AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 6th October, 2002, 08:02 AM

Lightbulb Reducing CPU temp with WPCRSET :)_s

HI
I've been lurking around this forum for months, thought it was about time I contributed something while I'm waiting for the latest beta bios to magically appear... I'm a computer tech (MCSE, CNE, etc...), been building boxes since the mid 80's, I have truly come to love this forum, most interesting group of folks I've seen online since the old BBS days. Nice work, especially you Epox guys

{disclaimer}
I have fully tested the following in Windows XP, with an Epox 8k5a2+, and a palomino Athlon. It should work just as well in Win NT/2000, it will definitely NOT work in win 95/98/me. It may work with older Durons and Thunderbirds I had mixed results in my testing over the past couple years, it will either work perfect... or the system will get mighty unstable. It will work with just about any via chipset board from the last couple years (133/266/333)...
(Needless to say, if you have an old .25 micron CPU(thunderbird or older) make this change on its own, so you can easily figure out why your box is rebooting for no good reason
{disclaimer}

Okies, so what am I talking about you might ask? The HLT command.
As you may know Windows NT/2000/and XP always send a HaLT command to the CPU when your not doing much of anything.
And you may be aware that AMD Cpu's (since the K-6) have a built in response to the HLT command, instantly putting themselves to sleep, thereby saving power and cooling down.
Unfortunately, the vast majority of motherboards never tell the CPU that Windows wants it to go to sleep, so this is rather effective way to reduce the CPU temp is not utilized.