PM
9npa+ boot problem... please help! Oden EPoX MotherBoards 0 28th September, 2005 09:46 PM
BooT Booting problem 8KRA2+ SATA-Raid and PATA-Raid together; not able to boot SATA.. DaF EPoX MotherBoards 0 1st October, 2003 09:20 PM
Boot Problem agean CRASHED! 15 13th January, 2003 03:57 PM
Boot Problem with Raid Baz_Patel EPoX MotherBoards 11 12th November, 2002 08:29 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0